We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz London

Save Saved
You added The Ritz London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #29 of 1,073 hotels in London
Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A treat for afternoon tea lovers. The sanwiches melted in the mouth and when they were eaten they were replaced to such an extent that I didn't require any more food for the rest of the day! Superb scones, and very nice pastries completed the cakestand. The tea was of the finest quality, and the service outstanding. The only downside is that men have to wear a jacket and tie, though you would look out of place if you didn't.

The waiters could snoot for England, and the place is just like what you would imagine The Ritz would be. Everyone should do this at least once in their life, though it is the most expensive afternoon tea I have ever had, by a long way.

The only negative was some jobsworth at the door telling me I couldn't take a measly photo of my wife in the foyer for some unknown reason. I wasn't blocking anything and there didn't appear to be any logical reason why he should do this, except I suspect 'Rules are Rules'. Everyone else was taking pictures of everything that moved, and everything that didn't move as well.

A great day out, nevertheless.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,035
    205
    73
    37
    31
See reviews for
282
629
59
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The most wonderful experience place ever!!! Went there with friends service 5 stars, cocktails and ambiance five stars... Beautiful, elegant,chic Hotel... In my next visit to London for sure I'll be there.
Thank you for keeping the elements of the hospitality industry!!! BIG TKANKS !!!

Room Tip: I did not stay at this hotel however I had the oportunity to check around and it is a wonderful hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury st edmunds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Boy oh Boy ! What a hotel,top class and lavish style at its finest.Based in the centre of London in Piccadilly it just bursts with class.The rooms are out of this world and the food,Well ! It is the best.The staff arme warm and kind and go out it tree way to help .This is not a place to be missed when in London.Dont delay book today.

Room Tip: In the centre of London and perfect for the theatres.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you, I might have written that summary myself! I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz on another occasion. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had booked afternoon tea as a surprise christmas treat for myself, husband and three teenage daughters. Our table was for the 1.30 sitting and we arrived with about 10 minutes to spare which enabled us to have a look around and take some photographs before sitting down. I have been a couple of times before with girlfriends and wanted to share this wonderful experience with my girls. It didnt disappoint. We were shown to our table by a chap who actually seemed to glide across the room! We decided to try various teas as we are big tea drinkers at home and they were all wonderful. Two three tier cake stands were brought to the table with various delicious fingers of gorgeous sandwiches. Then two three tier cake stands full of beautiful pastries and another two of warm fruit and plain scones with pots of jams and clotted cream! Definately a day to forget about the diet! We could not eat all. My hubby is not a cake person but even he tried some and agreed they were delicious. The surroundings are magnificent and opulent. One elelgant chap came over (I think he was the head waiter), with more pastries on a trolley which we didnt try but he was friendly and chatted to us for a bit and answered some of our questions about the hotel and gave us some interesting facts about it too. It is a wonderful experience for a special treat. There was a family next to us and they brought out a birthday cake for the mum and played happy birthday on the grand piano and everyone clapped. I have done afternoon tea at a few of the top hotels in London and in my opinion The Ritz is the best. It was a really lovely way to spend an afternoon in London in beautiful, elegant surroundings. Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be taken to high tea at the Ritz this afternoon. The food, tea and service was simply amazing. I love that they refill anything off your tiered platter and also bring around extra sweets - perfect for my sweet-toothed sister and I!

I was a bit daunted to start because I wasn't sure my sleeping baby would be allowed to stay in his buggy but we were given a table that could fit the pram right beside us. Even when he woke up, the staff got him a high chair, heated his baby food in the kitchen for me AND gave him a complimentary Ritz teddy bear!

I really loved the whole experience- even the powder room was gorgeous and a nice place to breast feed. If only I could go every week!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We where lucky enough to stay here for a night while in London, having never stay anywhere quite like the Ritz I didn’t know what to expect. I was slightly disappointed with the room, it feels old and tiered and I understand that some people would like the traditional British hotel but I like a little bit of luxury as well. I get the impression they can charge what they like because of the name and what you pay for is not reflected in the room. You can’t fault the staff or the breakfast which is superb and they will cook anything you can think off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to learn that the style of the hotel is not to your taste, however I completely appreciate that it is not for everyone. I am nonetheless heartened to note that you appreciated the service, which is what I hope The Ritz excels at. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberaeron, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Afternoon tea at The Ritz was a delightful experience,service was as expected , excellent .The whole package was a treat to be enjoyed by all ages from my 18 year old daughted to my parents in their 70s .Well worth a trip out and would recommend it to anyone! thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#25 Family Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
#37 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 134 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 23 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Saturdays and from 1st June 2014 on Fridays also. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.