We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glory in Breakfast at the Savoy (you dont have to stay!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy to your Saves list
The Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Glory in Breakfast at the Savoy (you dont have to stay!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a sumptuous breakfast at the Savoy Hotel in the Thames Room for just under 60 pounds and worth every penny. Enjoy the splendor of this famous hotel where everyone from Bogart to the Beatles have stayed - Monet even painted from the rooms overlooking the river. The decor is beautiful and the service, from waiters in morning suits, was excellent. Male visitors might fit in best with the business clientele by wearing a tie but it is certainly not requested.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We absolutely warmly welcome non residents to come to our River Restaurant for breakfast take in a little of the hotel's rich history. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Don't forget next time to visit the Savoy's own museum of historical memorabilia and photographs which we are sure you would love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,001
    388
    169
    78
    62
See reviews for
508
1,333
102
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We treated ourselves to one night in heaven with our trip to the Savoy. Real attention to detail in every aspect of this brilliant hotel. Beds the most comfortable I have ever slept in, beautiful bathroom, quiet classic room.
Breakfast huge and excellent quality - and yes Mr Winner the orange juice was freshly squeezed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Its the 'Savoy' and yes it is fabulous. I stayed here before the transformation and loved it then but now it is just blingy fabulous from the moment you are greeted at the door by the very cheerful chatty doorman dressed in his Savoy doorman finery! The restaurant and cocktail bar was my favourite memory of the Savoy......fine dining and service at its very best. Apart from eat and drink myself the waiters/ess's did everything for me. Little surprises of taster foods or sorbets brought out by the chef which were like little tastes of heaven. This is the place to stay in London for those opulent breaks or like one of the other reviewers mentions; just pop in for cocktails or book a table because at The Savoy the staff are more than welcoming and that is why it is considered as one of if not the best hotel in England. I will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Exciting and special right from the moment I walked in.
View over the river and big Ben ect interesting. I walked into my room and gasped! Room so light bright and fresh. I felt special.
Everyone so very friendly.
Food excellent.
This is now my first choice hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

You don't have to stay at the Savoy to enjoy this gorgeous hotel. I snuck into the cocktail bar and spend a fab afternoon choosing the most delightful cocktails. Service as you would expect is second to none. There was no need to book either, but of course if you are looking to dine then i reccommend you booking well in advance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and found the hotel to be everything we had expected. Brilliant room,excellent service and attention throught our stay.only a pity that a small issue of "toast" at breakfast left a bit of a sour taste in our mouths.
to explain...i enjoy my soft fried eggs on my white toast.
Every morning i had almost finished my breakfast before the toast arrived, Every morning i requested at least 3 waitrons to follow up on the toast. Despite apologies and " i will see to it right away" it always arrived late...a small issue in a tremendous hotel. Unfortunately it is the small issues which stick in one's mind..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

As a family we were looked after from the moment we arrived, shown to our room and the paperwork done in the room, how novel. All staff were attentive to all our needs. Breakfast was the highlight as an English breakfast goes. First rate or should I say first class. We watched the tv show on the remodel a couple of years ago and wanted to see for ourself the outcome. Well done fantastic job, we will return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#39 Business Hotel in London
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#52 Luxury Hotel in London
#52 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.