I just checked out of The Savoy; we stayed at the property the past four days over the Christmas holidays. The hotel is very nice with interesting architecture and well-appointed interiors. This is true of both the common areas as well as the guest rooms. Our room was a deluxe room with two double beds (we were not upgraded as many who have published reviews were, but we did arrive about two hours before check-in, so I certainly wasn't expecting that even though I'm a President's member). The staff are all very friendly as well. Upon check-in, the staff member was able to find us a room without much wait even though we were early. However, we had to wait about 50 minutes between the time we were given a room and when our bags arrived. This was annoying and unfortunately a sign of service issues to come. I hate to try to come up with excuses for this property, but it seems as if during the holidays, they were likely operating with a smaller staff who weren't as well-trained as one would expect. Regardless, there are a lot of great things about the property - The American Bar is quite nice and the staff are lovely. Additionally, we enjoyed the Christmas Day tea service very much - the staff again were wonderful. Also, the tea and scones were very enjoyable. The finger sandwiches and other desserts were not as tasty, but fine nonetheless. Finally, the beds were quite comfortable.
Unfortunately, the negatives we experienced cause me to rate the property a three. To begin with, we selected this property primarily because of the pool area; in London during the holidays, very little outside of the shops are open on December 24 and 26, and nothing is open on December 25. Having access to the spa, pool, and fitness area on those days was therefore a deciding factor in our choice for a hotel. The pool was open as scheduled on the 24th. However, on the 25th, the pool didn't open until well after 4 pm. The pool was supposed to open at 8 am. I arrived a little after 8 to be told there was an accident and the pool would be closed for about 30 minutes. Thirty minutes became a few hours, which became a few more hours, which became a few more hours. I don't know what the accident was, and I certainly don't blame the hotel for the accident, but I do blame them for not being able to deal with it in a timely manner. On the 26th, I again went down to the pool when it was supposed to open at 8 am, and it was locked. I called reception, and they told me the tube strike caused some of their workers issues in getting to the property that day. They said they would try to find someone to open the fitness area for me and would call to let me know what that was accomplished. No call ever came.
For those like me who are looking for a pool/spa property, I would say that the fixtures are very nice and high-end. However, both the pool and spa areas (including the steam room and sauna) are quite small. If there are more than two or three adults, the pool would be quite crowded; with children splashing about it would be worse. I simply mention this to those who focus on this property for the use of these facilities.
Another reason I think we had the F staff team is that housekeeping kept disturbing us. As mentioned above, we spent most of the 25th at the unopened pool reading. When we went back to our room at 3pm to get ready for tea, our room hadn't been serviced. The maid knocked shortly thereafter, and I informed her that we would be leaving for tea by about 4:15. Every 20 minutes, she seemed to knock again. After the third time, I told her we won't be leaving our room until 4:15 and chained the door so we wouldn't have to deal with the interruptions! Finally, we also had the seemingly obligatory phantom mini-bar charges.
I don't know; I really wanted to like this hotel because it's quite beautiful and elements are very nice. I just think that possibly because of the holidays either staff were brought in to fill the gaps or we got the F team. Regardless, we won't be back because I don't think it's acceptable for service levels to be so inconsistent of a property that is this expensive.
PS - one other important point for the ladies - the water is super soft, even in the shower.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Guest, We appreciate your kind comments, although we are very sorry to read about the disappointing aspects of your stay. We sincerely apologise for the frustrations caused as a result of the delay that occurred with your luggage delivery on arrival and for the intrusions by the Housekeeping team. Both departments have since been reminded of our standards and the importance of consistent service, and to highlight how their actions affected your overall enjoyment. The situation that arose regarding the pool was unfortunate and we are sorry that you were not able to use the facilities as you had hoped. The closure was due to an accident that required the pool to be emptied for health and safety reasons and this process took longer than we had anticipated. We hope that you will reconsider your decision so that we can create some happier memories of your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.