We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect end to our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz London to your Saves list
The Ritz London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #27 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The perfect end to our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights following 7 nights in Cuba, before flying home. From the minute we walked in (looking bedraggled and exhausted following an overnight flight) to the minute we left, we had the most amazing time. As honeymooners we had our room upgraded and they were very kind to allow us an early check in (we requested in advance).

Our room was gorgeous, and our bed very very comfortable. My husband and I like modern hotels (but had to stay at The Ritz once) but we loved the decor. The best thing about this hotel is the touches - the towels, the toiletries (probably my favourite shower gel ever!), the turn down services - and the general hotel service. Anything you want or need can and will be done.

We went for dinner in the main restaurant and the food and service were perfect. The only problem we had was we booked the three course dinner du jour when we booked the room (£50 per person) but were presented with the main menu (we didn't know that at the time) so dinner was more expensive than we had assumed - although this was not a problem it would have been good to have been told. We ended up in the Tivoli bar every evening for cocktails. This bar has some of the BEST cocktails I've had (and those nibbles are amazing), just be prepared to spend £20 a cocktail (can't deny they were worth it)!

On the last morning I did not want to leave - it was the best hotel stay I'd had. We will definitely be returning and I cannot wait!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    232
    80
    43
    32
See reviews for
326
736
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Me and my partner fancied a romantic week end in London as we had had tickets to Robbie Williams at Wembley we took the opportunity to stay in the glitzy ritz
We arrived on Sat 29 June and checked in with ease and was shown to our beautiful room by a very observant and cheerful lady and was left in peace after a quick but informative 2 minute walk around the room and was explained if we wanted afternoon tea she has reservations for residents which normally would be a 3 month wait so I asked for 3 pm on the Monday by the time we left the room for a trip to the bar we had a letter of confirmation pushed under the door.
The room is hard to fault except our shower attachment on the bath didn't work but I couldn't really bothered to complain as we didn't want to use it and I'm sure the maintenance will sort this soon.
The good and the bad now !!!!!!

The good is ,,,,, all the staff we spoke to are excellent and lovely people and the hotel decor is outstanding and so clean no White glove needed here !!! Rooms are gorgeous and doormen so friendly and not snooty at all.

The bad but not so bad,,,,

At dinner I had a beer as was thirsty my partner was not drinking I then asked for a glass of merlot as my beef turned up but that never arrived,,, at dinner we ordered the beef for two but we were not asked how we wanted it cooked,,, at breakfast we asked for just brown toast but received a plate of mixed toast,, the breakfast is really expensive I mean £40 for eggs benedict yes a top hotel but come £40 for eggs benedict is excessive .

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
577 helpful votes 577 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my 9th stay and it was good but I have had better stays. I have not been for more than a year and there is a little bit of tiredness in the property. The staff are fantastic and they really do go out of there way to make you comfortable. The lobby bar is great and the location is sensational. It is priced at the top of the market.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We took our two children here ages 5 & 8 for a few reasons first we love London, but also to expose them to a quality level of English elegance. This hotel is not the fanciest Ritz, doesn't have state of the art fitness center or a massive lobby bar. This hotel has true beauty in every sence of the word. The staff is extremely attentive, the decor is beautiful,the style is nostalgic. This hotel will allow an American to be transformed to a time and style we simply never gt exposed to. As with any 100 year plus old hotel there are quirks but that only adds to the beauty of this hotel. Not only did my wife and myself feel this way but our children did too. It's a statement for two young children to choose this hotel over ther Ritz Kapalua!

Room Tip: Stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

went here for our anniversary and it was amazing. from the moment we arrived it is so oppullent and awe inspiring. the food is outstanding, and the service is very good but not over the top, which is nice. my only critique is we ordered steak blue....it came med/rare....it still was an amazing piece of meat and was very tender, but don't ask if you have no intention of cooking it how the customer wants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place has a special feel about it. They make you feel very special. the rooms very nice and of course the high tea. Good. It's a experience you should take once . And enjoy. I have had better high tea's but it not bad. The bar has lovely cocktails. Only down fall we had was a bag of items was stollen from the luggage room. Which we only found out at the airport. So that put a damper on things. Otherwise it was lovely. Also too subscribe to the newsletter is very interesting. They reallly look after their g

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful present for a special occasion. Made to feel like treasured guests from the moment we arrived till the last minute of our stay. Styed in a superior King room, excellent bed, bathroom almost as large as the bedroom.
Then a show and cocktails back at The Ritz, a wonderful relaxing evening and breakfast the following morning. Continental breakfast which I had was excellent and a large variety of choice, My partner had the English breakfast, which he was not as impressed with. I think one rasher of bacon, one sausage, plus a tomato and mushroom for the main was somewhat overpriced, True he could have had the toast and continental breakfast but at nearly £40 each was expensive.
Afternoon tea, was much better value, an occasion just having the occasion. Tea, cakes, and sandwiches were a good selection and fresh.

We loved it from beginning to end but don't think we would return. That may be us rather than the place, as I'm not used to someone pulling out my chair for me, pushing it back in for me or placing a napkin on my knee several times. Sounds petty but for me this part grated a little.

Room Tip: We had a Superior King Size, excellent bathroom, on the third floor facing the main street, no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
A slightly mixed bag there, but I fully take on board your comments. The Ritz will still be here should you decide to come back after all. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
#34 Family Hotel in London
#55 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 134 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 23 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Saturdays and from 1st June 2014 on Fridays also. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.