We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50 th birthday celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy to your Saves list
The Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #51 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“50 th birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The whole experience was fantastic , greeted on arrival which was early ! we were welcomed and wished happy birthday and shown straight to our room, no check in no luggage worries was perfect. The room was beautiful everything you needed was there , even.a Little birthday cake later in the day which was lovely.in the evening we went to the cocktail bar and had to wait 10 mins for a seat but was worth waiting for good cocktail menu but £15 each so can soon add up ,then went to Simpsons in the strand and then back to the bar in the hotel .the whole experience was fantastic staff all very friendly and very helpful and we would definatly go back it was pure luxury from start to finish and was worth every penny .

Room Tip: Had a deluxe king room and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Jaynemck, it sounds as though you had a lovely stay and we are very happy to have played a small part in your special birthday celebrations. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to welcome you once again to The Savoy in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,760
    345
    150
    68
    60
See reviews for
455
1,144
90
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Savoy as we all know has a great reputation and boy does it live up to it.
From the moment we entered the sumptuous lobby we were welcomed and gently guided through the checking in procedures.The staff are amazing they seem to know what you need before you even ask.
Our room was faultless and the bed the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
I cannot fault anything about the hotel and if I could would stay every week but sadly its back to reality and work on Monday!

Room Tip: Try to upgrade if you can afford to as the river views are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Deniswright8, Back to reality maybe, but with some lovely memories of your time at The Savoy. Thank you for your great review and we hope you will have another opportunity to stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I booked a Savoy 'Sunday Special' for my wife for her birthday in January 2013 and we had a fabulous stay. What can we say apart from nothing would appear to be too much trouble as far as the staff are concerned. As we walked through the revolving doors into the lobby with our luggage, this was almost instantly taken for us and we were personally met, taken direct to our room (which we upgraded) and shown around the accommodation and once we had given it the ok, well who wouldn't, we booked in at the writing desk in our room. The room was delightful, large, impeccably clean and superbly decorated. The bed was wonderful. Thee room had all up to date IT with large screen TV, ipod dock, piped into the bathroom if required. They supply bathrobes and slippers and if you want your shoes polished, just pop them outside the door. There were huge wardrobes and plenty of room to wander about and although we had a courtyard view this in no way detracted from the overall ambience.
The package included dinner and bed and breakfast and we opted to dine at Simpsons in the Strand a 30 second walk from the famous entrance, we have reviewed that separately. There are a choice of dinner options and we will go again but will probably go for the Savoy Grill. Breakfast, which has an extensive menu, served at your table was first class with a service to match. The freshly squeezed orange juice is just that and the Savoy tea blend was incredible. We opted for the traditional breakfast which also comes with a large selection of croissants, pastries and muffins.
We used the complimentary pool, gym and there is also a steam room and sauna in the respective changing rooms. Pool is fabulous and we had it all to ourselves on the Monday before breakfast. The gym equipment is simply state of the art and again, the place is so clean and well presented.
We had a wander around and the building is so well maintained, the decor is fabulous evoking the history of the building.
Afternoon tea is a relaxing matter in the River room and plenty of day guests pop in to enjoy the peace and quiet.
We had a wonderful time and the cost was well worth the special occasion, we will be back.
For those travelling to London from outside of the UK, the hotel is very well located for both the City and the West End, with most theatre within a 15 minute walk, most much closer. Great for Covent Garden and exploring the back streets and you don't need to take a taxi unless travelling much further afield as the walk is easy and there is plenty to see. We walked to Marble Arch via Covent Garden, Oxford Street, returning via Bond Street, across into Carnaby Street and then via Soho and Chinatown back to the hotel. A pleasant and easy stroll to take in the sights, shops and some nice little pubs - well you have to, don't you.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor, very quiet, no external noise. Opt for the upgrade of the room once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury wiltshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked a room for one night for Christmas shopping.
On arrival, the doormen were friendly and courteous , on entering the hotel, the check - in was the slickest I have seen!
A very smart lady requests your name, and within 30 seconds, another lady appears with your details. Very impressive.
The room was a little small., but spotless.
We ate in the Savoy Grill which was superb.
A very enjoyable experience and stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We made our fourth trip to the Savoy just after New Year, our first since the hotel's refurbishment, and this time incorporating a night at the Savoy Theatre to see Cabaret. Slightly spooky experience on being welcomed, when the lady worked out who we were from just a few details in our conversation! Swiftly transferred to our room on the Art Deco side of our floor, although the luggage took a little too long (20 minutes) to arrive.
The rooms have been very sympathetically refurbished, although we found them a little darker than we had remembered (the curse of the energy-saving bulb, perhaps?). Great in-room magazine (Monocle - wonderfully browsy).
We enjoyed a pleasant pre-theatre dinner with friends, although we had to wait rather a long time to be acknowledged and then seated. Delicious bread and very interesting butter (smoked sea salt and curry!) to nibble on. We were slightly anxious that we would be late for the show, but the staff must have known where we were going, as we were all done by 7.10 (service was unobtrusive and calm). it seemed strange that the hard-copy of our package confirmation was required by the waitress, as this information was present on the touch-screen for staff on the entrance to the restaurant.
As the American Bar was out of commission the night we were there, we went to the Beaufort Bar after the show (fantastically dark production, with incredibly talented cast) for cocktails. The only seats were up at the bar, which is actually the best place to be, in prime position for observing the wonderful skills of the mixers, who told us what all the curious things in the jars behind them were. We went for the classiest cocktail in the world (vodka martinis, of course) which were gorgeously dry, one with a twist, one with an olive. They were so good, we ended up having 3 a piece! A wonderful jazz pianist and singer completed the sense of panache.
Slept soundly on the most comfortable bed we'd been in a long while and enjoyed a nice breakfast overlooking the river. At-table service much preferable to the American style buffet the last time we'd been, but never thought to ask for cereal instead of pastries and muffins with the 'full English'.
it was a nice touch, on asking if I could get stamps for our letters from the concierge, to be assured that they would see to it that our letters were posted for us (which they duly were, and received by our respective parents the next day, we found out).
A wonderful trip, and a little bit of luxury all delivered in a very warm and welcoming style by all the staff.

Room Tip: We went for a deluxe Queen room. It's worth paying that little bit extra for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here just before Christmas for one night and it exceeded all our expectations!have stayed here before but not since the newly refurbished hotel!!
The room we stayed in was one of the largest and had a view of the Thames where we could see a lot of the London landmarks. The room was wonderful and beautifully decorated and the bath and shower were even better!
We had a three course meal in the river restaurant and a few drinks in. The American bar...all the food was amazing and the piano player in the bar was a lovely touch.
Breakfast was good and the staff always go that extra mile to help you.
Will be going back at some point in the near future to be spoilt again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We strive each day to exceed our guests' expectations so we are thrilled to read your comments, and look forward to the opportunity of being able to spoil you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went for pre Christmas cocktails with my daughter's to the American Bar at The Savoy - what a treat! So sophisticated and elegant from the tickling ivories to subdued lighting. As for the cocktails - mine was a Negroni - possibly the best in town and the champagne cocktails were great too! Nibbles were refreshed several times - it was pre supper so we were hungry!. Gorgeous time to visit too as the Christmas Tree in the foyer was so chic from the bronze dogs playing among the presents to the elegance of the colour scheme which was picked up over the fireplace and around the foyer - Wonderful service - quite expensive but worth every penny to in such glamorous surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
On behalf of the American Bar team, a big thank you for kind compliments. Christmas at The Savoy is quite a special and magical place to be, especially with all the beautiful decorations and of course the stunning Christmas Tree in the Front Hall; we even put little trees in all the guest rooms! We are delighted to know you and your family have a great evening. We hope you will have another opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square , Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
#38 Romantic Hotel in London
#44 Luxury Hotel in London
#53 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.