We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the Ritz upgrades...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz London to your Saves list
The Ritz London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #27 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Even the Ritz upgrades...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband surprised me on our wedding anniversary, with a night at the Ritz in London. I was of course expecting to be delighted with our stay, which I was, but I was even more surprised when Maria at reception took us up to our room and we discovered that they had upgraded us. We had the most divine rooms overlooking St James' Park, on the first floor of the hotel and were absolutely touched and delighted that even somewhere like the Ritz, which surely doesn't need to curry favour with anyone, thought to surprise us like this.

Our stay was a treat from start to finish and I would totally encourage anyone reading this and thinking of doing the same on their anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Although we cannot always guarantee an upgrade, when we are notified of a special occasion and there is availability, it is as much our pleasure to deliver the surprise, as I am sure it is to be on the receiving end of it. I am delighted to learn that we were able to thrill you in this way and that your stay was a success. Until the next time. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    232
    80
    43
    32
See reviews for
326
737
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Everything about our stay at The Ritz, London was fantastic. The restaurant is a delight and our waiter called Enzo from Naples was extremely professional.

All the staff are very friendly and not at all snobbish.

Room Tip: Get the best you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I often repeat how the The Ritz is its staff, and I thank you sincerely for commenting on how friendly they are. I completely agree! I hope we will see you again when the occasion calls for it. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For £47 (and that's without champagne), afternoon tea at the Ritz doesn't come cheap, and in any other venues you might come away feeling a bit short-changed. But the Ritz experience is absolutely worth every penny! The setting is incredibly lavish, and the waiters were all extremely attentive, meaning that it feels like a very special experience from beginning to end. The food was all delicious, and you'll be provided with as much of everything (sandwiches, cakes, scones, tea, more cakes) as you could ever want to eat - so try not to get too over-excited by how good it is at the start, you've got an hour and a half so it's worth pacing yourself a bit!

All in all, the perfect venue for a special treat, and something that you definitely won't forget in a hurry!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

An amazing experience that should really be a must if in London. The decor is beautiful and the experience was as you would expect at The Ritz; polite professional staff, lovely ambiance and everything immaculate. The presentation of the tea was beautiful. My only criticism as a bit of a foodie is that the cakes and scones were not as incredible as expected. There is no faulting service and presentation though and although this is not a cheap experience it is worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a stay in one of the worlds most famous hotels and we weren't disappointed. If you stay here you know the dress codes and the expense so it annoys more when people complain about it, yes is was expensive and yes you have to abide by dress codes but that's the whole point of staying here surely? We had a fabulous check in, they even rang housekeeping for them to check our room before we were allowed to go up. Whilst we waited we went for a drink in the bar, on your way in you do notice the security that just makes me feel secure, don't see why people get worked up about this! The rivoli bar is beautiful, the service was just as you would expect, we also had a pre dinner drink in here as well, the cocktails are amazing. Our room was very comfortable, beautiful and plush. We had afternoon tea, yes you need a tie guys, they do 400 a day! It was beautiful and so was the setting, for me it was a little impersonal but a good experience. At dinner we had the tasting menu with wine, worth every penny. The food and sommelier were excellent so were the staff, again a beautiful room. We stayed at the start of our honeymoon so we went with the intention of not looking at prices and we fully enjoyed the whole experience, its a pity we couldn't stay there every time we went to London as you would need deep pockets, I would if I could though everyone there is exceptional at their job. What an experience. Thank you for a beautiful start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Firstly, congratulations! I hope you and your beloved will enjoy the rest of your lives together. You have given us lovely feedback and I can tell from your tone, that you enjoyed every moment of your stay and appreciated the efforts of the team looking after you. I very much hope you will re-visit the memory of your honeymoon with a visit to The Ritz. Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It's one of those boxes that appears on many a Life's To Do List -' Afternoon Tea at The Ritz'. And so it should be. It really is an excellent experience. Walking in through those revolving doors you are immediately struck by an impression of occasion, a glimpse into a different world, a fairy-tale parallel universe.
The architecture and décor is breath-taking, the opulence of it all borders on the bizarre, but that's why you are there in the first place right? The staff are immaculately presented and professionally courteous, polite and always seem happy to take your photo.
The only reservation we could get was the last sitting at 7.30 which I first thought was a little too late, but actually it made perfect sense as it freed up the rest of the day for other things and we were able to make a very pleasant, unhurried evening of it. The 'Tea' itself was very good, it's difficult not to scoff the finger sandwiches at breakneck speed if you're feeling a bit peckish, but the scones will slow you down and the trifle was brilliant. Surprisingly you feel rather full quite quickly.
It's all about absorbing the ambience, so drink it in along with your tea and tick that box.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Event Planner
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Every few years I go back and re-read Ms. Mitford's hilarious books that so beautifully describe life in England between the wars. The Ritz was very much a part of aristocratic life at the time and so, when we planned our trip to London this spring, I checked to see if a stay at this legendary hotel was possible for us. I found a fabulous rate online and plans were made that did not disappoint.
If you are a lover of traditional luxury and extraordinary service, give this old-world hotel a chance. The front desk upgraded us to a lovely room (with fireplace, small sitting area and beautiful bathroom), concierge got us fabulous seats at two terrific productions, we had some fun times at the Rivoli Bar and each time we walked into the hotel lobby one of the staff members greeted us by name.
The location is fantastic - just across Green Park from Buckingham Palace and steps away from every luxury named store in the world. And, because of a strictly enforced dress code, we did not have to share our vacation with people attired for a hike in Idaho rather than a visit to London.
We savored our time here and hope we have the good fortune to return.

Room Tip: There are some tiny rooms in the hotel and I suspect our great rate offered by online hotel service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
You have ticked all the boxes that I could possibly wish! The location, the service, our well connected Concierge and housekeeping. Thank you for sharing the obvious pleasure you enjoyed with your stay, and it goes without saying that I hope to see you at The Ritz on anothe occasion. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
#34 Family Hotel in London
#55 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 134 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 23 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Saturdays and from 1st June 2014 on Fridays also. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.