We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Stafford London to your Saves list
The Stafford London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England (St. James's)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night Free
Ranked #43 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First-class experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Stafford for a holiday for seven days and nights in July. Ambience was traditional and elegant, and the service was impeccable, provided courteously and promptly without fail. It's always a pleasure being welcomed back by name at the end of the day. Our package included breakfast, which was superbly prepared; for example, a small silver jug of hot milk was brought to the table for coffee or tea. The American Bar at the hotel was classy, we realized, because it didn't feature wall to wall television monitors or canned music as we are accustomed to in North America, and we appreciated the dress code. Conversation is still valued in British pubs and bars. Our Deluxe King room was satisfactory in size; a little tight moving around, but not unreasonably so, and above all elegantly appointed. The hotel's location was superb as well, just a few steps to Green Park, St. James Park, the tube, and Piccadilly to the west and north, and a 15-minute or so walk to the National Gallery and Trafalgar Square to the east. A first-class and memorable stay, all round.

Room Tip: We preferred to Main house. A Deluxe room is worth the extra money if staying two or more days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    102
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
116
271
57
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It is almost a year since my last visit to The Stafford and sadly I was only able to stay overnight on this occasion en route from Paris. However The Stafford remains my first choice London Hotel. We received a wonderful "welcome home" when checking in and were extremely grateful for the suite upgrade. The hotel and service from its staff cannot be faulted and the introduction of coffee machine to the room since my last visit was most welcome. The hotel, rooms and particularly bathrooms are spotlessly clean and the beds must be the most comfortable that I have experienced anywhere. Excellent breakfasts. Delighted to return again.

Room Tip: Suites in the Main House are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed for our second time at the Stafford for 4 nights last week. We were welcomed back upon check in and shown to the Deluxe King room we booked. It was spacious and bright (though not much of a view) but the bed was amazingly comfy and the AC worked - which is key in a rare London heat wave!

Like other reviewers we chose the Stafford again for its location in central St James/Mayfair, in the middle of it all but tucked away, and the staff's attention to detail…not to mention the great American Bar, clearly a hotspot for locals as well in the warm summer months. The Green Park access was also lovely for some lazy afternoons in the park & morning jogs.

Only complaint - the slamming doors each morning on our hall - perhaps a quieter closing mechanism? They really do bang!

We will return again despite that - all in all a lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Deluxe King rooms are a nice size. Stayed in a Queen the last trip and they are tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We visited the hotel on Saturday evening as one of our friends had vouchers from Top table. A glass of very nice champagne and three courses for £60 per head. I must say I am not a fan of eating in hotel restaurants, but after this experience I certainly have changed my mind. We had a table for six in a private area of the restaurant shared with another table for two.. We all experienced superb service, wine and some of the finest food we have had for many, many years. The eventual bill with three bottles of champagne and two bottles of Rioja was £120 per head, but money we'll spent.
The menu is not huge, probably six to eight choices per course. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend in London celebrating our anniversary and stayed Saturday night .........absolutely fantastic hotel ,friendly staff and superb atmosphere the American style bar is brilliant ....highly recommended,we will return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This a excellent hotel situated in a very good location next to Green Park and very upscale restaurants and shopping. The Staff is gracious and anxious to serve while display elegant class as they go about their jobs.
Rooms are good varying in size and size beds. Suggest you have clarity on the type of size bed when you book your accommodations to ensure your satisfaction. We had Room 217 overlooking the garden/Bar area. They have an excellent restaurant serving all meals and High Tea. The American bar is well known and is full service with both indoor and outside seating. The location at the end of an off street is quite and provides an escape from the London hustle. We will use this fine hotel on our future visits to London and highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband wanted to stay near Green Park/Mayfair/St. James on this trip to London so I began looking for a 5 star property that wasn't ridiculous in price. I booked my stay through the British Airways website and thought it was a very reasonable rate. When we arrived in London, we walked briefly through Green Park and easily found the opening/pathway that lead us to the front door of the Stafford. We were warmly welcomed by a lovely young man (I suspect he may have been Austrian, but not sure) who was very helpful. He escorted us to an amazingly beautiful and cozy room which served as our home on our brief stay. When my daughter and I thought we might be bumped from our BA flight a day later, her only request was that we book another night at the Stafford if we were staying longer than anticipated.

I can't say enough about the attentive, courteous, polished service we received throughout our stay as well as the comfort and elegance of the room. It was filled with all kinds of treats & extras including a small shoe polish kit, an adorable Stafford rubber duckie, and yummy chocolates. But it was the bed that remains foremost in my mind. I am not exaggerating when I report that it was THE most comfortable bed that I have EVER slept in. I felt like I was floating on a supportive cloud.

I can't report on the restaurant as we did not have breakfast included in our rate so we did not venture to try it out. Next time I book a room at the Stafford I will attempt to book it with breakfast. The next morning my daughter and I needed to store a few bags with some very expensive purchases and we had no doubt that our valuables would be safely secured by hotel staff (and were politely assured by staff). We were delighted we could explore London without having to worry about lugging our bags around or wondering about the security of our items.

My family and I are very picky about our hotels and I can happily report that I think we've finally found our home away from home while visiting London. We can't wait to return to the Stafford. I wish to personally thank the hotel manager as it was obvious to me this is a very well managed property and staff are happy and well trained. Oh yes - and I was delighted to find that the wifi was free and quite fast.

Room Tip: We had a corner room - a triple - which we greatly enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#81 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#100 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#48 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#21 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,950 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#24 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,106 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#88 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#30 Family Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
#52 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stafford London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.