We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a night in another world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy to your Saves list
The Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #50 of 1,065 Hotels in London
melton mowbray
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a night in another world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

myself and my wife stayed here for our wedding anniversary.we bought the package through amazon and it included our evening meal.as we are both normal working people we do not get to stay at hotels of this calibre very often.when we entered the foyer we were taken aback by the surroundings and felt very out of our depth.that soon changed as a young lady named Becky came over too us and immediatley took us for a tour around the hotel.she made us feel at home straight away......she also made us feel very special.the check in from that moment on was very fast and very smooth.the hotel is a beautifull building and the quality just never stops.the food we ate was the best meal we have ever had on an evening out and the breakfast was just something else.now we come to the rest of the staff.every member of staff we met,and i mean all the ones we met weather dealing with a question or just passing in a corridor were the most friendly,polite people you could wish for.nothing seems too much trouble and they work as a well oiled team and it really is a team.whatever they are paid it is not enough i would like to take this opportunity to personally thank all of them for making our stay so wonderfull.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,756
    343
    149
    66
    60
See reviews for
454
1,138
90
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I went here for my 21'st birthday present on the 28/02/14 and it was beyond my expectations! I stayed with my boyfriend in the Superior Queen room, which was Edwardian with a view of the city. I dont understand how someone can give this a bad review it was the best hotel I've stayed in! We were greeted straight away by the men on the door who took our luggage, and invited inside by Sebastian. We were shown to our amazing room and introduced to the hotel. The room had a hairdryer, bath robes, a mini bar with drinks and another with snacks, bath salts and shampoo etc and more than enough towels! I also had a birthday cake left in the room so that was nice.
We had afternoon tea booked for 5.45, the last slot available so I'd definitely say book well in advance as ours was booked 3 weeks prior. We had to wait a little while but it was fine. Once we were seated we were shown menu options. £45 per person and it was more than enough! We couldn't manage to finish the 3 courses of cakes, scones and sandwiches but i wish we had! I had my own plate of vegetarian sandwiches which was perfect for me. They also brought out a second birthday cake plus quite a few others, with happy birthday playing on the piano.
We also had a private booth booked at the Beaufort bar for 9pm and it was amazing! so glad i chose it over the American bar. We had a complementary cocktail to sample plus our free character cocktail! I had a drink dedicated to Charlie Chaplin and it was amazing and tasted like popcorn, my boyfriend had Ole Blue eyes, a drink for Frank Sinatra which was very strong!
They had a singer in the bar and it was such a cool atmosphere definitely worth going to! You wont feel pressured to dress up as it was pretty casual, but I wore heels and just because anything would have been ok.
In the morning we had an included breakfast brought to our room, it was so delicious but again, I couldn't have finished it all.
Overall it was such a great experience and I was so sad to leave. I would 100% stay here again. Everyone is so nice and make you feel at home. It's pricey but it's what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a city view its amazing at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is an amazing hotel, booked in for a weekend to celebrate my 30th BIrthday, everything was perfect and cannot say one negative thing about it apart from maybe about the very expensive drinks in the hotel bar.
The rooms are spot on, comfortable with everything you would expect from a hotel of this calibre, the service is impeccable, 100% first class from the moment we arrived to the fair well bid by the doorman.
London is an amazing city and loved every minute of our visit except a very unpleasant dinner at Marco Pierre Whites steak and ale house, appalling customer service and very poor quality of food.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was amazing, can't even imagine how wonderful the premium room are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thundersley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Booked Queen room for a treat and got upgraded on arrival to King room on the seamless check-in. Quality and service are second to none. It was like staying in a stately home walking among beautiful paintings and original furniture. The Chocolate shop within the hotel displayed works of art. Valet parking was impressive. We also went to The Savoy Theatre, which is next door. The hotel and theatre met all my expectations.

Room Tip: Room 230 exquisite three windows, on with a Thames view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is, perhaps, the most luxurious hotel I have ever stayed in and the service was outstanding. Stayed at The Savoy as part of an international meeting and was so impressed, I would treat myself to a night here again just to have a good night's sleep in an amazing bed, drink tea out of Wedgwood cups and lounge in a fluffy bathrobe. And, it not just a cup of tea one gets, it is a 2-cup china tea pot and a carafe of boiling water. I almost didn't want to leave the room! Every member of the staff I encountered was friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, close to transportation, theatres and sites. Yup, I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I travel about 60 nights a year, and have stayed here on avg about 10 nights a year for the last 6 years at this property. This hotel is simply fantastic. The team and it is a team from the moment they great you at the driveway to the housekeeping, to the bars and restaurants are flawless. Hats off to these folks. There is nothing better in London! Enjoy! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy The Savoy as a long-standing and loyal guest. Many thanks for your feedback, particularly with regards to the service you have experienced from the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stopped off on the spur of the moment for some afternoon cocktails after some serious retail therapy in Covent Garden. The service was excellent, the cocktails delicious, and a lovely atmosphere, beautiful old building, would definitely do it again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent visit to The Savoy. As you have so kindly mentioned, there is no better way to relax after shopping than cocktails at The Savoy, which is just a stone’s throw away from Covent Garden. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the team and hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square , Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#38 Romantic Hotel in London
#51 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Amex, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.