We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy to your Saves list
The Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY LONGER. SAVE MORE.
Ranked #62 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked a night at the Savoy for my husbands birthday, and from stepping out of the taxi the service was excellent? We were escorted to our beautiful room, which was spacious with everything you could want. We went for a pre-dinner drink in the bar, and although it was a busy Friday evening, we were given priority for a table in the bar. For a very special occasion I would definitely recommend this hote, where we were made to feel special throughout our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Always a pleasure and privelage to stay at The Savoy,however afternnon tea is best taken at The Ritz.
Great location as we saw all the fireworks on New Years Eve from inside.
We will be back in August

Room Tip: Art Deco rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettandevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Savoy a handful of times and have enjoyed each stay. Service is smooth, restaurants and bars are great, hotel is quiet. All-in-all, a great hotel. What I haven't figured out is the rooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated but the sizes are not constant, which, is part of the charm of the hotel! Sometimes the rooms are tiny and sometimes enormous. With the smaller rooms there's not enough desk-top space to put down a laptop and do some work. Something to bear in mind if you do need to work while staying at The Savoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CD_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner & I dined in the Riverside Restaurant in the New Year. The service was superb, the staff impeccably dressed and the food so ... tasty!

Can't wait to dine there again.

A big Thank You to all the staff involved in making this a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Your wonderful comments and compliments have been shared with all our colleagues. We are delighted you enjoyed your special New Year's evening and hope to welcome you and your partner again to The Savoy very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed just one night in the Savoy, for a special celebration in January. The hotel is utterly wonderful and, although eye-wateringly expensive, it is quite sublime and cossets and comforts you with understated, high quality service.
A tiny gripe (no fault of the hotel): the American Bar at 6.30pm was full - as residents were were put on a priority waiting list for a "space", but we were due at the theatre and so couldn't wait.
The hotel now holds my world record for the price of a beer: £7 for a bottle of Becks.
And, as we were due for a rather good lunch, we declined the stratospheric breakfast ... 20 yards down the Strand is a wonderful Pret a Manger - great light breakfast for two: £12.50

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstonJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannut, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took a short break with my wife in april 2012

From arrival to leave everything was perfect but expect a top level bill

Ha d the chance to find a broken price stays at this hotel , but knowing the other services would not be discounted .

I don t have to list all features and services of this world class hotels, all are above average and range in the top level hotels in the world
Food , bars, restaurants all deserves a 5 stars

So only to warn poeple that woudl find some discounted prices on the web , be warned , you know you will sleep in one of the best london or europe hotel , but be ready to pay for it and don t complain for high price tag , as hotel doesn t deserve to receive complains for this

regards
Eric

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Eric, thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your support! We hope you and your wife will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We celebrated our mother's 80th birthday here with afternoon tea and it was a fantastic experience. Lovely, friendly atmosphere - good service, attentive staff. Although we'd not requested anything special for our mother, they arrived with a cake and candle and some lovely writing on a plate - whilst the pianist played Happy Birthday - that was a very nice touch. I've been lucky enough to have afternoon tea at Claridge's a few years ago (for my 50th) and our afternoon at The Savoy easily matched it. Who would have thought that you could spend 2 hours over tea and cake. Wonderful experience, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suchard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#23 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,430 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#11 of 1,059 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,866 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#41 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#69 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,594 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#112 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing