We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz London to your Saves list
The Ritz London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Offers & Announcements
A Ritz Romance
Ranked #31 of 1,063 Hotels in London
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Every fawning review is completely accurate. Short, plain and simple: this is an exceptional hotel on each and every front that one can rate a hotel. Everything is flawless. Service, concierge, decor, ambiance, quality, experience, offerings - top notch. In looking to find a flaw, one morning the waiter seemed oddly fixated on the next table and provided us with very little attention. I had to sharply re request orange juice and coffee to snap him out of being entirely hypnotized by the next table. I wish this had not been the case because otherwise it would have been a totally unblemished experience. Having said that, so much was extraordinary that I can overlook one or two not great times in the dining room. Also, as a Leaders Club member, this was my best overall experience. The special membership arrival welcome, gifts and perks were amazing and there was absolutely no game play with the room upgrade etc. and, finally access to The Ritz Club was an additional perk and a fun way to spend a few hours. It's a great space. I recommend a tour of the entire hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    220
    77
    39
    32
See reviews for
298
686
61
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this iconic, landmark hotel in July 2013. Originally planned for Afternoon Tea, decided to stay the night. On checking in, we were asked a few questions about the reasons for our stay, which resulted in a double upgrade of our room, which reflected the rest of our experience throughout our stay. Afternoon Tea was a sumptuous affair, taken in The Palm Court, a gorgeous room which reflected the overall quality of the rest of the hotel. Tea was, as you would expect, superb and the fresh sandwiches, cakes and scones were top quality. The staff were attentive without being overly so, and all accompanied by a superb resident pianist. Highly recommended experience which we will definitely repeat in the future. Our room for the night was located on the first floor, was more a suite and was beautiful, including a good size, large bathroom with bath and separate shower, all with elegant furnishings and real gold leaf decor. I called for an iron and ironing board and within 2 minutes a member of staff had brought them to me! The bed was most comfortable, resulting in one of the best sleeps my wife has had in a long time. Breakfast the following morning in The Ritz Restaurant was an equally beautiful affair, located in one of the finest rooms I have ever eaten in. All the food was excellent although, as avid coffee drinkers, we felt the coffee could have been better; more our taste than anything particularly wrong, was just a bit weak. Overall experience was one of being completely indulged, an unforgettable experience which we look forward to repeating in the future. A particular mention to the gentleman on reception when we checked in. He arranged the room upgrade and settled us in with a pot of tea while we waited for the change of room. All smiles and clearly enjoyed his work, which is the feeling we got about all the staff. Do stay here at least once in your life!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Green Park are quiet. Do emphasise the reason for your stay if it is a special occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

stayed here last month.was rather lovely with excellent service!Most of London's better hotels offer afternoon tea these days, but none of them can come anywhere near what's on offer at The Ritz.Green Park tube is just a few metres so transport is easy!always a cab nearby so quite good!would visit again..thx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The lunch was superb as was the complimentary dishes. Staff were attentative. If you can afford to go for a special treat it is well worth it.Good choice of wines and champagne.Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had afternoon tea at the Ritz on Tuesday 9th July fantastic surroundings and the best sarnies and cakes ever, we even had sherry trifle, my favourite, The service was exemplary and well worth the £45 each. We had not booked a cake for our daughters Birthday but as we were giving her her final present the waiter took note and asked the pianist to play Happy Birthday, then brought over a cake for us free of charge, it tasted even better for that. Its a must for any occassion, you have to dress though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Most of London's better hotels offer afternoon tea these days, but none of them can come anywhere near what's on offer at The Ritz. In my view, this has to be London's ultimate afternoon tea location. We were there for a family celebration, and the luxurious setting, extremely attentive service, pleasant piano music and quite delicious food and tea made our event feel very special indeed. Gents require a jacket and tie, so be prepared, but this requirement just helps add to the sense of occasion. We were booked in at 19:30, so this doesn't have to be just an afternoon event - we chose to treat it as our evening meal and certainly didn't feel that we needed anything more. It is possible to park for free in some of the nearby streets after 18:30, but as Green Park tube is just a few metres away public transport is probably the easiest option. Take note, you need to book well in advance and it's not cheap, but it's certainly not ridiculously over-priced either. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friend & I dined here for her Birthday
Dinner was booked for late evening. I would absolutely recommend The Ritz - go and enjoy the food and experience.
Honestly, I cannot fault it.
The inside of the Hotel and Restaurant is beautiful, Staff lovely & attentive without being in your face, food to die for - melts in your mouth.
Piano player played whilst everyone dined (back ground music) - he then played happy birthday, while staff brought a cake with candle to the table.
(Although, I did say when booking some time ago it was for a birthday - I did not order anything) quite frankly I forgotten I had even mentioned it, therefore I too was surprised - what a lovely touch by them.
I would return in a heart beat.
Not over expensive - worth every penny.
Thank you The Ritz for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#22 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
#32 Family Hotel in London
#73 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 134 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 23 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Saturdays and from 1st June 2014 on Fridays also. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, LHW, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.