We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz London to your Saves list
The Ritz London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #28 of 1,065 Hotels in London
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I have just returned from a weekend break to celebrate my 40th birthday at the Ritz hotel. We are a family of 4 with children aged 15 and 12 yrs. I have to say that from the moment we got there this hotel had the wow factor! There was a card and a birthday cake in my room upon check in. Everything was taken care of and the staff were wondefull. Our package included a junior suite, breakfast and we also booked afternoon tea on the day of my birthday. The room was lovely and the bathroom huge. The breakfast was delighful with a delicious selection and is served in the ritz restaurant with all it's beautiful surroundings. Afternoon tea was served in the palm court and again there was plenty of choice i highly recommed this for a special occasion. Room service arrived exactly at the requested time but i have to mention the jewel of the Ritz - Tony the concierge, he provided us with excellent tickets for a show and also recommended and booked us a table at an excellent restaurant again at a moments notice, nothing was impossible or too much trouble for him. Despite this being a 5 star hotel the children were welcomed which we have not always found in the past with this type of hotel, every night milk and cakes were left for them and all the staff went out of their way to speak to them. We wanted to do some shopping on our last day so after we checked out we left our luggage in the hotel and they were placed in the car for us, when we returned to the hotel the car was brought to the front with all our belongings ready to leave. We really did have a fantastic 3 night stay here and cant wait to return. I shall expect my husband to take me to the Ritz for every birthday and as he enjoyed it so much himself i think i am in with a good chance !!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    232
    80
    43
    32
See reviews for
322
729
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kimbolton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed there Bank holiday weekend and it was the best service we have ever received. From the moment we arrived, the staff were genuinely friendly and efficient. The doorman took our luggage and radio'd through to reception our names so we didn't even have to tell them who we were.
Everything ran smoothly and the receptionist showed us round the hotel before taking us to our room.
There was a small birthday cake waiting for me and the room was lovely.
We had booked a different restaurant so didn't eat there that night but when we came back to the hotel the restaurant was still buzzing because the have a dinner dance on Saturday nights which we wish we had booked instead!
We had a nightcap in the hotel bar, I had the Ritz 100 cocktail which was recommended by the receptionist and it was lovely.
When we returned to our room they had done a wonderful turndown service with his and hers slippers, lovely souvenir to take home!
I can't wait to return, it was very special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

The ultimate London joy, a stay at the Ritz. The first view of the room was jaw dropping, gilded ceilings, gilded faucets and champagne! The treats didn't end , our rate included dinner with 4 courses, and a full English breakfast the next morning. The staff was willing and delightful. I w as celebrating my 60th birthday, and I think it is almost worth turning 60 to have such a lovely time. Thank you Ceasar Ritz and all who follow !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

The Ritz London harkens back to an era of grace, manners, elegance, and unparalleled service that seems more often than not today to have all but vanished from our society. I have been lucky enough to stay here a few times, and it remains my hotel of choice in London. In my view, nobody comes close to doing hospitality like the Ritz. The service is second to none; I don't know where they find their incredible staff or how they train them, but I have never stayed anywhere where the employees were so inviting, friendly, and constantly helpful in ways that go far beyond what is merely required. In addition to being constantly good-natured, accommodating, and amiable, as one would hope for but so often doesn't find even at a hotel of this caliber, they went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant and memorable as possible. They made nightly reservations for us at London's best restaurants, places we would never have gotten into on our own; on our way out when we stopped to ask for directions, they offered us the hotel's Rolls Royce free of charge to drop us off; the doormen even learned our names--not to mention remembered us from our earlier stay and made mention of it, despite the hundreds of new faces they must take in daily. In the world of service at luxury hotels, the rest would do well to take notice of the way it is done at the Ritz.

The rooms are of course superb, flawlessly clean and lavishly elegant. Our suite was as spacious as it was beautiful, with high ceilings and a simply amazing marble bathroom with a whirlpool tub and glass shower. Housekeeping and room service were as beyond reproach as the rest of our experience at the Ritz, and I think I could very happily have given up my house to move into that lovely room.

We arrived immediately following a stay at the George V in Paris, a hotel that is often described as perhaps the finest in the world; despite having a wonderful stay there, we found the Ritz far more charming. Everything about it breathes gentility, from the beautiful decor to the strict dress code required in the Palm Court, bar, and restaurant. I understand that this formality is not to everyone's taste, but it never ceases to amaze me how people will complain about it as though it were a fault of the hotel. The sense of the elegance of a bygone era is one of the Ritz's distinguishing features, and if it isn't to one's liking, then the solution is simple--one ought not to stay here. For my part, I find it refreshing in this world of torn jeans and endless informality; in its sophistication, its charm, its spectacular service, and yes, even its formality, the Ritz pays heed to the niceties of the past, and for that, there is nowhere in the world I would rather stay.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We went here as a special treat for our silver wedding aniversary and received 5 star treatment from the minute we got out of the taxi. We had booked the romance package which included fruit champagne etc on arrival and a meal with wine in the evening. When we went to book in the reception staff were polite and very attentive they congratulated us on our anniversary and we were upgraded to a suite which was beautiful. The room was supurb and the facilities at the hotel were as expected we were treated like royalty from we arrived untill we left. The experience of dressing for dinner and breakfast will live long in the memory and the service was outstanding. We could find no faults with the hotel and can't wait to go back again. A super treat which was well worth waiting for and the dress code made it feel special. Casual dress has its place but not here. Experience it once in your lifetime you will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I booked the Ritz for my fiance's birthday as we were in London shopping. It's just a great place. I'm sure there are better equipped hotels with more facilities - bang and olufsen toilet roll holders etc but this place has got a very special feel about it. The decor is as you'd expect all old school glamour, and it's very old fashioned all round but you can just feel the history and class of the place from the moment you arrive. Rooms are not massive, but are well laid out and are very comfortable. It's very intimate for a grand hotel - about 135 rooms but you are made to feel very much at home and the staff attention to detail is second to none. Having read a few reviews previous, the main theme seemed to be the dress code which is pretty formal. You're ok going in through lobby and to the room in short or jeans etc but if you want to use the bar or restaurants or main communal area then you'll need to have trousers, shoes, jacket & tie. If this doesn't sit well with you then go to the Sanderson, it's just how this place works. Location is obviously great and all round well worth the money for a special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRitzLondon, Marketing Manager at The Ritz London, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you had such a nice time with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

You are correct about our dress code, we try our best to ensure that everyone is aware of it before arriving. Its one of those things that we like to stick to here to keep up the tradition and elegance!

Thank you again

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed at the Ritz for our wedding anniversary, we have stayed twice before and standards have slipped. We booked in for Friday and Saturday night and forgot to book afternoon tea in advance. We telephoned prior to our arrival to say we would like to book afternoon tea but were told they could only serve us at 7.30pm, who has tea at 7.30pm?Upon check in I said I was disappointed they could not offer us afternoon tea , especially as we are paying £550 per night. I also explained we had recently stayed at Claridges and they held back table for their paying guests. The receptionist did try to help us and offered us tea at 11.30am and 7.30pm - we declined. So book afternoon tea in advance if you want to tea as the proper time - the fact you are a guest holds no weight.

Check in was an experience - we had booked a junior suite but were offered at check in a two room suite for an extra £200 per night. We declined as we felt £550 per night was already a huge sum of money. After a bit of discussion, not prompted by ourselves, they said they were very pleased to offer us the two room suite for no extra charge. We were very pleased until we arrived in the room. Our complimentary bottle of champagne and anniversary card was there waiting for us which implied to us we were going to get the room anyway but they thought they would try to get us to pay for it! We opened our champagne and proceeded to run a bath and quite unbelievably the bathroom was unacceptable. The bath was in desperate need of re-grouting and there was mould growing around the edge of the bath. The loo ( pottie ) seat was old and looked like something out of B&Q ( Home Depot ). We decided we would prefer our lower standard room. There was no separate shower and the fittings were all worn out. We called down and said we were not happy with the room and were told we would be shown another room. We were taken to another room, even bigger but the bathroom was only mediocre. It was clean and there was no mould but it was in desperate need of refurbishment. The bedroom, sitting room and hall , were beautiful but were really let down by the bathroom, again no separate shower or double ended bath. We had to wait 30 mins for our luggage to be transferred and then they did not bring down our opened champagne. We called down for this to be brought to our room, this took another 45 mins and we expected a new bottle but no they brought the old bottle! This all took 2 hours from check in and was a real waste of time. Our view is they keep this room for their ad hoc guests who will be so pleased with an upgrade that they won't complain!

The dress code is a pain, no jeans at breakfast or around the hotel, jacket and tie at dinner but that is part of their brand and offering as a result we cannot really complain about their proposition, however there were some dreadful outfits coming in for afternoon tea and dinner!

Breakfast is served in a beautiful room but is underwhelming - the toast was like cardboard and the scramble egg inedible.
We spent our wedding night here and subsequent anniversaries but this will be our last visit until they refurbish this establishment

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
#34 Family Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 134 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 23 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Saturdays and from 1st June 2014 on Fridays also. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Venere, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.