We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Hotel, but Pricing Itself High for a Tight Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Stafford London to your Saves list
The Stafford London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Prime Hotel, but Pricing Itself High for a Tight Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

First let me say that I have stayed at the Stafford a number of times over the years, but now that it is part of the Kempinski family, it has become too high priced for what it offers. Yes, I did go with the lowest cost room, but it was so tight my luggage barely fit in with me. The bath and appointments were very lovely, however. Service was excellent and the American Bar is a delightful as ever -- even more so with its updated menu. Sadly, given the value, I will need to find a more reasonable place to stay in London on future visits.

Room Tip: Staying at the Stafford is a wonderful experience, but select a room that is not entry level in pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. As The Stafford is not purpose built, it used to be a house, some of the rooms do vary in size which for some guests is part of its quirky charm! Please do let us know the next time you visit and we would be delighted to ensure you are allocated to a better and more spacious room for you in order that you can again enjoy a stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    87
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
84
210
50
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

At face value the Stafford is well kept, traditionally charming, but when compared to other hotels in the area is average. There is a mix of modern amenities and contemporary styling that is very welcoming.

The room itself, although lacking a minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, an ironing board, trouser press, and two single beds pushed together for a queen, was homely and comfortable.
I was 'upgraded' to the courtyard suites, which I would thoroughly recommend avoiding. If you have an aversion to others' smoke or noise. There is a smoking area right outside the doors, and the rooms are cold, unless you have the noisy heating on, and the cobblestones outside are used to transport incredibly noisy rubbish bins in the early hours

Ensure you request tea and coffee making facilities, (and a stocked minibar) upon your arrival, one would expect this to be asked when checking in!

The location is great for shopping, and is just a short walk away from the tube.

Having seen that the breakfast was a nothing special over expensive continental, I decided to opt out and pop out around the corner to Patisserie Valerie and Paul, for better croissants and coffee.

I'd recommend this hotel for Business stays, but for couples I would look to other nearby hotels in a similar price range.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or dislike others smoking, avoid the rooms that are converted stables in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our guest feedback is very important to us. With regard to the smoking area - this is where guests can enjoy our courtyard, have drinks, dine and smoke. Our American Bar is renowned for its cigar selection and this unique outdoor space. We appreciate your room was beside this area however and that is it not indeed for everyone. We hope that you will return and on booking we would be delighted to ensure you are allocated to a room that is not near this smoking area. Our room guest directory provides that coffee and tea facilities and other items are brought to the room on request however should you return we would ensure for this to be in your room prior to arrival. With regard to the minibar service we have a dedicated in-room dining team available 24 hours daily to serve any drinks. We hope to welcome you back to The Stafford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

myself and partner spent a night here, and it was amazing. Our room was really nice, with the biggest, most comfortable bed ever! especially loved the walk in shower.... we ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room, and were not dissapointed! smoked salmon with cream cheese on crumpets, bacon with syrup and pancakes, venisson sausages, coissants, coffee, well, all i can say is absolutely fantastic! and it was all presented so well.staff were exceptionally friendly, and we felt very welcomed. it was so quiet and peaceful here, we almost forgot we were in London. Perfect location, especially if you are going to the Theatre/ Soho, clubs and nice restaurants. (we walked to all) we didnt eat in the hotel restaurant, but we did have a drink in their bar (the American Bar) which was very nice (although a little expensive) if you are thinkimg of visiting this hotel, then do it....you wont be dissapointed, highly reccomended....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent 1 night at the Stafford over the weekend and I have to say that it is by far the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. It's luxurious and classy without being stuffy and pretentious.
We stayed in a junior master suite in the courtyard. Our room was fitted with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and consumables. The bed was huge and comfortable and there were so many nice touches (Magazines/Compliemtary Papers/Soft Drinks/WiFi/Sky TV).
The American bar is great for a pre/post-dinner drink and is decorated with some really interesting artefacts, and the breakfast was suitably impressive. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Yes, it is expensive, but it is definately worth it. We will definately stay here again (and we live in London!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the lead up to Christmas and it was very special. The decorations made it feel very Christmassy and walking out from the American Bar through the news was very "ole worlde". Rooms were lovely and clean and the lunch we had in the restaurant was very good . Nice for a special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed such a special stay with us. Our personal guest service is very important to all the staff here and we hope to welcome you back to The Stafford London by Kempinski very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have just returned from spending a night at the Staffod Hotel and WOW, not only it is well located in St James but it is beautifully furnished, the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.

It has a nice bar, called the American Bar which again had great service and a good atmosphere.
Our stay was faultless, give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for work for one night. Rooms on the small side but lovely and very comfortable. The hotel itself looks fantastic inside. The American Bar is particularly interesting. Lots of history. However the best by far was the service. The staff were all very helpful, kind, attentive and professional. They make you feel special. Very rare in my experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank You very much for the great review!

As The Stafford is a non purpose built hotel, the rooms all very in layout and design which, as you have mentioned,certainly adds to the charm. I am thrilled to learn that our team has taken very good care of you as they do take pride in their guest orientated service!

I am looking forward to welcoming you back 'home' to The Stafford very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
#93 Business Hotel in London
#120 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stafford London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.