We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Stafford London to your Saves list
The Stafford London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,063 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

myself and partner spent a night here, and it was amazing. Our room was really nice, with the biggest, most comfortable bed ever! especially loved the walk in shower.... we ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room, and were not dissapointed! smoked salmon with cream cheese on crumpets, bacon with syrup and pancakes, venisson sausages, coissants, coffee, well, all i can say is absolutely fantastic! and it was all presented so well.staff were exceptionally friendly, and we felt very welcomed. it was so quiet and peaceful here, we almost forgot we were in London. Perfect location, especially if you are going to the Theatre/ Soho, clubs and nice restaurants. (we walked to all) we didnt eat in the hotel restaurant, but we did have a drink in their bar (the American Bar) which was very nice (although a little expensive) if you are thinkimg of visiting this hotel, then do it....you wont be dissapointed, highly reccomended....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    78
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
75
190
45
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent 1 night at the Stafford over the weekend and I have to say that it is by far the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. It's luxurious and classy without being stuffy and pretentious.
We stayed in a junior master suite in the courtyard. Our room was fitted with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and consumables. The bed was huge and comfortable and there were so many nice touches (Magazines/Compliemtary Papers/Soft Drinks/WiFi/Sky TV).
The American bar is great for a pre/post-dinner drink and is decorated with some really interesting artefacts, and the breakfast was suitably impressive. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Yes, it is expensive, but it is definately worth it. We will definately stay here again (and we live in London!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the lead up to Christmas and it was very special. The decorations made it feel very Christmassy and walking out from the American Bar through the news was very "ole worlde". Rooms were lovely and clean and the lunch we had in the restaurant was very good . Nice for a special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed such a special stay with us. Our personal guest service is very important to all the staff here and we hope to welcome you back to The Stafford London by Kempinski very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have just returned from spending a night at the Staffod Hotel and WOW, not only it is well located in St James but it is beautifully furnished, the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.

It has a nice bar, called the American Bar which again had great service and a good atmosphere.
Our stay was faultless, give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for work for one night. Rooms on the small side but lovely and very comfortable. The hotel itself looks fantastic inside. The American Bar is particularly interesting. Lots of history. However the best by far was the service. The staff were all very helpful, kind, attentive and professional. They make you feel special. Very rare in my experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank You very much for the great review!

As The Stafford is a non purpose built hotel, the rooms all very in layout and design which, as you have mentioned,certainly adds to the charm. I am thrilled to learn that our team has taken very good care of you as they do take pride in their guest orientated service!

I am looking forward to welcoming you back 'home' to The Stafford very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

the perfect hotel, boutique, but the service of a palace, staff is very efficient professional and friendly, the rooms are fantastic, the breakfast perfect, it is charming, and is for me a dream hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms in the mews are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for this wonderful review!

I am thrilled to learn that our team has delivered service that you considered to be of royal standard. Our team prides itself in anticipating guest needs and exceeding expectations and your review has supported this. The hotel does possess inedible charm and tranquillity which is very hard to find in London!

On behalf of the Stafford team, we are looking forward to welcoming you back 'home' in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I'm sorry - I saw an earlier review recommending the Connaught as an alternative which is entirely missing the point of this superlative hotel. The service & rooms are exceptional & the point is it's hidden away in St James & not many people know it's here. There are reasons a well known media mogul who has a flat opposite goes here are - it's entirely discreet, has wonderful service & frankly thank god it's not the Connaught.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for your delightful feedback!

I sincerely appreciate your comment as The Stafford is an exceptional establishment, hidden away from the hectic streets of London, it is a 'home away from home' for many. This is an appeal that is hard to maintain for many hotels and I am thrilled that our team is striving to achieve this element.

I appreciate your patronage to the Stafford and I hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#67 Luxury Hotel in London
#120 Business Hotel in London
#147 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the heart of London in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning personalised guest service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stafford London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.