We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location shame about everything else.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Hyde Park to your Saves list
Thistle Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90-92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NR, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 1,066 Hotels in London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location shame about everything else.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here towards the end of september with my wife as part of her birthday treat, we were informed that the outside was being worked on which we can understand but believe that they should have considered doing the bedrooms first especially when this is where they make their money very tired looking and no sign of being painted recently.

Ate in the restaurant on the first night only one girl left to do everything as it was quite supervisor disappeared. Breakfast the first morning was a bit of work it out for yourself as no one explained. Condiments were more in keeping with a cafe than a London hotel, butter dish had signs of being used previously to serve beans in.

Overall junior staff very helpful and polite senior staff/management seemed to be not interested in guests. I say this as someone who works in the industry and it saddens me when it comes across that there is no care to attention to detail.

This is a shame when it has such a great location will I stay in another thistle property probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    216
    59
    28
    18
See reviews for
93
204
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

London is rife with hotels touting a location in their name, which in reality are several dreary blocks away from the advertised location. This is not one of them, finally! I've often stayed in the Lancaster Gate area of London, due to its location both near Paddington and Hyde or Kensington Park. Being near this grand park gave children a place and space to run off the long flight and me a good, calm breath of fresh air mid-business trip. But there are so many disappointing hotels in the area.

Thistle Hyde Park is happily not one of them. It's a grand old hotel with high ceilings and enough ornament to keep Old World lovers happy, while offering updated and modern amenities. I was given a room for a single for a night -- the bed was a double and comfortable, the room immaculate and the dear old plumbing quite lovely. They have a warning that it may take a while for the hot water to get to the room owing to age, but indeed once it arrives it's a tub full and more. Value for money, superb. Location, great, being not only facing Hyde Park but a few steps away from Queensway Road, where one can wade through the multicultural offerings that only London offers. It's a lovely walk to Paddington and on the tube to get anywhere else. That is, unless you prefer to walk through the park to get where you wanted to go, as we did. Just lovely! Will return again! Staff trained to cater to bewildered tourists with great patience, I noticed.

A word on the scaffolding -- they're refinishing the lovely exterior and its grand balconies. It will soon be down; part of keeping an old hotel looking grand.

Room Tip: rooms facing the park are really lovely but a bit of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were staying in London for 4 nights celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. Looking at the pictures on line we decided a standard double would e more than adequate however on arrival I was gutted! The bed was so small, the room was also really pokey and very hot. We went to see reception as I was so unhappy and the room was far too hot. The service we received was outstanding from this point forward until we checked out = every single member of staff we encountered was so helpful, polite, friendly etc.
We saw the duty manager Sam and he upgraded our room. The room was just perfect, the bathroom needed to be updated as it is a little tired but the exterior is being worked on currently.
The breakfasts were really good and the staff were exceptionally helpful.
Location was great too 2 tube stations very close but with a bus stop just outside the hotel too. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: difficult as scaffolding was all around the hotel we were at the back so views werent great but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Usually stay at The Cumberland but due to the reviews on this site thought we would have a change.
4 Star but no door staff on arrival or help with luggage if required, really? Maybe if we had asked?
Booked two twin rooms.......... visited both, one was passable the other very tired and the bathroom needed some TLC. Room were clean but dated and somewhat stuffy. Advised not to open windows in the daytime due to external works being carried out................................
Hotel presently covered externally with scaffolding and blue netting which is an eyesore and seems to of been up for ages! We checked in on a Friday late lunchtime and no work was evident. Saying that I regularly go past and cant remember the last time I saw much activity?
Warm evening when we got back after midnight (advised to not leave windows open due to scaffolding) and air-con was completely useless, very noisy and simply had no grunt......looking at the vent grill within the room this hasn't seen a service or clean down in many a year, Due to this had a very uncomfortable nights sleep and checked out very early in the morning just to get some fresh air, had wanted a lie in as a weekend but room was much to warm. Looking back at it, like most of the hotel this place needs a real overhaul, everything mechanical from the air-con to the lift is slow and dated.
Not as convenient to Oxford Street as other hotels, good 25 minute walk to Marble Arch and with no porters or door staff you are left to your own devices to hail a taxi in the street. We were glad it wasn't raining.
Now a real gripe............booked room through lastminute,com, they said you need to get invoice and vat receipt directly from the hotel, hotel reception say you have to get it from lastminute!!!!! I still cant discover whose in the right all I know is I have no receipt or vat invoice?
If you pay more than £150 for a room here you've overspent!
Can't comment on breakfast as had checked out before service started.
Back to The Cumberland for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The friendliest staff I have ever encountered in a beautiful, small Victorian hotel. My thanks to Annmarie, Katrina and The wonderful operations manager. Rooms and breakfast are super. I loved having Hyde Park just across the road. I will never book another hotel in London again.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a junior suite or executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Three friends and I. were going on a cruise to the Baltic aboard the Royal Caribbean. We are all from the Pacific Northwest. After a long flight, we wanted to spend a few days in London before going on the cruise. Our travel agent found us a great hotel in London call the Thistle Hyde Park. As we live in a lush, green area, she know that we would not feel comfortable without the beautiful trees around us. Here we are in the middle of London with beautiful trees all around us. Transportation to downtown was close and convenient, food at the hotel was great, rooms were clean and the pricing for us was comparable to other lesser attractive venues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed there this September
Great Value for Money in the center of London - Breakfast included
Room was great and the Staff were very Friendly - Room service was really efficient
Breakfast - The best Hotel breakfast i have had in London

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90-92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in London
#251 Business Hotel in London
#282 Romantic Hotel in London
#354 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member’s club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London, England
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.