We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Claridge's to your Saves list
Claridge's
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Welcome from £390
Ranked #92 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I could live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Quintesentially English, I have never enjoyed a stay in a London hotel as much. The staff are second to none. The service is second to none. The food.....don't start me on the afternoon tea and breakfast,! So good, so so good. This is where you come to visit London and escape the rigours of life at the end of a busy day shopping and sight -seeing. An oasis of opulence and calm where you are protected from the world, you own private home in London. Love it and will be back. I cannot say anymore. Well done Claridge's, top class and carrying the flag for London!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear “edward c”,

We were very happy to read your feedback and thank you so much for sharing it.

Looking forward to all your future stays.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    128
    63
    36
    29
See reviews for
144
454
51
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times and its always as you would expect from this hotel. The service is amazing especially the local lads on the door! Breakfast is fantastic, but pick a rate with it included as paying for it separately will make you wince (not that it's free on the inclusive rate but you feel better, bear in mind the first time we stayed I walked in wearing flip flops, some other hotels in London would look down their noses at that but not here!!). Both styles of rooms are great and spacious. It's an expensive hotel and is one of the best in the world, really they can charge what they want for this institution of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear “DXB_MJ”,

I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay.

With all good wishes from all of us and especially the team on the door.

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Claridges is everything that we hoped it would be for a very special two night stay in London. From the moment we arrived and were met by Roman from the car and given champagne in the bar whilst the room was prepared (we were early!) we were made to feel special. The bedroom was larger than we had expected having selected a mid-price one for our stay and the provision of robes was appreciated. Breakfast was a real treat and strongly recommended at very reasonable prices just to set the day up. We ate out on the evenings at China Tang at the Dorchester (expensive and ordinary) and at the Savoy Grill (really good food and definitely going back there) and so cannot comment on Ramsay's currently, however we have had Sunday lunch there before and loved it. Overall, Claridges is perfect as a special place to take your loved one away to, simply because the staff make you feel special and the service is not fussy but is attentive from the moment you arrive through to when you are reluctantly required to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear “twoadultsandababy”,

Thank you for your great review which we really appreciated.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Well it's not cheap but it is worth the money. Old world elegance prevails, and old world customer service succeeds with an excellent balance of professionalism and what appears to be genuine friendliness. They cannot do enough for you. Our room was not huge, but ticked the boxes we asked for. The toiletries are of high quality - just loved the small soaps. We would definitely return if we could afford it. Great location too. Only letdown was the Gordon Ramsay restaurant - it was their last night before closing down and they went out with a whimper rather than a big bang. Let's hope Claridge's can get someone special like Noma to take their place..... then it would be definitely worth saving up for a return visit.

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room you may get one looking into the interior well area. Not a very pleasan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear “Yolanda W”,

Thank you for your splendid review and please stay tuned for the announcement of our new restaurant.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel oozes class in all aspects. To top it all off this facility has one of the best customer service around. Prices are on the crazy side but it is definitely worth every single penny. Stayed there recently with around 4 in my entourage. 2 suites and one King Executive room. Good location as well.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel, because customer service is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear “Ezryyy”,

We really appreciate your kind comments, especially on customer service which the team and I thank you for.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I love all things Art Deco so have always fancied visiting Claridges but have been put off by the exorbitant price tag. I had a hotel voucher for £100 and, after much deliberation, decided to put it towards one night at the famous hotel. I booked the cheapest room going (at £300!) - a special Sunday night deal in a Queen room. I also booked afternoon tea. My communications with the hotel prior to arrival were very easy and helpful. Despite me booking a 'cheap room' I was treated like royalty. I emailed them to say what a huge Art Deco fan I am and requested 'the most Art Deco room they has for my £300 budget'. I was not disappointed. As you can see from my photos, the room was full of Art Deco furniture and details. And for a queen room it was huge - it had what seemed like a late double bed, a writing desk, a dressing table, and two arm chairs, and didn't feel cluttered. Afternoon tea was fabulous - I am an awkward customer (being both veggie and gluten free) but they acted like it was no trouble at all. The only slight downside was a leak from the ceiling near our table. Others might have been apalled by this, but we thought it was a charming reminder of the history of the building! The waiting staff offered to move us to another table but we chose to stay put. It was Christmas (23rd Dec 2013) so the tea room and hotel were beautifully decorated and there was a choir singing carols. We even got a Christmas gift - some Claridges blend tea in a pretty metal Christmas tree decoration! We tried to visit the small 1930s-styled Fumior bar later that evening but it was already shut (it shuts at 12 rather than 1 on Sundays apparently). We visited it in the morning instead and had fabulous (although expensive at around £20!) cocktails. In the evening we enjoyed a bit of covert celeb spotting - I won't name names but some of London's finest actors were out in force. All in all, a fantastic experience - and well worth the price tag. The trip was made even more memorable by my partner taking the opportunity to propose in our beatuful room!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear “Cleo H”,

Thank you for your great comments and especially for being so understanding about the leak next to your table. I am really grateful that you took it with a sense of humour and would like to assure you that it is not a regular feature at Afternoon Tea time.

We hope to see you again soon.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a fantastic hotel - the staff couldn't do enough for you - our room was a lovely size - sunken bath and a huge bed which was so comfortable. If you want a modern hotel this is not the one for you - if you want British tradition, service and manners this is the place to be. You are greeted and treated like royalty. Overall if you want the best go to Claridge's. Thank you to everyone for making my weekend special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear "Annie T",

We were so pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your weekend with us and we would like to especially thank you for your very kind words about the team.

We all hope you will return soon.

With regards,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in London
#38 Business Hotel in London
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
#75 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London
Claridge's London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.