We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Hyde Park to your Saves list
Thistle Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90-92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
British
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

I booked this hotel through superbreak and got a great deal on bed and full breakfast. Hotel is lovely and the staff were all really helpful. The rooms were well decorated and comfortable. The hotel is only a short walk away from Lancaster Gate tube station (come out of the station and walk left along the road, and the hotel is a few minutes away on the right hand side of the road). The breakfast was lovely and there was more than enough to eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as myself and my partner had a lovely stay.

  • Liked — The location and the decoration
  • Disliked — The hotel was very warm (they should definitely turn the heating down)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    244
    63
    30
    18
See reviews for
106
235
36
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

Stayed at the Thistle Hyde Park Hotel to celebrate my sisters birthday. We were both very excited about a trip to London and chose a Thistle hotel as we had such good experiences in the past in other Thistle Hotels.
We were unaware that the hotel is under renovation and the outside of the building is surrounded with scaffolding. The interior of the hotel was lovely and the reception staff were very helpful.
Our disappointment was that we didnt get any sleep during our stay. On the first night we were in room 125. This room is beside a boiler room and the noise resembled an airplane taking off. The next evening we were given an up grade to the only available room (403). We were warned that this room would be warm. The room was stifling and throughout the night we thought we might die in the heat. The receptionist said that the problem is that they are unable to regulate the heating on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with the Thistle Hyde Park. We'd heard London hotels are often tired looking with small rooms. Not so with this hotel. It's convenient to Paddington Station (10 min. walk). Restaurants are within a 10 min. walk as well. The hotel lobby and dining room are beautiful. Our room (#225) was large, clean, quiet, and well appointed. The staff was excellent. Their concierge (we dealt with 2) were exceptional in their willingness to help us with transportation, directions, and even printed our boarding passes the night before our departure. You can't go wrong with this hotel. It is not, however, in the heart of London, but out a bit. We'd easily go back should we find ourselves in London again.

  • Liked — Beauty of the hotel and very friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

We were plesantly surprised when we walked into our room. It was quaint and very roomy.

About a 10-15 min. walk to the Underground. Not much nearby.

Breakfast was good and the server who served us every morning was so cheerful and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

Me and my husband stayed in Thistle Hyde Park for 5 nights. We had a nice room, yes it was very warm there but not too hot anyway. The toilet was beautiful, as well as the toilets in the lobby. Breakfast was really good and versatile. Staff were great and personal. The only problem to me was wall-to-wall carpeting, I'm not used to it, I think it's unnecessary. Overall very nice experience!

  • Liked — location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — wall-to-wall carpets, there was no open window
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

Luckily we had booked ahead regarding a parking space (there isn't many of them). Room was a decent size, however we soon realised later in the evening that there was no air conditioning and couldn't get the window open either - it was ridiculously hot. After enquiring with reception, there were no fans either, so we got barely any sleep.

On the morning we checked out (way before the deadline), my partner left his mobile in the room by accident - he knew exactly where as well. We realised about 45 mins later or so. Phoned the hotel to tell them and they said they had already tidied the room and it wasn't found. Returned to the hotel to take it up with someone more senior and they still said the maid had not found it. It never turned up.

Later wrote to them to complain and to their credit we received a letter offering an upgrade on our next stay. We took them up on it some time later and had an upgrade. The room was much larger with a nice view of Hyde Park, however it looked like it needed a bit of decorating but it wasn't unpleasant. This room was fine all in all.

Good location, right near Lancaster Gate tube and over the road from Hyde Park. Parking not too bad either - I think it was about £15 a day. Would stay in again if it was a bit cheaper, but too expensive for what it is.

  • Liked — Size of upgraded room, view of Hyde Park
  • Disliked — no air con on 1 occasion, reception not always helpful
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

i stayed at this hotel in April and i was very dubious about it after reading the reports on here. I have to say I honestly do not know what people are complaining about.

a colleague and I booked to stay in this hotel for one night so that we could attend a meeting the next day. I stayed in room 133 and she stayed in room 131. my room was located in an odd position between 2 floors!. however the room was clean and of a nice size for London. the bathroom however was HUGE. i had a full size bath, seperate shower, toilet, bidet and sink. all the sanitary ware had a gold filigree design on it and this was matched by the tiles. there were also complimentary toiletries that came in very useful.

my colleagues room was bigger than mine and had a very high ceiling and a mirror in it that ran from waist hight all the way to the ceiling. I have never seen a mirror so big. she also had a huge chandilier in the middle of the bedroom.

I found the breakfast to be very extensive with cereals, fruit, yoghurt and a full english cooked to order. my colleague had this and said it was excellent.

All of the staff i came across were very polite and attenitve. the concierge hailed us a taxi in the morning and didnt expect a tip which is very unusual!!!!

i can fully recommend this hotel the only thing i could complain about is that it is in a quiet area but then again that can be a blessing in london!!

  • Liked — the victorian feel
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90-92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#250 Romantic Hotel in London
#257 Business Hotel in London
#279 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member’s club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London, England
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.