We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel/Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Piccadilly, London W1J 7BJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel/Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in September. Friendly, knowledgable staff. Everyone from the doorman on to the front desk clerk, concierge and restaurant staff made us feel welcome and at home. Our corner room was very comfortable and had a great view of the park. No problems accessing WiFi. The tea and coffee station was a nice touch. Being able to make tea in the morning was a nice way to start the day. Great location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    300
    68
    34
    18
See reviews for
253
600
64
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Athenaeum combines perfect service, ideal location and well maintained sumptuous but comfortable facilities in a way that few hotels can achieve. Starting with the helpful and delightful doormen (Jim and John) , then to the Head Porters (concierge) (Duncan and Alan, among others), then to the myriad receptionists, porters, housekeepers,waiters, etc, perfect and friendly service is routine. The rooms, particularly the apartments, are clean, comfortable and bright. The small restaurant provides good food, especially at breakfast, and does so cheerfully and with expedition. DIrectly opposite Green Park, a couple of blocks from Hyde Park and an easy and delightful walk to Harrods, Knightsbridge, the Palace, or, in the opposite direction, Picadilly Circus and the theatre district, the location is perfect. Best of all, the one and two bedroom apartments provide a home-away feeling (bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchenette) that is delightful. If one could award 6 or more stars, the Athenaeum would merit that designation. My family and I have stayed there for years and will continue to do so. Bravo.

Room Tip: Try and book one of the apartments. Costs just a bit more, but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights on business; great staff and lovely property. Concierge services are top notch and the doormen particularly the gentlemen from Brazil was fantastic. You cannot beat this location and property was very well maintained. Wi Fi strong and reliable. Great business hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This review should be 5/5 as all aspects of our stay were great except for an unfortunate encounter with a snobby employee on Saturday, September 28th. My husband and I had made dinner reservations for 1800. We had been out all day, but returned to the hotel earlier than expected. We wanted to see if we would be able to change our resrvations from 1800 to 1730. We were standing at the foot of the stairs waiting for the people ahead of us to finish thier business. While standing there, we were approached by an employee, who in a condescending tone said "Hello." My husband said hello and the gentleman just stood there and gave us the "once over" as if we did not belong there or perhaps we lacked the ability to pay for a meal at the hotel's restaurant. We explained to him that we had reservations and wanted to see if we could change them to 1730. Again, he gave us a strange look and then said "What is your room number?" We told him that we were in room 208. He did not ask for our name at any point during this interaction. He then stated that he would have the restaurant manager call us if when the table was ready. Needless to say, the phone call never came. The more I thought about the interaction, the angrier I became. I would not have been so offended if he had approached anyone else in the lobby, but he did not do so. My husband and I were singled out, and I can only assume that he thought we could not pay for our meal, or prehaps we did not fit the image the usual hotel guests. I should have told him that my ballgown is at the cleaners and I have misplaced my tiara, and that my Bentley has a flat tire. Perhaps then he would have been less condescending toward us. We decided to eat elsewhere. On our way out, we stopped to see if our reservations had been changed (they had not been changed) and the employee that we spoke with this time had no idea what we were talking about. I am livid at the point and asked to speak with a supervisor. I spoke with Serena (guest services manager) and explained the situation to her. I asked if it was common practice to have the restaurant manager call when a table is ready and she said it was not. She said that she would have to investigate further. I am so incredibly offended over this issue. We stayed at this very hotel for a week last year and retrned again this year. A third visit is very doubtful. There are many hotels in Mayfair and I can certainly afford to stay at any one I choose, so to be treated as if I am some vagrant off the street is unaccepatable to me. I will spend my vacation next year at another hotel. I will not patronize any establishment where I do not feel welcome. It's a shame, because we had a lovely room and all of the employees except one were warm and welcoming except this particular gentleman.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sandy F,
Thank you for returning to the athenaeum and for taking the time to share your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience with the exception of the restaurant.
I am grateful that you have brought this to my attention as it is certainly not the usual standard that we deliver and as a valued returning guest, I am sure that you will agree from your previous stay that this was an isolated occurrence and most likely not the intention of the individual.
I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you in a bit more detail and would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Wishes,
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in The Athenaeum in August.
It's a fantastic 5 star hotel but without all the pretentious staff and guests.
Breakfast was superb with every choice you would expect and excellent service with personable staff.
Reception is exceptionally friendly.
The rooms are really comfortable.We stayed in a superior double and the bathrooms are amazing in the style of art deco with mirrors everywhere.
Great location on Piccadilly and with a 24 hour bar service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location is great for my meetings. Breakfast I really enjoyed with some very professional staff. I have stayed in the main hotel and the apartments. If you want space go for the apartment. Lots of goodies are provided which are nice touches. Maybe could do with another restaurant but you are so close to loads of other restaurants is not really an issue.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked a stay at The Anthenaeum as a surprise for my husbands birthday and it was an amazing experience as soon as we walked through the door.

We were greeted by friendly staff and told we had been given an upgrade to a park view room, the facilities in room were superb. We had a nespresso coffee machine, complimentary soft drinks and nibbles as well as the usual mini bar assortment. My husband also received a bottle of Tattinger champagne and a beautiful little cake and candle in celebration of his special day.

We sampled the whiskey bar which is a must for any whiskey lover or if you enjoy your cocktails. The staff are helpful, friendly and very knowledgable of what they're serving. The next day we also had a small taste of their exquisite tea room. Unfortunately we didn't get to try afternoon tea (as much as we would've liked to..) but the tea we did sample was delicious, they have pure blends and are happy to mix to taste, I can highly recommend their peach blend :)

The Athenaeum also has a spa and fitness facility which we will definitely be trying next time, and believe me there will be a next time.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the reception staff, in particular Angela, are wonderful and made our stay one of nicest we've had in a long time..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments

Address: 116 Piccadilly, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in London
#67 Luxury Hotel in London
#74 Family Hotel in London
#86 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Free Wi-fi / Free mini bar soft drinks & snacks / Kids eat free when dining with an adult **The Athenaeum is the luxury London hotel with a big personality. Ideally located in Mayfair, overlooking leafy Green Park - it’s just a stroll away from Buckingham Palace, the West End and the capital's best shops. A selection of stunning rooms, suites and luxurious, homely apartments make The Athenaeum the perfect choice for families and business travellers alike. In-room facilities include complimentary soft drinks and snacks from the minibar, free Wi-Fi, Bose docking stations and flat screen TVs. Kids eat free when dining with adults. Don’t miss the award-winning afternoon tea, beautiful restaurant, cosy Whisky Bar and charming boutique spa. It is your home from home in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, LondonMarketing.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.