We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added The Stafford London to your Saves list
The Stafford London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Situated in a quiet enclave off St James Park this is a gem of a hotel. We stayed one night in a deluxe room. The room was very nice with a large and extremely comfortable bed. The staff in all areas of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The lady who freshened our room after we left for the evening deserves special mention for her attention to detail. Breakfast was very good with an extensive choice and attentive service. It was a delightful place to stay and I would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    85
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
78
203
48
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Stafford has long been one of the smartest hotels in London. Very well located in St James, it has a wonderful setting and ambiance. Great welcome. Very comfortable rooms and one of the finest bars in London. It is not cheap. That said, it is surprising, perhaps, that there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room, no trouser press and the lighting in the room was very poor for someone with bad eyesight. No doubt, management would argue that all we had to do was to ring for whatever we wanted - and I am sure that that would have been the case, but there are times when one just wants some privacy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a very short, but very sweet stay at The Stafford last week, and I am sure that it won't be the last.

From start to finish all the staff seemed to want to go that 'extra mile' in delivering the high quality of service that you would expect from a hotel at this level - and they did it in such an unassuming way that it made us feel as if we were regular guests, even though this was our first visit.

The hotel - public areas and bedrooms are superb, and could not be faulted at all.

The consistency and the attention to detail were spot on, whether in the breakfast room, the lounge or the American Bar and they were even flying the Stars and Stripes on Thanksgiving Day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Whenever I stay at the Stafford, they always say " Welcome Home" when I arrive. I'm not a frequent visitor, but they treat me as though I have just been gone a week. And it seems genuine. The service is above and beyond anything you could expect, the staff is friendly, the location wonderful, the food delicious, and the beds are the most comfortable that I have slept in, anywhere, ever. Yes, it is pricey. But if you want to feel like you would not want to be anywhere else in the world, stay at the Stafford. You won't regret it. I can't wait to come home again.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear A R,

Thank for telling us about your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Christine Hodder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Second time in London, i chose this hotel because it was luxurious and near picadilly circus. i couldn´t have made a better choice. the quality is superb, the staff are dedicated, helpful and kind to any request, and the whole place is just gorgeous. i would like to mention the great breakfast buffet (really great fruit!).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Booked afternoon tea, to be greeted by disinterested staff, poor seating, lacklustre service. The tea was poor quality, there was no attention to detail, only one coat was taken, and that had to be prompted, the other two coats were left strewn over adjacent furniture. We were placed on a table designed for formal dining, with chairs so low that my chin touched the table. Our orders for tea were taken, then the waiter returned, as an afterthought, and asked if we wanted champagne. We then waited an age for our tea, in fact so long, that we moved from the uncomfortable table to a coffee table near to the fireplace. When the food arrived, it was explained in detail by the waitress. I know what a cake and sandwiches are. Let's look at the food. Mean sandwiches, and that's not a compliment, on cheap bread, with little filling and with no seasoning. The cakes were dry and uninspired and the scones were stone cold and undercooked. They were doughy and heavy. Such a shame, as the building and decor deserve so much more, and the Harpist, who was excellent had a very scany audience, but then, I won't be coming back or recommending the Stafford.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAvdvisor about your Afternoon Tea experience with us. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your feedback is of great value to us. Please rest assured we have taken all your points on board for immediate consideration. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Sincerely yours,

Christine Hodder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The Stafford is very detail oriented and attentive. The staff are very professional and able to produce high quality standards with calm and decorum. The food is excellent and the service is perfect. The room is very good we had an upgrade to a suite which was most welcome after our last hotel... Highly recommended for those who favour traditional hospitality with flair.. Bit pricy though.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
#97 Business Hotel in London
#122 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the heart of London in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning personalised guest service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stafford London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.