We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and afordable for a weekent in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridgemount Hotel
Save
You added Ridgemount Hotel to your Saves list
65 - 67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly and afordable for a weekent in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was my first experience with a "European" hotel. The staff was super friendly and helpful - even though I arrived several hours before check-in. My room was on the top floor - which was over 50 stairs up (not advisable for those with mobility issues) The room was clean and tiny... A twin bed, chair TV and small desk and closet and ensuite bath with shower....perfect for a single person. TV was small but had lost of channels and WiFi was fantastic. The breakfast was okay, but not really to my picky standards but the wait staff was friendly and attentive. The lounge has free coffee and tea, 2 computers to use and a drink machine. The property is close to shops and restaurants and close to 2 tube stations and buses just out side the door. The staff allowed me to keep my luggage in the lounge on my last day so I didn't have to lug it around all day - Very nice touch!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    374
    68
    23
    15
See reviews for
253
258
159
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for a week with my wife on our first trip to London. We loved the hospitality as everyone was so helpful and friendly. Upon arrival we were given some recommendations for how to get around and where to best find restaurants for the evening. The hotel is well located with buses 14 and 24 running from out the front and taking you right into the heart of London. Alternatively it was only a short walk to Goodge Street station which is on the Northern Line and links well to other lines on the Tube.
The room was very small and with no air conditioning the room would be very stuffy, even with the window left open. Our biggest issue was our bed was quite uncomfortable and the mattress was obviously quite old. Luckily we were so busy during the day that we were so tired by night time. The hotel offers free WiFi that was easily accessible from our room or alternatively there are two desktop computers in the beautiful lounge area.
We also took advantage of their breakfast service which is run by their friendly staff. Its a typical English breakfast with cereal, eggs, sausage, bacon, tomato and toast on offer. This is a great option for anyone looking for a well located hotel in London for under 100 pounds a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Ridgemount Hotel near Russell Square was a perfect choice for our four days in London, at the end of a five week walking adventure through UK. As it is a small, family run hotel, the owners are welcoming, accommodating and friendly, with advice on train/bus travel, directions, and hands-on help at any time. As our plane did not leave till 10pm, they minded our bags all day, even offered the use of a shower before we started on our long journey home.
The staff serving breakfast were lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean, fresh towels each day with a good sized bathroom.
The location was fabulous, with a bus right across the road, 3 tube stations handy, pubs and cafes a few steps away.
The guest lounge is well appointed, with two computers for guests' use, free tea and coffee machines, and a TV, books, magazines.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting value-for-money, clean, friendly accommodation right in the heart of London.

Room Tip: We had a back room, which was quiet and a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

stayed here for a birthday weekend in london . we were greeted well ,given lots of good information,had a lovely clean warm room,proper bathroom,fresh towels and well made beds,good breakfast in morning,staff and owners lovely,location was superb close to good traditional pubs and many places to eat. walking distance to the wonderful british museum,3 tube stations close by. great day spent in camden.Thank-You for a lovely stay will be back again sometime xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice small hotel in a good location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Every morning at breakfast the owner offers his personal advice for your daily plans. It might be weather related, local restaurant or bus/train service. They go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The women serving breakfast were very quick and attentive serving an enjoyable and filling English breakfast. Small rooms but great value!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

While our room was very tiny, it was very clean and the hotel staff was great. I did not have the correct converter and they generously supplied me with one during our stay. I had also forgotten shampoo and they let me borrow some :) The staff was very helpful and friendly.

We found the location to be very convienent as it is near a bus stop for a bus that will take you almost everywhere you need to go. The neighborhood of the hotel is also nice.

The only negative thing I could say is that we found the breakfast to be pretty lackluster...I stuck with the toast and cereal.

The price and location are great...I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed staying here for three nights. It's a small hotel near University College, and many but not all of the guests were young. There were many small hotels in this one old building, each having its own entrance and staircase. The building is very old, with floors and stairs that are far from flat; we found it charming. The room was clean. The staff was friendly, and helped carry our luggage to the fourth floor. Breakfast was really good. The weather was quite warm when we were there, so it was absolutely necessary to keep the window open all night, and there was street noise but it did not bother us too much. The beds were unfortunately not great. I think they were narrower than a standard twin bed, and my back ached a little in the morning. They weren't terrible, but new beds are the one thing that could most improve this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so request as lower floor if you don't like stairs. Ask if they have a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa
Arosfa
#85 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#572 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#571 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#251 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#254 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#110 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Address: 65 - 67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in London
#184 Business Hotel in London
#190 Family Hotel in London
#288 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Ridgemount Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridgemount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.