We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, London to your Saves list
The Langham, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Worcester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel & well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We were upgraded on arrival to an excellent Club room on the 9th (top) floor which
was very spacious and newly furnished to a high standard. Bathroom spotless and very well appointed.
From the hotel it is a short walk to Oxford St & Oxford Circus underground. Nevertheless, the Langham is situated in a quiet area so there was no noise intrusion in our room.
The top-hatted doorman/concierge was rather arrogant (don't try to interrupt or ask any
questions - he won't tolerate that and will throw a grimacing look if you try!!) but he failed to spoil our enjoyment of this traditional and beautifully appointed Victorian hotel. There is plenty of parking in the local streets (pay by card via phone). Restaurants, bistros and take-outs abound in this area so you won't have a problem finding something to suit your taste buds !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    381
    109
    39
    20
See reviews for
368
780
79
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Stayed here on Saturday night for a girlie weekend break it is in a great location the staff are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make your stay perfect. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is stunning they have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

I would reccomend the Langham for a 5' stay in London, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

A wonderful experience from start to finish and I agree the staff are superb. They are helpful without being patronising and certainly made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. We were given a free upgrade to a club class room and for access to the club room we were asked for £40.00 per person per night. This was great value, breakfast, afternoon tea, canapes, all drinks in a comfortable lounge from 7-11pm. The hotel was well situated near oxford st., the rooms were a good size and every amenity was available. The only downside was the quality of their bathroom products which was very poor, oh yes and the walls seemed thin, if this is possible?? Anyway, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

My daughter and I just returned from a week in London, with wonderful memories of our time at the Langham Hotel. Although the lobby of the Langham Hotel is still under construction, a small lobby area was sufficient for the concierge and the hotel staff to provide good service and make us feel welcome each day. The concierge service was remarkable. My daughter realized that she might have left her map in a restaurant the prior evening. Because the restaurant was not open before we left in the morning, we asked the concierge to please call the restaurant to inquire if the map was found there. Apparently a staff member went to pick it up because it was at the front desk when we returned. We found the work out area and the pool area large and attractive. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable and the bathroom well appointed with a great shower. The hotel is very conveniently located in London because the metro station is very close. Numerous restaurants and great shopping can be found within a few minutes walk. I would highly recommend The Langham and I am a picky traveler.

  • Liked — Staff Service
  • Disliked — Cost of internet service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

I stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving weekend and I have to say that they are some of the friendliest hotel staff that I have ever encountered. Everyone without fail was helpful and made you feel like you were a valued customer. They even sent up goodies to wish us Thanksgiving.

I booked a regular room and was upgraded to a junior suite which was a nice size with a small sitting area. The toiletries were Penhaligons, with the most fully stocked amenities I have gotten without first calling housekeeping (e.g. included toothbrush/toothpaste and deodorant). The decor itself was plain though (I don't think it was a renovated room). The location was good...just a few minutes walk from the tube (Oxford Circus) and all the hullabaloo of Picadilly and the West End.

The renovations were a pain, however. We had to transfer elevators and walk a long maze (they even give you a map!) to get to our room.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

Stayed here in early November and although the hotel is currently undergoing renovations this doesn't appear to affect the operation of the hotel at all. The entrance is on Regent Street and a little less grand than the normal one around the corner but the staff are exceptionally warm and welcoming and the location is superb. I stayed with my 10 year old son in the course of a "lads" weekend and the staff couldn't have been nicer to us. We were frequent visitors to the leisure centre where the 16m basement pool is a real feature. The room was spacious and well appointed even though getting there involved two different elevator trips. Only other minor issue was the fact that the food in the bar was a little pricey for fairly average fair but this is just splitting hairs, overall I'd thoroughly recommend it if you're prepared to pay that little bit extra for a decent quality hotel in London.

  • Liked — Central Location and decent pool
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#26 Family Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London located in the heart of London's West End, a short walk from Oxford circus, has been delighting guests with enchanting hospitality since opening as Europe’s first Grand Hotel in 1865. Following an £80m transformation the hotel will charm you from the moment you step inside her dazzling new lobby. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa Fitness Club featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.