We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Stafford London to your Saves list
The Stafford London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England (St. James's)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Outstanding Offer
Ranked #49 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We treated ourselves to a night here on our 25th wedding anniversary and will definitely be back. This is how a top hotel should be run, the service is fantastic without being fawning and the room was marvellous and the bed amazingly comfortable. The location is brilliant but the hotel is tucked away - we had no noise issues. The bar is a great place to spend a few hours and there are nice nibbles that come with the drinks.

Room Tip: Room 100 had an outside terrace which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    94
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
95
230
54
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amazing hotel and location. The food in the dining room was really good. The lounge and outdoor patio were gorgeous. It was walking distance from Buckingham Palace, Westminster, etc. It is within view of St. James Palace. It was also a short walk to Fortnum Mason, Dunhill and other nice shops. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Any of the junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a well managed property in a terrific and quiet location as highlighted by other contributors.

We stayed in one of the Master Suites which was very well appointed, high quality fixtures and fittings with good lighting and a real sense of space. Only minor fault was with the water pressure in the shower. Americans always complain about British plumbing and in this case, they would be right, a mere trickle and not too much by way of temperature variation. A fixable problem in a bathroom that is larger than many hotel rooms I have been in.

The American Bar is great and has a loyal clientele who seem to drift from lunch to evening quite effortlessly and food is good with competent bartenders - not mixologists, as they wear ties and have combed their hair.

What doesn't work is the restaurant, it lacks physical appeal occupying the centre of the hotel but looks more like a temporary installation, hence other than at breakfast, it is empty which must be dispiriting for the staff. Management needs to provide it with some independent identity and a reason to be there. The Capital Hotel managed this extremely well until they went off piste with their new and disastrous venture but that's another story.

Would highly recommend as I think the hotel offers pretty good value and despite being "chain" managed, has retained a lot of character and independence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay in the Main House Master Suite. Meet and greet and check in were excellent with coffee sent to the room for us whilst unpacking - a nice touch. The accommodation could not be faulted with superbly comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom. The suite was excellent. The famed breakfast, which we took in our room, lived up to expectation and set us up for the day. Room Service was always punctual. Location is very central, ideal for shopping or site seeing with Green Park Tube only minutes away. The American Bar must be experienced with excellent service, a good atmosphere, and a very good bar menu. This hotel is a hidden gem! We were sorry to leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staff were very polite and helpful, but would of liked to of been advised of the lack of complimentary tea/coffee in room. Only after reading others comments that I am now imformed we should of requested complimentary coffee, we have never been in a London hotel and had to request a hot drinks tray! Carriage rooms very nice but noisy at times from doors being slammed, so we were woken during the night at least three times.
Breakfast was a nice experience, staff very friendly and food good quality.

Room Tip: If you like tea/coffee in your room request it. Ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our group, my husband and me, my husband's brother and his wife, my daughter and son-in-law, and my daughter and her boyfriend, arrived from the US at 8:30am and were shown to our rooms right away. This was a second visit for my immediate family. We had 2 Mews Jr Suites and 2 main house rooms. The rooms were fabulous but the room the boys shared had 2 beds that were quite close together. Each room had a complimentary bottle of Cabernet. The Mews rooms had mini fridges stocked with soda, water and juice.

What stood out the most was the service we received, mainly from the Concierge staff. We requested dinner reservations most evenings and received a table for 8 at each place we requested; most often the only table for 8 in the restaurant. Bentley's was great, as usual, but the real dinner treat was at Wolfgang Puck's Cut. Recommended by Fernando, we enjoyed a lovely anniversary dinner with a very attentive wait staff and perfectly prepared steaks.

We took a day trip to Paris and Fernando even secured dinner reservations for us there (made in French!) We also day-tripped it to Liverpool to watched their match against Tottenham. Through the work of most of the staff, we secured tickets and a pre-match meal plus a driver who dropped us off and picked us up at the gate. Peter, even though it was his day off, arrived at the hotel VERY early to see us off.

We began each evening in the hotel's American Bar for cocktails before dinner. A quick call ahead reserved our table, which was needed due to the popularity of the bar. We did not dine at The Stafford but enjoyed tea and desserts in the lobby. We love this discreet, charming, boutique hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Stafford London is absolutely central to London, yet still somehow relatively secluded and quiet. It is absolutely enchanting. The service was phenomenal. The rooms, very well appointed! Very comfortable. Delicious food. The bar is fantastic. Awesome wine cellar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in London
#44 Luxury Hotel in London
#45 Business Hotel in London
#86 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stafford London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.