We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Piccadilly, London W1J 7BJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 1,065 Hotels in London
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a really enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed her for 3 nights in one of the rooms which is accessed by a separate entrance in a side
street. It was fairly small but very nicely furnished and decorated and was very comfortable.
There was no view but in compensation for this it was the quietest room we have ever had in London and we slept very well in a most comfortable bed.
The continental breakfast included in the rate was very good and the service excellent. We also
used the bar on two occasions after being our for the evening and enjoyed the atmosphere.
Throughout our stay all staff we met were pleasant and helpful - we would happily return to this hotel which is in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    300
    68
    34
    18
See reviews for
253
598
64
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here in early June for a week. This hotel is all about a superb location and simply amazing service. The staff felt like family to us by the end of our stay.

Context: I travel over 100,000 miles a year for business and stay at a hotel (usually a corporate chain) somewhere between 30-45 nights a year.

Location: Right across the street from lovely Green Park, you are a 5 minute walk to the Mall and Buckingham Palace. The park was very safe, and the Athenaeum caters to families...scooters, balls, and even birdseed provided free of charge. Our daughter loved feeding the birds. The hotel is also a quick walk (again, 5 minutes) to the Green Park Tube station, which has 3 lines running through it. We were incredibly fortunate that it never rained during our 7 night stay.

Service: From the doormen out front to the housekeeping staff hiding behind the scenes, the staff here is right on cue. The hotel isn't huge, which is its strength. We were not nameless, faceless guests. The staff became familiar with our preferences and made every effort to surprise us at every opportunity. For example, every night there were cookies and milk waiting for our daughter. When I mentioned that I like cookies too, every night thereafter several more were provided. I did not expect that, and it was a nice touch. Another example that amazed us was upon check-in, there had been a miscommunication and there was no roll-away bed for our daughter, so they were going to deliver one. Somehow, before we even arrived at our room (just 2 flights up), the housekeeping staff managed to race to the room, get the bed inside, and depart before we even got there. We are talking about 3 minutes from notification being received by the staff to us being at the door! The breakfast was included in our room rate, and was lovely. We also had Afternoon Tea at the Athenaeum, which was a real highlight of our trip! The hotel definitely caters to families with children. Upon arrival, there was a kids-sized bathrobe and slippers for our daughter, along with a box of toys and activity books for her to enjoy with during our stay. The surprising thing was that with all this attention paid to children, we saw very few of them. Those did encounter were very well-behaved, so any concerns about this being a kiddie-crazy hotel need to be dismissed. Somehow, the concierge was able to score a prime ticket for me to "The Audience" with Dame Helen Mirren, which was absolutely the top. It wasn't inexpensive, but for the chance of a lifetime I gladly paid the price.

Accommodations: We stayed in a Superior room. It was decent sized and very comfortable. The decor is contemporary, and we loved the Queen's Guard display next to our bed, as well as the picture on the wall of the 4 seasons in London that "morphed" as you moved past it! Some of the photos in the hallways of British life included the Spice Girls, Big Ben, and Margaret Thatcher. I agree with a previous reviewer that the ridiculous high-back "crown" chairs by the window need to be 86'd as they crowd the windows. The bathroom was all marble and had heated towel racks and mirrors that did not fog up. Snacks, non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar, and coffee from the in-room Nespresso machine were complimentary and replaced daily.

Special kudos for Jim at the front door, Shelley and Paula at the front desk, Darren the Concierge, and Agniezka, Regis, and Angelica in the dining room.

Highly recommend this property and their staff. Absolutely would not consider staying anywhere else in London!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Few five star hotels can really be said to have 'character'. The Athenaeum has it in spades. No stuffiness. No over-the-top -decor. Not a hint of snobbery. Just quality and unique character.

From the life-sized statue of a dog in the foyer (with water bowl for canine visitors) to the Whisky Bar with more malts than you thought could possibly exist, the Athenaeum is pure, if expensive, joy. The food? Exquisite - what did you expect? The staff are sophisticated but also very friendly.

In each room you'll find a copy of a little book 'Say Hello to Sally for me'. It's about the life and times of the sadly missed Sally Bullough, chatelaine of the hotel until quite recently. You might remember Sally. She was the pigtailed eight-year-old who set fire to the school in that very British film of the 1960s, 'The Hell that is St Trinian's.' Sally was larger than life and her shade still sets the tone at the Athenaeum.

It was Sally that wooed mega-stars away from the more staid exclusive London hotels. Russell Crowe stayed here for months. Sally told him it was unfair to the cleaning staff to constantly leave his apartment in such a mess. A chastened, Crowe cleaned up his act. The hotel is second home to a galaxy of familiar faces from Tinsel town. When guests approach, Jim the doorman throws open the doors with a cheery 'Welcome home!' It's very nice to feel one belongs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Booked this hotel on lastminute.com and so pleased we did. Wonderful location in Green Park overlooking the park. Just a few minutes walk away from Buckingham palace. Easy to get to any location in London via the tube. Room was spacious for London, they are normally tiny tiny boxes. nespresso machine in your room with free mini bar for snacks and soft drinks. Bed linen superb as felt silky soft with really nice pillows. Bose stereo in room also. We stayed in London for a concert so didn't really use much of the facilities however when we got back, our room had been turned down for the night and slippers were awaiting us each side, nice touch! Reception staff friendly and efficient.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a great spa day. Myself and a few friends booked a spa day at this hotel. Great day , staff friendly and very professional .Would recommend the spa , excellent treatments and chilling out in the jacuzzi , sheer bliss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I treated my girlfriend to a spa day and chose this hotel over many out there offering spa days.
I read the reviews on trip advisor and was a little put off. Because we were going for dinner later near by the hotel I decided to book. I am so glad I did, the staff were amazing, having spoken to me re our 3 year anniversary, they gave us a lovely celebratory cup cake which made they day just that little bit more special. The treatments were great and the spa its self although quite small was lovely and you could tell there was attention to detail. I would definitely go back we loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked afternoon tea at The Athenaeum, after reading that it stole the Tea Guild's 'Best Afternoon Tea' award from Claridge's. Quite some feat! However it fully deserves the accolade.

The hotel itself is beautifully appointed, with a contemporary but luxurious feel. The location on Green Park is wonderful and the service is impeccable. Seated in the Garden Room which overlooks the hotel's 'living plant wall', the afternoon tea was truly wonderful. Each course is served separately so you can enjoy each one.

The sandwiches were fresh and varied, the scones fluffy, the crumpets buttery and the selection of sweet treats was absolutely fantastic. The waiter encouraged us to eat until we were full. What a delight!

Make sure you book ahead, as it is often busy but if you do manage to visit and enjoy afternoon tea, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments

Address: 116 Piccadilly, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in London
#67 Luxury Hotel in London
#74 Family Hotel in London
#86 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Free Wi-fi / Free mini bar soft drinks & snacks / Kids eat free when dining with an adult **The Athenaeum is the luxury London hotel with a big personality. Ideally located in Mayfair, overlooking leafy Green Park - it’s just a stroll away from Buckingham Palace, the West End and the capital's best shops. A selection of stunning rooms, suites and luxurious, homely apartments make The Athenaeum the perfect choice for families and business travellers alike. In-room facilities include complimentary soft drinks and snacks from the minibar, free Wi-Fi, Bose docking stations and flat screen TVs. Kids eat free when dining with adults. Don’t miss the award-winning afternoon tea, beautiful restaurant, cosy Whisky Bar and charming boutique spa. It is your home from home in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, LondonMarketing.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.