We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwich

Greenwich
London SE10 9LW, England
0870 608 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$131*
and up
London Bike Tour: Maritime Greenwich and Olympic...
Ranked #39 of 854 Attractions in London
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set on the south bank of the Thames, approximately five miles from central London, this city borough is rich in maritime history and features the Royal Naval College, National Maritime Museum and the Old Royal Observatory, which was built by Sir Christopher Wren for King Charles II.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Big park, great for long walk. IF you want to have a nice view of London- go to the PArk and observatorium.

After you can continue walking towards canary wharf...
[only if you really like LONG walks]

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    440
    69
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
271 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Coming off of the DLR, we were surprised to find so many good shops and little cafes. We'll certainly be spending more time here in the future.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“greenwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

stayed in a backpackers here for a week or 2 was a really nice little town they were filming pirates of the carrabean 4 there

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“greenwich is lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The parks are beautiful and the buildings are all worth a, visit. The buildings are all free and the paintings on the roofs are truly fab a good day out. Greenwich is a bit far out but as we were on break for O2 it was perfect.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Difficult to maneuver, but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We took the walkway under the Thames to get to Greenwich, which was fun to begin with. Greenwich itself is bustling and busy, but we were disappointed that you had to pay to stand on the Prime Meridian. We declined to do so, instead finding Queen Elizabeth I's oak and the Greenwich Mean Time clock. I'm glad I visited, but I don't think it's worth a second trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwich also viewed

 

Been to Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.