We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Claridge's to your Saves list
Claridge's
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Special
Ranked #120 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Elegant and Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012. 5 minute walk to Regent St. shopping. 1 block from last residence of Jimmi Hendrix (if you care about this), Bond St. tube is very short walk. Mayfair in general is a very upscale neighborhood in London. The Claridges is a grand old dame, our room was large and very well appointed. The staff was incredible as you can imagine. This place is not cheap, even by London high standards, this is expensive. Claridges will probably not disappoint the most discriminating traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear “totravelnice60097”,

Thank you so much for choosing Claridge’s whilst visiting London and for your generous comments, especially about the staff.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    139
    71
    37
    33
See reviews for
157
487
57
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Claridge’s London The Claridge’s London is one of the most famous hotels in London, perfectly located in Mayfair; close to Baker Street and Oxford Street.

I would define it as a very elegant hotel but not showy.

The real experience is when you take the elevator. There is a sofa in it and a groom to push the button for you.

The bar is always nicely animated in the evening with a nice selection of cocktails and finger food. The Lobby serves an excellent afternoon tea in a chic atmosphere with singer and piano.

The real luxury is the size of rooms, the nice bathroom with en suite dressing room.

http://hotelixir.typepad.com/blog/2012/10/claridges-london.html

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear “Hotelixir”,

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your experience.

Merci Beaucoup for your kind review.

All good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We always stay with our three boys at claridges even though you might think it is not a place to take young children! They are always welcomed and the hotel really does their best to accommodate everything you might need with small children . The rooms are large and clean and grand and the bathrooms fabulously indulgent. The location is great for shopping and you can walk to many small cafes and restaurants - a great landmark not to be missed

Room Tip: Ask what family offers they have when you are staying - the family paradise includes breakfast which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear “Debi G”,

Thank you so much for choosing Claridge’s when visiting London.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon but, in the meantime, we send you all good wishes.

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Best hotel in thw world bar none. best service, best rooms, best location. Expensive but i didnt care. Was my anniversary and they really went out of thier way> if i win th elottery I will be a regular

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear “steven g”,

WOW - what more can we ask for?

We hope your dream comes true - fingers crossed for the lottery.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I were excited to stay here for 5 days and loved the location and character of the hotel. However we had a very unpleasant experience in the restaurant. My husband was going to play golf at a very smart club and went down to breakfast in knee length tailored golf shorts and polo shirt. He was refused entry!!! Yet sitting at a table was a young woman in the most minuscule denim shorts . I raised the apparent inconsistency with the manager but it seems there is an extremely sexist dress code. He agreed that the rules were inconsistent , as long as you are young female and attractive they are happy for you to show as much leg as you wish!

Room Tip: Rooms are unfortunately small and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

the moment you arrive and have your bags whisked striaght to your room greeted by name this was my first visit they had done their home work the concierge called me within 2 minutes to make any restaurant booking seen as we were in mayfair i asked for seafood and was told to go to scotts and he duly booked reservation the room was spacious with lush decor it was like standing in a tardis going back in time we slept very well but nearly died when we saw the bill dont use the mini bar shop around for best rate there is some value out there even with these 5 star hotels my credit card was hurting but my wife was smiling so all in all a good weekend well done claridges keep the good work up dont let standards slip please

Room Tip: any they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear “jeffmattLondon”,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Yes,we had to stay there because it is in all the famous old books, Quite a history! I asked my wife how much money does it cost to stay there? She said"If you ask how much it cost to stay at Claridges,you can not afford to stay there." Well I went for the program. We were picked up at the airport in the hotels Bently,stayed there 3 nights and the bill was $4800 American. I about fell over! Could wait to get out of there. Just a old hotel with a history and bragging rights you stayed there.Nothing special to me. Then to top it off they charged us another $800 American in there hotel Mercedes for a ride to South Hampton to catch the Queen Mary 2.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear “passline68”,

I am so sorry that you do not feel your experience was worth the expense. Should you ever return to London, perhaps for another trip on the Queen Mary II, I would be very happy to personally make the arrangements for your stay at Claridge’s, ensuring that we understand your requirements in their entirety in order for you to have nothing but a memorable experience with us.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in London
#73 Business Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#125 Romantic Hotel in London
#205 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London
Claridge's London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.