We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Thistle Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90-92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NR, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 1,075 hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel was closed due to power failure but were swiftly moved down the road with a free upgrade couldn't of been handled any better or been done any smoother the staff were a credit to the hotel will hopefully get a chance to visit this hotel next year as it looked very nice

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review and your kind words on how you felt we dealt well with what proved to be a very challenging situation, caused by external road works outside of the control of our hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our sister hotel, Thistle Kensington Gardens, located just 300 yards away. Hopefully in the not too distant future we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Thistle Hyde Park under better circumstances.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    188
    54
    28
    18
See reviews for
85
174
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A Very nice hotel. The room was not huge but it was very nicely decorated and very cosy and homely. Great location for whatever you decide to do. We ended up using the buses more than the tube as the services were very good and frequent. We didn't take the breakfast as we found much better value alternatives in small cafes nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay - I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the location and services offered at Thistle Hyde Park. I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in early September. It is ideally located, right across the road from Hyde Park and in between Notting Hill and Piccadilly Circus. The bus stops out the front of the hotel regularly..... And the tube station is close by.
The decor is appealing with a light and airy dining room and delicious breakfast. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet and the staff were friendly.
The only fault with our stay was the plumbing in our room.... The toilet didn't flush properly and the hot water took much longer to come through the pipes than the suggested couple of minutes that was explained by means of a sign in the bathroom. We understand that with older buildings there can be plumbing issues, but the problem with the flushing toilet was annoying, and although we mentioned it to the staff on 2 occasions, the problem didn't get fixed.
Having said that, the overall quality of the hotel was great value for money compared to staying somewhere closer to Piccadilly/Oxford Circus, yet it is still in such a great location.
And for that reason, we would stay here again if ever we are in London.

Room Tip: Hopefully ours was an isolated incident but...... make sure the toilet flushes properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of Thistle Hyde Park. I am sorry to hear on this occasion that you had some issues with the plumbing in the hotel and that we were not able to rectify this during your stay. I will certainly follow this up to ensure it doesn’t become a recurring incident. I do hope this didn't spoil your enjoyment of our property and its location next to Hyde Park and the associated transport links. Thank you again for your review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Thistel Hyde Park is lovely. It has the Olde World charm of a London Hotel. Nicely situated opposite Hyde park and close to Lancaster Gate tube station. Book early as it gets busy. We had a great room, very comfortable beds, warm towel rails etc etc. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Noisy neighbours on the one night but the Staff will make sure they are blacklisted. The Swan Pub is within walking distance as well as the bus.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the Hotel which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We're very proud of our Victorian era hotel and appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Thistle Hyde Park. The hotel benefits from great views into Hyde Park and its proximity to a number of traditional London pubs; the Swan being one of a good few in the area. Thanks also for your room tip - front facing rooms can be requested ahead of your stay. Thanks again for your review.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorcesterGrasshopper75
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Thistle hotel hyde park 25-27th Sepember, the hotel is a short taxi ride from Padding Station and right opposite Hyde Park, we were greeted by Sam, and upon arrival we were offered at upgrade free of charge, the Suite was brillant, spacious and suitated at the back of the hotel on the 4t floor, we originally accepted room only but as the breakfast was avaiable on a special rate and cheaper we took their offer and was not disappointed the breakfast was very well presented and tasted like a real cooked breakfast worth booking!! Walking out and turing left walk to the esso Garage and this is where you can pick up all the bus tours at 20 minutes intervals, we worth it - easy on the feet. Out of the hotel and across to Hyde Park turn left Kenssingston palace, straight down the Royal A;bert & Victoria, left the gardens, and Buckingham Palace, and the pump house, all well worth it but wear confortable shoes . Their is tea and coffee facilites,hair dryer iron and iron board and what is most useful a safe free of charge The Hotel is of mature age and like all hotels these days could do with a bit of painted wok here and their, I would recommend this hotel and would
gladly return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of Hyde Park and for highlighting what a great location we occupy and how ideally situated the hotel is for transport, shopping and exploring all that London has to offer. I'm glad you took advantage of our breakfast offering and also enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to a Suite that Sam was able to offer on this occasion. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday and also first anniversary . We had our room upgraded and my husband had arranged for chocolates(which were amazing) and flowers and wine to be in the room. Lovely spacious room with a balcony tho we couldn't use it as there was maintenance going on. 2 mins walk to nearest tube station and hotel is right opposite Hyde park and Kensington palace. We hired the Barclays bikes and cycled round Kensington gardens and Hyde park. Staff really helpful and friendly and over all we had a lovely weekend and would stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your detailed review of Thistle Hyde Park and for your positive comments about the hotel and the service you received from the team. Many congratulations on your anniversary and I hope we can welcome you both back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach / Cathedral City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

As a travel agent in Southern California (Beverly Hills Area) it has been my pleasure not only to have stayed at this hotel twice, but have put 90% of my clients going to London here. I have had nothing but good reviews from them all. Not one issue period. Also, as a professional I have had nothing but good communications with the staff. From setting up a surprize cookies and milk for a favorite young client to taking care of a "non refundable" reservation that a VIP had to cancel. Good Work ,,, Great Hotel,,,, and Even Better Staff. Do not hesitate booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get a Jr. Suite overlooking the park ... the view is the best in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
It was great to read your review of Thistle Hyde Park. From someone who works in the industry this made wonderful reading, and I am delighted we have consistently been able to satisfy you and your clients over a number of years. I do hope we can continue to do so for many more years to come and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90-92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in London
#245 Business Hotel in London
#251 Romantic Hotel in London
#335 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member’s club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London, England
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.