We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridgemount Hotel
Save
You added Ridgemount Hotel to your Saves list
65 - 67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I needed a place to stay for 3 nights and many places were booked, so we found this hotel to be a great find for the value. The best part we thought was the breakfast and warmth of the hosts. Everyone there was really friendly and helpful with advice for tourists. Breakfast was plentiful and does really keep you going all day...sometimes we could even skip lunch, which also saved money. The room was very clean and quite spacious. Our only complaint would be the noise from the heavy traffic outside. We were unable to get a room facing the courtyard, so we had to get one facing the street. Since it can get a little warm inside during the summer, we needed to keep our window open, and this was a problem with the sirens and constant traffic throughout the night, so keep this in mind when booking. The bed also could have been a little more comfortable, but it was adequate. Again, we would stay here again because it really is a nice, clean place; however, we would only stay if we could get a room away from the street. Have fun...London is great!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the garden/courtyard vs. the street...too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    348
    63
    21
    15
See reviews for
228
245
153
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We've been staying at the Ridgemount for more than 25 years. The owners are very kind and hospitable. The rooms are clean and adequate. Staff is friendly and the full breakfast will keep you going all day. The location is terrific. Great Hotel, nice people.
Many Americans have recently found the Ridgemount. Groups of American girls have a habit of coming to breakfast barefoot and or in their pajamas. Some even put their bare feet up on the chairs in the dining room. Ladies please try to understand, you are not at home, the hotels public space is not your personal space. Don’t be rude, put on some shoes and dress like an adult. We came down to the lobby one morning to find our path from the stairs blocked. An American girl was doing her yoga at the base of the stairs on the floor of the public lobby. She looked at us like we were supposed to find a way around her sweaty sprawl in consideration of her higher transcendent calling. So rude and thoughtless. Memo to American girls, either learn how to behave in public or stay home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Ridgemount and I was just as impressed as last time.

I stayed in room 25, a single room with shared bathroom, for two nights while attending a conference for work.

The room was small but spotlessly clean and with a comfy bed. The window overlooked the garden. The tv and hair drier were both in good working order and there was a wardrobe, desk and sink area.

The bed was made and towels replaced daily, all linen was soft and fresh smelling.

The toilets and showers available were small but very clean. I never had to queue to use them so them being shared was not an issue.

Breakfast on the first morning was bacon, egg and tomato with toast. Second morning was bacon, egg and beans with toast. I had coffee and orange juice both days and was also offered cereal, which I declined. All food was well cooked and tasty.

The staff were friendly and helpful and offered me directions and local information.

The hotel is very basic and the single rooms are very small, however it is very affordable and in a great location which makes it excellent value for money.

I have already booked a room for my next trip to London in September.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed one night with my adult son. We asked for a twin room with a shared bathroom, but were allocated a large room with two single and one double bed. The room was spacious if a bit stuffy but then the weather was very warm! The bathrooms were a short walk from the room. They were clean and we had no trouble getting a shower either in the evening or the morning. This is an older hotel and the furnishing are a little shabby, but the price is excellent for central London. We loved the location - very central. Breakfast was basic - limited choice served at the table rather than self service - but adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in triple ensuite rooms the first week in June. The first night our room faced the street. It was very noisy, even with both sets of windows closed which made the room stuffy as well. The next morning we asked to be moved, and the friendly staff were able to accommodate us with a triple room facing the garden which was much better. The twin beds in both rooms were not very good and the pillows were some of the worst we have ever had at a B&B or hotel. Breakfast was good and the service was friendly. There is good Wi-Fi and a large ground floor lounge with an coffee machine that made a surprisingly good cup of coffee. The location is excellent - one of the best features of the place. Given the cost of rooms in London, this is a good value overall.

Room Tip: As for a room off the street facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed 2 nights recently and very happy with everything. Staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Room small but that was expected. Excellent breakfast and terrific location. Will definitely stay again when next in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is clean, has basic amenities, and is within walking distance of the British Museum. These are my requirements for a fantastic trip! I was able to sleep with the windows open, but if you're a light sleeper you may want to ask for a room away from the street. There is no elevator, but since I could use the exercise, I didn't mind. However, if you have trouble navigating stairs, you ought to request a room on the ground floor.

Room Tip: away from the street if you have trouble sleeping there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Address: 65 - 67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in London
#165 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#247 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Ridgemount Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridgemount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.