We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz London to your Saves list
The Ritz London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #29 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

What a wonderful place, luxury at its best. We were made to feel very special as the staff were very attentive. The rooms were a good size and very comfortable, and the bathroom was luxurious. We had afternoon tea which was just a delight, high tea at its best. The scones were light as a feather, the best I have ever tasted. We asked for more and we were given 2 extra each. One tip I can give is if you do not like strawberry jam just ask the waiter and they will bring you some different flavours. We will definitely come back for afternoon tea, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the top floor as you get a great view of London.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you have passed on your recommendation regarding the jam!! Within reason, many alternatives to what is normally on offer at The Ritz are available on request. It is always worth asking! I hope you will enjoy your next visit just as much as this past one. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    232
    80
    43
    32
See reviews for
322
729
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Maybe I'd set my expectations too high, I've wanted to stay here for as long as I can remember. So in retrospect I'm not sure what I was expecting because obviously the bedrooms can't have the 'wow' factor of the public areas. So yes it was very nice, felt luxurious but not overly so. We had been upgraded which was very good of them so not sure what the standard rooms are like because this was just a 'very nice room'. The view was appalling but someone has to look over the back so I accept that. Lovely bathroom in keeping with the age and ambience of the hotel.
When I checked in they asked what time we would like the turndown service in the evenings, that was a nice touch. Why then did the second night they completely ignore my "after 8pm so we will have gone out" and turn up at 6pm? We had just got in and it wasn't convenient at that time. She didn't offer to come back later.
I had booked a twin room for two people, I arrived first and went out leaving the key at reception. I texted my companion to tell her the room number in case she arrived before I returned. She did but was refused access to the room on the grounds that I hadn't left instructions to give the key to any one else. Yet they knew I'd booked for two people and she knew the room number we had been assigned. They were neither apologetic nor proactive (they had my mobile number, they could had called and asked me). They didn't try to make my friend comfortable, offer her a drink or even show her to a seat to wait. I thought part of the reason one pays over £300pn room only, is for the service!
The final niggle was that there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room. Ive stayed in 6 star hotels and 0 star hotels and they always have this. What can be the reason behind this? Surely not because the Ritz needs the £6 per cup (plus £5 room service charge) that it costs through room service. I'd be interested to know why it's not provided if the manager reads this.
In summary I think that if you stay here you are paying for position and reputation and that's the reason the price is high.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
What a shame! I am so sorry that your stay was less than perfect and I am really rather disappointed for you. It never gives me any pleasure to learn that a guest has left less than delighted with the service they receive at The Ritz and it is a pity that you did not vocalise your concerns during your stay, as the points you raise could have been addressed at the time. I would very much like to hear from you should you come back to the hotel, so that I can make some special arrangements for you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Such lovely surroundings. The sandwich selection was good, the sandwiches were fresh and the service was faultless! An absolutely delightful afternoon. If you want to try something different, just be sure to avoid Sanderson "Mad Hatters Tea Party".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband booked the Ritz for my sister and I so we could celebrate her Birthday in style ...
The welcoming was fantastic, we felt special and at ease. Being French, a French spoken gentleman stepped in straight away for the check in.The building is beautiful, the rooms spacious and distinctively decorated with class and elegance. We were a bit disappointed by the bathroom size in comparison with the vast bedroom. A detail.
After we were showed our room, the room service brought us a beautiful table with birthday cake, fresh fruits and Champagne... It was fabulous! We used the room service at dinner time . The food and the service was irreproachable. We both slept like babies in our extremely comfortable beds.
Breakfast was delightful. The restaurant was to us the soul of the establishment: sophisticated, calm, inviting, delicate, elegant.. Everything was perfect to our eyes. The slight disappointment came in the afternoon when we had the famous afternoon tea. The Palm Court is a gorgeous room. However we didn't enjoy being crammed in what was more like a noisy hens house than an elegant environment. The place is so full that you can't barely enjoy the piano or have a conversation without rising your voice. The cakes are Devine, the service is good and courteous.
The sandwiches have nothing exceptional or different. The tea menu is quite impressive.
To my opinion, the Ritz experience is fantastic. I wouldn't recommend the afternoon tea as this doesn't reflect the true soul of the place .

Room Tip: Book over the phone , you ll have the best advice and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and had so many positive moments to relay in your feedback. It is clear that Palm Court was not the most treasured memory of your stay so you might wish to try lunch in the Restaurant should you return in the future. Our three course 'du jour' lunch represents amazing value at £49.00 per person. Thank you in the meantime for taking the time to describe your stay at The Ritz London. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had sunday lunch and it was very good. The service was superlative, the food was excellent and the dining room is very elegant.
Just be prepared for the drinks prices. A gin and tonic in the Rivoli Bar was £19 and most of the wines are priced between £50 and £100 for a bottle, although you can have a 175ml glass of house wine for £15.
We really enjoyed it but I think it is overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was lucky enough to go to The Ritz for my birthday dinner. I went with my boyfriend and we both had the 3 courses for £49 offer. The wine is not cheap, the cheapest bottle being £55 but as it was a special occasion this did not matter to us. From the second we arrived everything was flawless. The inside is so grand and opulent it really takes your breath away. The dining room makes you feel like you could be on board The Titanic. The food was delicious and of a remarkable high quality (that you would expect), we also had 2 extra 'courses' amuse-bouche and petite-fours. Not a single complaint regarding the food, experience or the service. I am really looking forward to my return visit! It was a really special experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have been lucky enough to have stayed at this lovely hotel twice in the last couple of months. Normally staying in the Belgravia area we switched to Piccadilly and the Ritz because we weren't quite satisfied with where we were staying… We thought we'd give the Ritz a try as it was comparative in exclusivtivity and price etc., and how very lovely we found it. In the past our favourite hotel in the world was The Oriental in Bangkok, we loved that for all the reasons it consistently won the best hotel in the world, our stay at the Ritz was absolutely reminiscent of those fabulous bygone days… with it's devine Romantic French decoration throughout, it's amazing staff who somehow remembered your name every time they saw you, and who served you above and beyond the call of duty. As we walked the lovely aisles that led us through the different areas and into the most beautiful dining room where we had the most amazing food, wines and service. we couldn't help but fall in love with this hotel, and one doesn't actually care what the view is out of the windows, although our second room looked out over London's Green Park. It's location is perfect too for good shopping, the National Gallery, etc., and just a short taxi ride to almost anywhere in central London. We just loved this hotel and our recent stays so much that we have already booked for us, and our friends, to celebrate this New Years eve at The Ritz, how very lovely, I can't wait!

Room Tip: We had rooms at the front on the street, and the Green Park side of the hotel and found them all lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for this very gracious review, it is most heartening to read of your pleasure with what we offer here at The Ritz. I am obviously delighted that you have booked in for New Year and I can guarantee that you will not be disappointed. We have already started planning the Christmas decorations and they promise to be a sight for sore eyes! I hope you will have an amazing time when it comes around. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
#34 Family Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 134 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 23 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Saturdays and from 1st June 2014 on Fridays also. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Venere, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.