We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy

Save Saved
You added The Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
125th Anniversary Offer
Ranked #37 of 1,071 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here at the weeknd and loved it. Arrived at midday and room was not ready. When we returned and hour later we were taken to our room and we had been upgraded to a junior suite which was beautiful.

The staff were professional and helpful, the food (breakfast) was delicious and the suite was more than what we could have asked for!

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,317
    268
    123
    52
    45
See reviews for
337
853
72
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The second time we have stayed in six months and upgraded to a double room, which was absolutly fabulous. Brilliant service, unpretentious, very high standards and very impressed. Many hotels especially the big chains should learn a lesson from these guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Praise indeed! A truly wonderful compliment that is very much appreciated by all the staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope you and your family will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights to celebrate a birthday. Booked into a luxury room which was very nice, however, was overlooked by an office block and had a wardrobe that only accomodated our coats and a suite bag! We moved to an alternative room which was much bigger with an equally bigger wardrobe. The room was very clean and decorated beautifully. The furniture and large bed were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large with roll top bath and separate walk in shower. Ate breakfast in the Riverview Restaurant, the food was excelllent and plentiful, however,the service was a little slow to remove empty plates. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Overall, the experience was superb and was the ideal location for a special celebration.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertforshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I visited the Savoy last Friday (Jan 11) with my husband. It was my Christmas present from him, a show in the evening and to stay at the Savoy. I had very high expectations, I'd always wanted to stay there, and I was not disappointed. We arrived early, at about midday, a doorman noticed our overnight bag and asked our names, when we entered the hotel someone was waiting to greet us by name-impressive. A friendly young lady asked if we had been before, when we said we hadn't after effortlessly checking us in showed us around before taking us to our room. It was a basic room and a lovely surprise, much larger and more luxurious than expected, and a view of the river-fantastic after dark. I like to make a cup of tea myself in the morning when I wake up, I had looked at the hotel website before we went, my husband phoned and it was no problem to have tea and coffee facilities in our room. If we just wanted coffee I'm sure a coffee maker would be provided. Lovely bathroom and toiletries. We had an early dinner in the River Restaurant, very nice, when we got back from the show a nightcap in the American Bar, cool jazz pianist playing. Complimentary olives and mixed nuts were provided. An excellent way to end the evening.
We had a very leisurely breakfast (more of a brunch) in the Thames Foyer which was superb, we didn't want anything to eat for a long while afterwards. We reluctantly left at lunchtime, it was a memorable experience, expensive for us but well worth saving for. I would recommend it to anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion, or who simply wants to treat themselves or someone close.

Room Tip: We were in room 628 which had a great view of the river, you could see both sides, St. Paul's an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
It sounds as though you had the most perfect, romantic and memorable stay; what a wonderful Christmas present. Thank you for a great review and we hope you and your husband will have another opportunity to visit us in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited the world famous Savoy hotel after watching the documentary on the refurbishment.
Staff were very nice and did well to remember your name, not sure how they manage to do this..
Checkin very swift and shown around the room within 5 mins. Location is very good for visiting London, much within walking distance. Room quality very nice. Breakfast was of high standard. Would recommend the American Bar before going out for Dinner. I'd say that they need to provide the Phantom complimentary within 3 mile radius : )

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked an American Express special offer for a two-night stay at The Savoy, including breakfast and one lunch or dinner. Having stayed in luxury hotels around the world, I can say that The Savoy really does deserve all the accolades it receives.

Check-in was very smooth: the doorman asked our name and showed us to a member of staff inside, who took us to our suite to check in.

We had booked an Edwardian suite, although this room category isn’t actually listed on The Savoy’s website. We assumed we would be in a Junior Suite, but on arrival we were shown to a One-Bedroom suite: I am not sure whether this is what the Amex offer included or whether we were upgraded. It was on the 8th floor, in the courtyard wing, with views over Waterloo Bridge and The Thames and of the top of the London Eye above the roof opposite: all very pretty, particularly when lit up at night.

The suite consisted of a large, comfortable sitting room, a reasonable-sized bedroom and a nice bathroom with heated floor and lovely toiletries. Two minor criticisms: the wardrobe was too close to the bed, so it was impossible to walk around the bed when the wardrobe doors were open; and I was surprised that the bathroom had a bath with shower above it, rather than separate bath and walk-in shower. But everything had a lovely, luxurious feel about it. There was a speaker for the bedroom TV in the bathroom, which actually worked (I have been in many hotels that have these controls in the bathroom and they almost never work).

We had a plentiful supply of bottled water - two large bottles on arrival and small bottles provided as part of the turn-down service. The shortbread and apple compote was a nice touch, too. There were no tea & coffee making facilities in the suite, but as butler service was included, we simply called our butler in the mornings and he brought us a nice tray of tea, coffee and biscuits.

Breakfast in the River Restaurant was excellent - all prepared to order rather than a self-service buffet, although we wouldn’t have eaten there if it hadn’t been included in the package, as it was very expensive. Staff were friendly and attentive. We also had dinner in the River Restaurant (see separate review). We had cocktails in The American Bar, which is undergoing some refurbishment, so it wasn’t as good as expected. We also had cocktails both nights in The Beaufort Bar, which had a much better atmosphere and selection of cocktails.

I would love to stay at The Savoy again, but will have to wait for another very special offer or a win on the lottery.

Room Tip: Better views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy just a few days before christmas, as a birthday treat.

As ever the experience was lovely, from the moment we walked in everything was done so well, with an easy check in and friendly helpful staff. We had specifically requested an art deco room and were not disappointed with the look, feel and finish of the room. They have really captured the style beautifully. The furniture is elegant and comfortable, without crowding out the room. The rooms don't have a kettle, but if you request one it will be delivered to your room, the same applies to ironing boards and irons.

Everything we asked for from room service was delivered promptly, again by very friendly and helpful staff. The only thing we had to wait a little longer for was our luggage to be delivered, but we didn't wait that long.

We had pre-dinner drinks in the American bar, which is a lovely experience in itself with the pianist and soft lighting, we then had dinner in the river restaurant; which was excellent.

Breakfast was included in our rate and this is truely fantastic, the fresh fruit bowl and smoked haddock were particurarly good and well worth a try!

This in not our first stay at the Savoy and certainly won't be our last, the experience is always great. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here, though ideally more than one night would really make the experience even more memorable.

Room Tip: Although the view from the art deco rooms is not great, the rooms themselves are well worth a try an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your special birthday treat and greatly appreciate your kind words and compliments. We look forward to warmly welcoming you both once again to The Savoy in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square , Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
#52 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.