We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Would definitely return. Can't fault it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Piccadilly, London W1J 7BJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing. Would definitely return. Can't fault it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked this hotel through lastminute.com on the 'Secret Hotels' thingy so paid about £170 I think for one night (room only). It was a surprise for my Mum's birthday. I emailed the hotel beforehand to tell them, and they left a birthday card and a mini cake with a candle in the room!! So sweet.

I have never stayed in 5* before but this for us was pure luxury. Everything was perfect. Amazing staff, especially Duncan, the concierge. We stayed in the Mayfair Suite, room 1011 I think, top floor. Was PERFECT.

There is not a single complaint or a single thing I would change.

The mini bar snacks and drinks are all free of charge except the alcohol. Slippers and robes are provided.

Seriously, everything was amazing. It was proper luxury for us and in a perfect location.

I don't know how it compares with other 5* places, but for my Mum and me, this was perfection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    300
    68
    34
    18
See reviews for
253
598
64
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

my wife and I stayed here last weekend. We often stay in London for the night, but this was our first visit here, and i'm very impressed. Very freindly staff, beautiful room which was very well appointed, mirrors everywhere. When we left, all the reception staff knew our name, which was a lovely touch and left us feeling warm and fuzzy. Will be back very soon without a doubt.

Room Tip: Park views are lovely, but don't get hung up if you don't get one, the staff make up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, england
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with our two small children in an apartment. It was very well equipped and the snacks, ice cream and mini bar were all included. Toys provided that were age appropriate and service was of a very high standard.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked the hotel through secret escapes. I only stayed for one night as I had an exam in London the following day. When I arrived the room was very cold. I turned the air conditioning on but it didn't make any difference. After a few hours of studying in the room I informed the staff. They brought me round an electric heater for use during the night. The room was on the ground floor at street level, and I was woken early on by the noise from the street.
Overall, the hotel looked nice and I have no complaints about the staff, but was disappointed as I expected better from a 5 star hotel. I informed the hotel on my departure, but the complaint seemed to be brushed aside

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Amassey01,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us although I am very sorry to learn of the inconvenience you experienced with regards to the lack of heating and the noise. This must have been very frustrating, especially as you were preparing for an exam in the morning. I can assure you that we take all feedback very seriously and I am very sorry that you felt your comments were brushed aside on check-out. Therefore , should you wish to discuss your stay and feedback in more detail please do contact me directly and I hope we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in us and welcome you back to the athenaeum in the near future.
Best Wishes
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed her in november 2012 for a long weekend of sightseeing , shopping and seeing some shows. The location of the hotel was brilliant for most places but the welcome we received was very disappointing , the reception staff were less than helpful we arrived at the same time as some european visitors and we could hear there welcome speach and it was very extensive and informative , ours was a very basic heres your room key and which floor we were on and that was it , when we went down later to book a table in the restaurant we were told there wasnt any availability but try later , also there was a dog in the restaurant at both breakfast and in the evening which personally i didnt agree on and neither were we asked if we minded when it was virtually under our table. the room was comfortable but hardly big enough to swing a cat , all in all not what you'd expect from a hotel in mayfair , we didnt expect the red carpet treatment but surely all guests should be treated the same way , all i can say is we witnessed on several occasions a warm wlecome to overseas visitors and would hope the staff could extend that to everyone .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Misspog,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am very pleased that you enjoyed the convenient location of the athenaeum and its close proximity to many of the attractions London has to offer.
I would like to apologise for the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations nor live up to our high standards of hospitality on which we normally pride ourselves . We do value all of our guests but I am very sorry that this was not your perception . I assure you that I will be sharing these comments with the team and reviewing in detail the points you have raised as it is only though feedback such as yours that we can continually strive to ensure that all our guests experience a high level of customer care . My apologies . I truly wish we had been aware of your dissatisfaction at the time so we could have tried to resolve this during your time with us but should you wish to contact me personally to discuss your disappointment in greater detail please do so and I do hope you may give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us and welcome you back to the athenaeum in the future .
Best Wishes
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Secret Escapes deal. Hotel very kindly upgraded us to an apartment as it was our silver wedding anniversary. The apartment is on Down St, just round the corner, a quiet, pleasant location, but no view of the park. Very spacious apartment with small kitchen (2-ring hob, microwave possibly combi, washing machine! complete with cutlery, crockery, pans, toaster, coffeemaker etc). Large lounge area with dining table. Luxurious bed, fantastic power shower (although very small bathroom). Handily located for Green Park tube (M&S Simply Food next to tube station was useful). Just a few minutes walk across Green Park to Buckingham Palace. Service was excellent throughout. We arrived a little early but were upgraded and shown to our apartment immediately and they also gave us a later checkout when we requested it. On our anniversary they gave us a card and fairy cake, which was a nice gesture.
We would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: We found our apartment to be quiet and very spacious, the kitchen was useful, but no views of the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago as i had a theatre show booked and this hotel was the perfect distance from prince edwards theatre. I have stayed in all 3 sister hotels and this one is tiny compared to the others but really good. On arrival we checked in and waited 10mins for our room to be ready as we was early. We was greeted by all staff. When our room was ready we was taking up to our room by a member of staff who showed us where our room was, showed where things were and how to work the heating/aircon. Really felt welcomed.

I didnt experience the dinner or spa but did have a couple of drinks in the bar which was peaceful aas it quite and out of the way from reception so not everyone can look at you compared to the other 2 hotels.

Would deffo recoomend this is to friends and family for a stay.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the park as it is a beautiful site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments

Address: 116 Piccadilly, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in London
#65 Luxury Hotel in London
#73 Family Hotel in London
#84 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Free Wi-fi / Free mini bar soft drinks & snacks / Kids eat free when dining with an adult **The Athenaeum is the luxury London hotel with a big personality. Ideally located in Mayfair, overlooking leafy Green Park - it’s just a stroll away from Buckingham Palace, the West End and the capital's best shops. A selection of stunning rooms, suites and luxurious, homely apartments make The Athenaeum the perfect choice for families and business travellers alike. In-room facilities include complimentary soft drinks and snacks from the minibar, free Wi-Fi, Bose docking stations and flat screen TVs. Kids eat free when dining with adults. Don’t miss the award-winning afternoon tea, beautiful restaurant, cosy Whisky Bar and charming boutique spa. It is your home from home in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.