We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay but.......visited a lot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Claridge's to your Saves list
Claridge's
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Welcome from £390
Ranked #92 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Sydney
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Did not stay but.......visited a lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Dropped in for a glass of Champagne on our way to the theatre. We had been travelling in from Milan staying at a private club two doors down. The bar was full, no problem we will stand but unfortunately not permitted - policy. But the young barman was a hospitality professional and found us a table to sit, ordered our drinks and made sure we were cared for....Claridges absolutely excellent.

The doorman kindly organised us transport then and every time we needed - Claridges!

We did not have occasion to visit again this trip but we will again it is special-Claridges.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear “BBear52”,

Thank you so much for joining us in our restaurant and bars and I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our hospitality. Naturally, we hope that we can provide you with accommodation on your next trip to London.

Safe travels.

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    128
    63
    36
    29
See reviews for
144
454
51
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manhattan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were there for 7 nights in late August. The first bad sign was that the concierges several times replied to emails after lengthy delays, and in one case, only after a reminder from me. When we arrived, we were happy with our room--very attractive. The bellman asked if we would like luggage stands, and we said yes. They never arrived. Two days into our trip, I asked for the NY Times for the rest of our stay. The next morning: nothing. I asked again. The next day, nothing again. We ended up getting it only the 6th, 7th and 8th days. In addition, the service was impersonal. I felt like I was starting from scratch every time I encountered an employee. That said, the place is lovely, the location unbeatable, and the food was good. But one of the great hotels? No.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Claridge's for 4 nights from the 9th September and enjoyed an afternoon tea on our first day, a dinner at the Gordon Ramsay restaurant on our second day and found the Hotel to be first rate, and the staff to be warm and friendly. It is located very centrally in Mayfair in a relatively quiet spot for the centre of London. We had a very small issue with our room on the 3rd day and brought this to the attention of the duty manager, Julia. Julia immediately sorted everything out which was most welcome as we needed to leave instantly to get to Ronnie Scott's jazz club for a 7.30 reservation. It was our first 5 star experience in London and therefore priced accordingly but the hotel, the room and (most importantly) the staff were fabulous and we would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor - very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear “AustravellerinUK”,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. The team and I greatly appreciate your sharing your experience and I know that they were excited to read how pleased you were.

All good wishes

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

It doesn't get much better than this. Where else can you go and have a Lift Man give you a seat in the elevator? The luxury is beyond words. Our room was huge with enough closet space to stay a month!. The service is impeccable. The dining is fabulous, the decor is glamorous the location is perfect,(Rodeo drive of London) and you won't regret treating yourself to taste the lifestyle of the Rich and Famous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear “mammaro5”,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Europe and London.

Safe travels.

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A luxe hotel that works extremely well. A grand old lady , but understated away from its lobby area and not at all stuffy . Still a favourite for A listers , ( Keira and Jude were in the bar prior to the Anna Karenina premiere ), but more typical residents are visiting businessmen and repeat returners who wouldn't stay anywhere else and have been coming for years. Definitely a working hotel despite its elevated status . It can sometimes feels a little over intimate when the lobby lounge is taken over at breakfast and tea times, and because the hotel bar is a destination of its own it's often crowded, but the overall feel is of belonging to a rather cosy club .The excellent , friendly, staff reinforce this feeling - they'll have your name and usual order off pat after the first day. Large comfortable rooms with oversize baths make this an ideal place for the traditionalist who wants to be at the heart of London's Mayfair district.

Room Tip: Great rates to be had on the , newly refurbished, seventh floor at the top of the hotel - were once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear “Corfuandy”,

Our main objective every day is to exceed our guests’ expectations and to deliver memorable experiences. I am glad to see that you enjoyed Claridge’s.

Please come and visit us again soon.

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been so many times to Claridges. It was beginning to feel rather uncared-for but it seems to be improving. The rooms we have had recently have all been redecorated and were very nice. Claridges is very rare in London because it has genuinely big bedrooms - much bigger than the Connaught for example. However the bedrooms are fairly spartan as 5 star hotels go. The suites are a little better. Bathrooms are wonderful.
Breakfast here is very good - we always go downstairs and love the buzz in the air but on our most recent visit we had a decadent breakfast in our bedroom.
The staff make Claridges. They are friendly and efficient. We love the doormen, the housekeepers - they are special. The only place we do not like is the bar which has become a venue for very loud brash people. Pity as we used to like it but the atmosphere has been ruined. Instead we take a drink in the lounge area.
Claridges is brilliantly located for getting about in central London. Try it once and you will be hooked!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear “John and Helen B”,

I am truly grateful for the compliment you paid Claridge’s and in particular your mentioning of the team.

Claridge’s Bar has also undergone some changes and I would be pleased to introduce you to Denis Broci, our Bar Manager, on your next visit.

Thank you so much for your review.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have just returned from one night of luxury at claridges, The suite of rooms was furnished to a high standard, the butler and maid service made us feel extra special. Our whole experience from arrival to departure was outstanding. The breakfast room added to the experience.
Thank you for a stay to remember.

Room Tip: 410/411 were wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear "bjp_11",

Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review.

Best wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in London
#38 Business Hotel in London
#75 Romantic Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
#226 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London
Claridge's London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.