We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea at the Ritz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz London to your Saves list
The Ritz London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #28 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tea at the Ritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and it was a wonderful experience.

Not sure where to start as it was just all very very good. The stay came about by booking a West End show and needing somewhere to stay. As we had been given a gift of afternoon tea at the ritz it just seemed logical to book a room as well. Yes maybe a bit more than some hotels but it is certainly worth it. There is nothing these guys will stop at to make your stay the most memorable experience. Fantastic breakfast - will try the restaurant next time - as there WILL BE a next time.

After reading some of the poor reviews on the teas I wondered just what might we think ourselves. However I can find no complaint, fresh delicious food. Attentive, polite staff more than willing to abide to your every whim. Food fantastic - and it just keeps coming. One tip is don't eat beforehand and give yourself time to digest afterwards - it' a cream fest - and so wonderfully indulgent.

Go on treat yourself :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    232
    80
    43
    32
See reviews for
325
733
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our party of 4 went to The Ritz for Afternoon Tea on Sunday 3rd November 2013. This was for my Mother's 80th Birthday, I just cannot find fault! From the moment we arrived in our Taxi a porter opened our Taxi door and we were greeted and shown to a table in the waiting area. We were served with coffee and cinnamon shortbread fingers. When it came to our time for tea, doors were opened for us and we were then shown to our table. The whole event was outstanding, a glass of very nice Champagne each, then our choice of tea, plenty of sandwiches, scones then cakes. When the waiter brought my Mother's Birthday cake the Harpist played "Happy Birthday" and everyone applauded! This really made her day! Everything was superb. We never felt we didn't belong there. Nothing was too much trouble. We were treated as equal to anyone staying at the Hotel. Thanks to ALL THE STAFF at The Ritz!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

From when we sat down, through platefuls of scrummy finger sandwiches, onto warm scones with jam and clotted cream, then pieces of cake and ending up with pastries; all alongside pots of hot tea!! We had a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

had a fab time at the ritz london for the afternoon on my birthday last 31 of october 2013. was very pleased with the choices of sandwiches and cakes. staff was very pleasant and serviced can't really fault. i would definitely come back there again..So lucky that my best friend organised it for me and it made my day so extra special..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at The Ritz for one night after we had dinner on the Orient Express. It was beyond fabulous. The décor was superb and very opulent. The staff were absolutely charming and attentive. Our room was vast and very luxurious with the biggest bed I have ever slept in. The in house video says it is the best hotel in the world and I would not disagree. The underground casino was beyond belief with its fabulous chandeliers and extravagant furniture. I couldn't find anything to complain about and I tried. All in all a wonderful experience. What a treat.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room overlooking Piccadilly. But I'm sure all the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
It appears we ticked all of the boxes for you, and I couldn't be happier with your appraisal. Thank you for sharing your experience of The Ritz. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like the royal family. They were there for us but they respected our privacy. The rooms are beautiful and you feel wonderful the moment you walk thru the door. After tea, the mist cleared and the sun came out. We walked thru the park and headed to Buckingham Palace. No crowd so we walked around and enjoyed our stroll. We would have loved to stay longer but were on our way back home early the next morning. We had a lovely overnight at the Ritz.

Room Tip: Our room had a view down a London Street and gave us that London feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
It is most pleasing that you chose The Ritz for your stay in London, and that even the mist made an appearance for you to complete the stereotype. I cannot promise mist every time, but a Ritz welcome and service standards will always be on the menu. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope you will visit again. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in October 2013, in conjunction with a theatre. As many others have mentioned, the hotel is very well placed and very elegant with excellent staff and facilities. However, there are a few issues that we experienced that deserve mentioning. First we were welcomed to the hotel in the lobby and were escorted to our room, except that our "guide" got lost and couldn't find our room! She had to ask someone and after another trip to the lobby and up a lift we managed to get to the room. We were asked for our credit card by the "guide" which she wrote down on a notebook. I think this procedure is open to fraud as anyone having a written note of credit card details can do anything when they have the card details (this happened to us in Cypress when our card details were written down instead of using a credit card machine).

The room was excellent in all regards except that there were bits on the floor and in the bathroom which indicated that it wasn't hoovered before we checked in, or they just did a bad job of it. There was some construction going on outside our side of the hotel which was irritating and we complained about it. Got an apology and an offer of some earplugs. It would have been nice to have been told beforehand that some work was going on. Also, in the morning we were awakened by the shower running in the room adjacent to us which frankly was quite loud. And finally, the tiles in front of the toilet were stained yellow, which was a little disconcerting, and when we mentioned it we were told that there were no stains! White marble or marble effect tiles that looked like they had been stained over a period of time.

We had the pre dinner menu at the hotel restaurant which was quite good, but a little pricey at £72.00 for 2 including a carafe of wine.

All in all a lovely place and we would return, but for the RITZ- a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Facing the Thames is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for this review, however may I politely suggest that you might have confused us - The Ritz - with another hotel in London. I suspect this is the case as we do not have a menu at the price you state, nor do we have rooms facing the Thames. Likewise the description of a 'guide' requesting your credit card details is definitely not one of our procedures. Should you wish to experience the 'real' Ritz, kindly contact my office and I will make the arrangements for you; execoffice@theritzlondon.com SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
#55 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 134 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 23 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Saturdays and from 1st June 2014 on Fridays also. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.