We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy

Save Saved
You added The Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
125th Anniversary Offer
Ranked #37 of 1,071 hotels in London
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked a night at the Savoy for my husbands birthday, and from stepping out of the taxi the service was excellent? We were escorted to our beautiful room, which was spacious with everything you could want. We went for a pre-dinner drink in the bar, and although it was a busy Friday evening, we were given priority for a table in the bar. For a very special occasion I would definitely recommend this hote, where we were made to feel special throughout our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,318
    269
    123
    52
    45
See reviews for
338
854
72
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Always a pleasure and privelage to stay at The Savoy,however afternnon tea is best taken at The Ritz.
Great location as we saw all the fireworks on New Years Eve from inside.
We will be back in August

Room Tip: Art Deco rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Savoy a handful of times and have enjoyed each stay. Service is smooth, restaurants and bars are great, hotel is quiet. All-in-all, a great hotel. What I haven't figured out is the rooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated but the sizes are not constant, which, is part of the charm of the hotel! Sometimes the rooms are tiny and sometimes enormous. With the smaller rooms there's not enough desk-top space to put down a laptop and do some work. Something to bear in mind if you do need to work while staying at The Savoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner & I dined in the Riverside Restaurant in the New Year. The service was superb, the staff impeccably dressed and the food so ... tasty!

Can't wait to dine there again.

A big Thank You to all the staff involved in making this a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Your wonderful comments and compliments have been shared with all our colleagues. We are delighted you enjoyed your special New Year's evening and hope to welcome you and your partner again to The Savoy very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed just one night in the Savoy, for a special celebration in January. The hotel is utterly wonderful and, although eye-wateringly expensive, it is quite sublime and cossets and comforts you with understated, high quality service.
A tiny gripe (no fault of the hotel): the American Bar at 6.30pm was full - as residents were were put on a priority waiting list for a "space", but we were due at the theatre and so couldn't wait.
The hotel now holds my world record for the price of a beer: £7 for a bottle of Becks.
And, as we were due for a rather good lunch, we declined the stratospheric breakfast ... 20 yards down the Strand is a wonderful Pret a Manger - great light breakfast for two: £12.50

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannut, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took a short break with my wife in april 2012

From arrival to leave everything was perfect but expect a top level bill

Ha d the chance to find a broken price stays at this hotel , but knowing the other services would not be discounted .

I don t have to list all features and services of this world class hotels, all are above average and range in the top level hotels in the world
Food , bars, restaurants all deserves a 5 stars

So only to warn poeple that woudl find some discounted prices on the web , be warned , you know you will sleep in one of the best london or europe hotel , but be ready to pay for it and don t complain for high price tag , as hotel doesn t deserve to receive complains for this

regards
Eric

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Eric, thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your support! We hope you and your wife will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We celebrated our mother's 80th birthday here with afternoon tea and it was a fantastic experience. Lovely, friendly atmosphere - good service, attentive staff. Although we'd not requested anything special for our mother, they arrived with a cake and candle and some lovely writing on a plate - whilst the pianist played Happy Birthday - that was a very nice touch. I've been lucky enough to have afternoon tea at Claridge's a few years ago (for my 50th) and our afternoon at The Savoy easily matched it. Who would have thought that you could spend 2 hours over tea and cake. Wonderful experience, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square , Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
#52 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.