We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay! First visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Claridge's to your Saves list
Claridge's
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Welcome from £390
Ranked #97 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great one night stay! First visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had a great one night stay . Service and attention to detail perfect , room was very comfortable clean and everything you required was to hand. Staff all very pleasant and was always greeted with a smile and a good day even if passing on the stairs. Dinned in the foyer in the evening excellent with a lovely atmosphere with a pianist in the background. Also had the breakfast which was cooked to perfection. There was nothing rushed about the dinning lovely and relaxing. Also had a nice touch with complimentary desserts in room for our wedding anniversary. I agree this is a hotel where price should not matter it's not a cheap break somewhere. If you do not want to pay the prices or moan about them after,check before you book. We knew what to expect price wise. Would definitely stay again maybe two nights next time. Loved every minute of it it's like another world inside and you can forget about what's outside we'll recommended!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear “newyork096”,

We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed what we hope will be the first of many stays.

Happy travels,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    128
    63
    36
    28
See reviews for
143
458
51
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was are third stay at Claridge's . As usual service was nothing but excellent from leaving the car to checking out. Excellent to hear that the restaurant is changing over next year. Room was excellent and breakfast is a must.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear “Alastair101”

We were so pleased to read your great review. Here’s to your 4th, 5th ….. stay.

With kind regards,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just stayed 4 nights with our 5 months' old at Claridge's. Location is perfect in central Mayfair and so - as with ranking of all hotels - it comes down to facilities and service. For me service is what makes Claridge's stand out more so than the otherwise excellent facilities. And what will make us come back.

We stayed in room 204 which was huge. Overall the room was very nice but somehow the art deco interior seemed to lack some warmth. A feeling which started in the hallway on the 2nd floor which with its high ceilings and lack of decor seemed cold. Why not use some more colours in the textiles and/or fresh flowers? The contrast to the warm and welcoming entry hall with its foyer lounge, mintish colours and extravagant flower arrangements could not be more apparent. Otherwise certain of the quirks in the room came off as quite charming, eg the low door handles and towel holder. The arrangements for our baby and the service to the room was nothing less than fantastic.

The foyer lounge and the people there and at the front door is really the claim to fame of Claridge's. We simply enjoyed every moment there. From the first entry were the foyer stands out like a big light bulb behind the doors, to the breakfast serving, the afternoon tea and the drinks, we really enjoyed our time there. People are attentive, kind personal yet not intrusive. For me facilities are just a ticket to play in the high end hotel game. Service is where a hotel can differentiate itself. Claridge's service is outstanding.

Other minor stuff:

- The TV set, however, is just not up to standard. Either go with an old B&O to align with decor or have a modern flat screen. An oldish thick flat screen with poor picture quality is just not good enough.

- The goat cheese coated pop corn and the honey and spice roasted nuts in the foyer is a reason in itself to be back. Perfeeeeect

- The very nice guys in the elevator always guessed what floor we were getting off. And they guessed wrong each time. Somehow it came off as quite charming and we laughed to ourself.

- Concierge made some bookings for us. They couldn't book a table at MASH. After several emails we checked online ourselves. And tables were available.

- Baguette at breakfast was quite dry each day which was puzzling. Find a new recipe or a new bakery! Breakfast was otherwise great quality. Coffee is outstanding.

- The foyer was a bit cold in the early morning - with a baby we are early risers and had breakfast around 7 am

Disregarding these minor things we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear “KK39”,

Thank you for your overall very positive review. I am sure that we can address the points you have made and I thank you very much for your feedback because this is what helps us to continually improve.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Please feel free to reach out to me direct (tkochs@claridges.co.uk).

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a birthday treat and we're not disappointed dispute a few niggles. From the moment we got to the hotel we were treated with fantastic service from every member of staff we came into contact with.The room was really spacious with great Art Deco features but I do agree with a previous review about the smell of smoke. Dispute the room being immaculately clean the was a stale smoke smell and we too had plumbing trouble wit he bath. When we called about the plumbing a maid attended within 2 mins and was most apologetic as we're the maintenance men who attended. Great service goes along way. It's worth shopping around for booking. We booked with mr & mrs smith so had breakfast included as well as a welcome bottle of champagne. The bed was amazing- I'm a bit OCD about thread count and pillows and these were to die for. The fact the bedroom has a separate door from the one for he room means you are not disturbed by any noise. It was a fantastic experience and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear “JosHowell”,

I greatly appreciate your kind comments about our team. I know they will be very happy to read your praising comments. I was very sorry to hear that you experienced plumbing problems in your bathroom and hope that they will not overshadow your memories of an overwise enjoyable stay.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We all know the name and where it is and have heard the stories - some of which are true eg the sofa in the attended lift (a high-light) but our cheapest room was over £500 and the plumbing didn't work well and I had to adjust the plug to allow the basin to drain. Tired furniture and art deco features including sticking wardrobe doors. We were charged twice for items used from the mini bar - once on check out and again on my credit card. Granted a phone call a few days later rectified the matter but even so. Breakfast was great but £72 for two full english.

Room Tip: Our room over looked a mess of a central area !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear “Jeremy M”,

I am very sorry to read that you left with an impression that we are living on our history. Whilst we are very proud of our heritage, every day the team works passionately on delivering extraordinary service experiences and creating memories to last.

It seems that your last experience was not the norm and we hope to be able to welcome you back.

In the meantime, I wish you safe travels,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We live close by Claridges and visit for meals occasionally, also using the hotel for visiting friends to stay at. A room was book as a surprise for my birthday so I was delighted to experience the hotel for myself. The room was wonderful, most of the staff we spoke to were professional and friendly and generally, the hotel lived up to its reputation. However, despite having a non-smoking room booked, the smell of cigarettes - which I find nausiating - kept coming in to the room via the air conditioning system. We did telephone the front desk, whose only suggestion was for housekeeping to come and spray some airfreshener, which would not have solved the problem. When we returned after dinner the odour was worse. I commented on this to the maid doing the turn down service, but nothing was done.

When we checked out, we fully expected to be asked about our stay, giving us an opportunity to comment again but no, the girl on the front desk did not even provide eye contact, was disinterested and did not ask if we enjoyed our stay. She should take some customer service training from the chaps who operate the lift, who were wonderful. As it was my birthday, my partner did not want to make a fuss and spoil it. I do think the hotel is fabulous and worth staying at, but don't be put off from complaining, even if it is your birthday!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear “BCALDavid”,

Thank you for sharing your review. Whilst I am glad that you still think the hotel is fabulous I can only imagine how disturbing the smell of cigarettes is to a non-smoker and we have recently redefined our smoking policy.

If you are planning another trip to Claridge’s do let me know (tkochs@claridges.co.uk).

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after our wedding and in every way, it was perfect. The room was well appointed and spacious, with a lovely dressing room and bathroom; breakfast was simply delicious and nothing was too much trouble. We will be back for our anniversary and doubt we will ever stay in another hotel in London again! Truly perfect!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear “TeeJaytraveller”

Thank you for choosing to start your married life with a stay at Claridge’s. We would be delighted if you make celebrating your anniversary with us a tradition.

With the good wishes to all the team,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in London
#38 Business Hotel in London
#80 Luxury Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
#185 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London
Claridge's London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.