We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerfull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crescent Hotel to your Saves list
Crescent Hotel
49-50 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 1,052 Hotels in London
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerfull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I needed a hotel near to Euston station.
I got this at a cheap price and included Breakfast.
The woman on reception was friendly enough,Room was what I expected and shared bathroom and toilets very clean.
Breakfast was full English and nice too.
Bed was comfy,Tea and coffee facilities and a tv were there for use.
I would stay here again,I don't think you could find a cheaper hotel offering the same as the crescent and the Location is perfect,Just 5 - 10 minute walk from Euston Station.

Room Tip: If you are an older person as for a room as near to the ground as the stairs are very steep and narr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    91
    36
    15
    1
See reviews for
62
35
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

After searching for so long for a decent, budget hotel in London, I finally booked at the Crescent hotel. I was kinda surprised when I got there with the good quality of the hotel. The room was really small and the stairs to get there tiny. The room itself though was comfortable, clean with a shower and sink was shich very convenient. The shared toilets were very clean as well. The location is very convenient as it's a walking distance from King's cross station. The breakfast was very good with cereal, toast, marmalade, eggs, bacon and sausage. The staff though is not very friendly but efficient. I also didn't have a safe in my room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Small Hotel that punches above its weight. Located in a leafy crescent, beside a small park in Bloomsbury and only minutes away, on foot, from St Pancras International, Kings Cross and Euston stations. Surrounded by good pubs & eateries. Clean and well run, this privately owned hotel offers comfortable, affordable and clean. A good breakfast in a pleasant breakfast room sets you up (and saves money) for the day. The reception staff are lovely and provide a pleasant & helpful service. I almost hesitate to recommend this hotel so highly as it's always my first choice when visiting London and I'd rather keep it to myself. But that wouldn't be fair.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quiet - not so much those at the front. The rooms have no A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Much better than nearby hotels in the same class.

Breakfast and breakfast staff were very good. Rooms are not most up to date but well looked after, clean and tidy. Shared bathrooms were tidy clean and plenty of space.

Reception staff were very gruff for no reason.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very central location, nice neighbourhood that felt safe, also at night

Moderately clean: towels, pillows and teacups in my room were stained, but were promptly replaced. Shared bathrooms were clean.

All single rooms are facing the street and located at the top floor of the building. It's good to know when booking that the building's isolation against heat and noise are not up to today's standards.

Although it's a quiet area, I found a lot of sound coming in from the street (cars passing, people talking, tennis playing in the park), as well as the usual sounds from other guests closing doors and moving around on the corridors.

The doors to the rooms are old wooden ones with cracks through which the lights from the corridors shines through at the edges. This means that the room will not be dark at night, as the light couldn't be switched off due to safety precautions.

I imagine the room will get rather hot in summer time, as it was already palpable that the temperature was increasing. Also, smell of English breakfast is overwhelming in the morning.

Breakfast itself is alright. Friendly staff. Hotel seems to attract polite guests.

Room Tip: All single rooms are facing the street and located at the top floor of the building. It's good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was a great base for us as we were visiting different areas of London and not too far away from anywhere. Convenient for Euston. Quiet area. Clean hotel, friendly staff who were very helpful. Breakfast was lovely, especially the poached eggs. Will stay here again. Extremely comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Great family hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were in London for four nights: two adults and a 9-year-old. We needed family lodging and wanted to save money…meaning we wanted to be close to transportation but NOT in the city center. We also don't see our hotel as anything more than a place to safely keep our things and sleep.

We really lucked out here. The Crescent is located near THREE train stations, all an easy walk. It is also very near the British Museum, the Charles Dickens Museum, the British Library and a great (there's a ZIP LINE!) playground. There are also several tasty and very reasonably priced restaurants and pubs within blocks.

The hotel was nice: clean and comfortable. We had a room with three beds on the back side of the hotel, so there was no noise from outside. The guests were also quiet, but the building is old, so there is always a certain level of noise when people are coming or going. Nothing a decent pair of earplugs didn't solve. There is also breakfast included, and there was MORE than enough food in the full English breakfast offered. The wifi was adequate. And the staff was friendly and helpful.

We had en-suite full bath. But I will mention that all of the shared bathrooms were VERY clean and updated. There is no lift and there is also no air conditioning. Neither of these were an issue for us, but it is worth mentioning. Housekeeping was outstanding…each day we came home to our son's stuffed bear in a new pose.

Room Tip: We had en-suite full bath. But I will mention that all of the shared bathrooms were VERY clean and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel

Address: 49-50 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.