We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice educational day out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial War Museum

Imperial War Museum
Lambeth Road, London SE1 6HZ, England
+44 20 7416 5000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #81 of 1,081 attractions in London
Type: Military Museums, History Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: IWM London is undergoing a major building redevelopment as we transform our museum to mark the Centenary of the First World War. Work has begun to create our new museum and, to enable us to safely and securely deliver the most disruptive construction works, we are closed until July 2014. In July 2014, for the Centenary of the First World War, a transformed IWM London will reopen with ground-breaking new First World War Galleries and a newly configured atrium displaying our iconic large objects. To mark the First World War Centenary we'll also be opening Truth and Memory - the largest exhibition of British First World War art for almost 100 years. Find out more on our website.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Nice educational day out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Not the best museum, the layout is very condensed but being a war museum it is very interesting, educational and great for school classes, but I think the science museum is the best if you could only go to one

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,515
    577
    128
    47
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocracoke, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I wish I could've spent more time in this museum. Sadly, when I went the majority of the building was under refurbishment. They still delivered excellent exhibits though! This is the type of museum that can appeal to men and women. If you're looking for something to do that's a bit slower paced I'd highly recommend visiting this museum.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is an undiscovered gem! This museum isn't touted much but packs a big punch. We found the exhibit of family life during the war fascinating. Sitting in a bomb shelter listening to the sirens really impacted our teens. We also greatly enjoyed the MI5/MI6 section of the museum. Real heroes-not James Bond-but the true stories of those who won the war. We had the opportunity to play with the enigma machine and then came home and watched the movie. It was educational and fun all in one! The Holocaust section was so powerful I personally had to leave it at an early exit. The testimonies of those who survived will always be with me. At the end of our trip, more than one family member said this was the highlight for them. And it was free! Amazing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cephalonia, Greece
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was in London for a New Year visit with my (not British) husband and particularly wanted to show him the War Museum as he is interested in large war memorabilia - vehicles, tanks, guns etc. I had visited the museum many years before and remembered being very impressed. We didn't know about the renovations until we arrived and had planned the whole day round this trip. We went in anyway and were very disappointed. The only exhibits open were the Holocaust Displays and the 'A day in the life of a normal East End family'. Although important, the former was not something we wanted to see (it is very distressing and we have seen other Holocaust exhibitions elsewhere in Europe) and the latter was nothing special. After less than an hour we had finished our visit.
I suppose the only plus point was that entrance was free.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekalb, illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“wait until renovations completed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Not much to see and a lot of construction noise and blocked views. Hardly worth the trip now. Wait until it reopens completely.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Imperial War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial War Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Imperial War Museum to your Saves list