We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Stafford London to your Saves list
The Stafford London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England (St. James's)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night Free
Ranked #43 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The room was small but beautiful, we were made to feel very special, and I would defiantly book again for a special occasion. The location is a little bit quiet, I personally like a bit of buzz, but each to their own. Luxury with a luxury price tag!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You very much for the lovely review about The Stafford!

I am very pleased to hear that our staff have created special memories of your stay!

As this is not a purpose built hotel, our rooms vary in size and layout. We will be delighted to welcome you back and do our utmost to make your special occasion even more memorable! Please specify your room preferences during the reservation, and we will make sure to meet these requests.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to The Stafford and hope the special occasions only multiply!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    102
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
116
271
57
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a friendly and elegant hotel tucked away in the centre of London. We were wonderfully well looked after - the staff are delightful. The location is excellent in a peaceful street in one of the nicest areas, a short walk from all the activity in the heart of London and we warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for your delightful review!

As you have mentioned, we are located in London's prime location surrounded by sophistication and allure of St James's area and the tranquil settings of Green Park and Buckingham Palace, which is just a short walk away from the hotel. Our team prides itself in ensuring that our guests enjoyed every part of their stay and I am thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed our service.

We hope to welcome you back to The Stafford very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

what do you say..kempinski is becoming a known name for luxury and consistancy ...great stay , pleasant staff. Room sizes are as expected in UK but still very comfortable......The location is wonderful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You very much for you kind review!

As you have noted, Kempinski is the oldest luxury hotel company in Europe, dating back to 1897, it is modern with in its ideas and established in tradition which The Stafford has encompassed with its existing elegance and history combined.

I am thrilled that you found your stay comfortable in combination with convenient location. On behalf of the Stafford team, we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had one of the most memorable nights of my life in the Stafford's cellar with a friend, Gino Nardella (a master sommelier (one of sixty in the world)), and around 16,000 bottles of wine.

Gino of course is indisputably one of the capos of the wine tasting, if not the capo di tutti cappi, and was a fantastic teacher and story teller of the three wines we sampled (French, Spanish, and South African). We spent a good two hours tasting the wine, touring the wine cellar and asking Gino an innumerable number of questions.

The hotel also offered some canapes (salmon on bread, pate on toast and tempura prawns) to help clear the palette between gulps and they were suitable, tasty and well balanced bite sizes pieces in themselves.

Finally we retired to the lounge with the rest of the wine and were served some bar snacks as well as some water by the very friendly waiting staff.

Whether you are a wine novice or expert I would say this is an experience you will enjoy and remember forever. I don't think there is anywhere this side of the Channel that can really offer such a wine experience.

From now on, every time I raise a glass I will remember Gino and the enthusiasm and inspiration that he has instilled into me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You very much for your kind review of the Stafford Wine Cellars!

Our wine cellar is indeed very unique not only to the St James's but to the city of London, as it is steeped in 380-years of history and has the talented Master Sommelier, Mr Gino Nardella ,who turns every glass of wine into a journey and, as you have kindly noted, creates a memorable experience for our guests.

Our Executive Chef will be thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed the canapés, as they are tailored to each and every wine tasting and I sincerely hope you will return to stay at The Stafford very soon and to experience the rest of our outlets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my third overnight stay at the Stafford. Hopefully I'll find another excuse to stay again. The staff have mastered that wonderful combination of friendly, caring, & professional. The location is wonderfully quiet yet perfect for walking into the West End, Covent Garden, or shopping Mayfair... The interior design is warm, comfortable, & of the highest quality. A stay at The Stafford is a real treat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for such wonderful review!

We are delighted that you have been returning to the Stafford and I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the personal approach of our team! We do indeed have a very central location, yet the hotel is very tranquil and allows our guests to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.

I sincerely hope you will find another excuse to enjoy our warm atmosphere at The Stafford very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight in this really delightful hotel! Very friendly welcome, pretty room with every conceivable extra, luxurious bed and linen and toiletries. Delicious breakfast. Tremendous attention to detail and super location. Will definitely return as soon as we can! Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for your kind review!

Our Executive Housekeeper prides herself with sourcing only the best possible British toiletries and linen and we are delighted that you have appreciated their quality. Our Food and Beverage team strives to deliver only the best of service, and we believe one of the most important aspects of luxury service is to be detail orientated, as you have kindly stated in your review.

We hope it will not be too long until you return to The Stafford as we are thrilled to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stafford in April of last year for a long weekend. We had a fabulous stay from the moment we arrived until check-out. We stayed in a carriage house which had a lot of character and looked absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast was delivered to our room every morning on time and presentation was always lovely.

we look forward to staying at the stafford again and again!

Thank you to the whole team for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review!

it is delightful to learn that you have appreciated the quality of our service and enjoyed your stay in our unique Carriage House rooms. Our Executive Housekeeper will be thrilled to learn that you liked the design and our Room Service team is very happy that your breakfast was enjoyable!

We sincerely hope you to welcome you back to the Stafford for many more long weekends to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#81 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#100 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#48 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#21 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,950 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#24 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#88 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#30 Family Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
#52 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stafford London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.