We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECTACULAR 60TH BIRTHDAY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy to your Saves list
The Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #48 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR 60TH BIRTHDAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked a De Luxe King room for a one night stay in April for my husband's 60th. The whole experience was wonderful.

On arrival we were treated like royalty - from the doormen, the lady that took us to our room and gave us a tour, to the man who brought our bag to our room. Every time you pass a member of staff in the corridor, they greet you warmly. Our room was lovely with the most amazing bathroom - the shower was wonderful and the art deco decoration was beautiful. The floor of the bathroom was gently heated, so no cold feet, and the television sound from the bedroom was piped through to the bathroom. We went to see War Horse in the afternoon and on our return we found a cake with Happy Birthday piped on the plate. In the evening we had cocktails in the American Bar, which was another lovely experience.

We ate in the Savoy Grill and the food was delicous - the service again being impeccable.

As I have read in other reviews on here, the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I am not generally a great sleeper, waking several times a night, but at the Savoy I slept right through until the morning.

The next morning we had breakfast in what I believe was the Riverside restaurant - again spectacularly decorated - with perfect service and food.

The Savoy itself is such a beautiful hotel - I couldn't get over the amount of flowers everywhere, especially the display of the most gorgeous orchids on the ground floor.

To sum up, for ordinary people like us this was a real once in a lifetime treat - but it was such a wonderful treat, we may have to save up for another!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    341
    148
    65
    59
See reviews for
451
1,128
90
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I took my mother for tea at the Savoy and we both really enjoyed it. The room is beautiful and the tables nicely spaced out with lovely china and silverware. The sandwiches and cakes were great and the lemon curd served with the scones was sublime. Only small criticism, the scones although they looked impressive, were a bit ordinary. The service was really good and our waitress was charming. The best tea experience we have had. Well definitely be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first time many years ago, before the refurbishment. We had a lovely stay then but came away saying that it didn't match the likes of the Ritz & Claridges. We found it all a bit dark & dreary back then & wouldn't have given it another try had it not been for the revamp. Well, what an improvement! It really is absolutely beautiful now. We really couldn't fault it. The room, service, & food all lived up to expectations. It was like stepping back in time - in a lovely way of course!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had two nights at the Savoy earlier this winter - and I really enjoyed most of it; impeccable and friendly service, beautiful hotel, nice room and amenities, good breakfast, even better cocktails etc.

All in all close to perfect, but (always a but or two in the way of perfect), the hotel charges for wi-fi access and internet in the rather average business centre (at 550 per night I would expect that to be included), further the mobile and 3D data coverage in the hotel is close to zero. All in all these buts were a bit annoying as this was a business trip. That said, what a hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to be welcomed by name at the door. From this moment on for the duration of our stay the staff were extremely polite, professional and attentive. The room was equipped with everything you would need and anything else you required was only a request away.We ate at the Savoy Grill, the food was 5 stars and was served by a very knowledgeable team. Our choice of bar to relax in was the American bar where the cocktails are to die for. Check out the chocolatier next to the Savoy Tea, it will make your mouth water! Breakfast was served in the Thames foyer and this really is the WOW factor of the hotel. It's Art Deco detailing is really fantastic. You really get a sense of the history to this hotel.
The only downside to our stay was the fact we had to come home to reality and get on with our day to day lives!...oh well, at least this was a wedding anniversary unlike any other we have had and the whole experiance proved truly unforgettable as we were treated like royalty. We would really recommend a stay here for that special occasion. Yes it is costly but you certainly get what you pay for..the credit card bill can wait while we sit on cloud 9 for a couple more hours. Thank you Savoy

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We chose the Savoy for a anniversary treat and were not disappointed, to the welcome from The doorman to being met inside the hotel foyuer by a charming member of staff who offered Us a little tour round the hotel to get our bearings before personally taking us up to our room And showing us all the facilities on offer we felt very privaliged, we had our evenning meal in The riverside restuarant, again the service was second to none as was the food , a very Relaxing experience , later that night me and my wife tried the American bar for a night cap , Again very attentive staff and comfortable surroundings, as with most central London hotels Not cheap but not bad either, when we returned to the room they had left slippers and bottles Of water , turned down the bed sheets and even put the telly buttons ready beside the bed , Love this place, at breakfast we where shown to our table and waited on,asking little things How we liked our eggs and toast, nothing was too much trouble, staff were really helpful with directions and information (shows and things) , the location is very good with Covent garden, Trafalgar square, Big Ben , Houses of Parliment in easy walking distance, shops and cafes Also, handy, just round from the hotel is a sainsburys local for things you have forgot , we Had A great night out at the Tattersall Castle River boat (comedy night) which is moored just a short Walk behind the Savoy, very reasonable too for food and drink on board, the pubs nearby did Very good meals too, would we go back..you bet we would

Room Tip: We had a Art Deco room which had a hall passage and separate beautifully appointed Bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I really really wanted to come back from taking my mother to The Savoy for afternoon tea to celebrate her 50th birthday on 29/4/13 and write a glowing review. Really, I did. Sadly, this is not the case. Although it was a very special experience, it would put me off staying there (if I could ever afford it!) let alone eating there again.

It all started with the arrival. The doormen were busy taking something in through a side door, and did not even notice our arrival. No greeting, no opening the door for us, nothing. Then when we arrived in the lobby, we were just stood there not knowing what to do. Nobody came over to offer us any assistance, even though there must have been 10 members of staff in the lobby. Bitterly disappointing first impression.

We were sat down and had the menus explained to us, and they were already aware of my mother's diabetes (I had mentioned this in my booking form and in the confirmation phone call a few days beforehand) so all was good there. However, they knew the time of our arrival, but the sugar free scones for my mother were still baking in the oven, As a result she received hers long after I had received mine. It was the same with the pastries. I would have thought our food would have come at the same time to allow us to enjoy it together.

Our waitress also left us on several occasions to go and talk to her mother in the bar, which I thought was rather rude to be quite honest.

So, although the food was very good, I found the service took the gloss off the whole experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on some particular issues relating to your recent visit to The Savoy. We were sorry to hear of your disappointment on what should have been a celebratory occasion for you and your mother. Please be assured that we will seriously review all aspects of your visit and the feedback you have provided. We do hope you will afford The Savoy another chance to welcome you for a perfect experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square , Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#27 Business Hotel in London
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
#51 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.