We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, London to your Saves list
The Langham, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just come back from a night at The Langham. It is truly a beautiful hotel with every need taken care of. The rooms are perfect with lovely furnishings and the beds and linens so comfortable. The spa is stunning with a great hot tub, sauna and indoor pool.

It's location is just perfect for shopping restaurants and bars, but the best bar is right there...the Artesan where their cocktails are to die for!! Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    381
    109
    39
    20
See reviews for
368
780
79
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed in the club room so had access to the club lounge which was very convenient. Room was good sized. Services were good. There is a swimming pool. Bathroom amenities were good. The only complaint is the king bed was two twins combined so there is a hard bit in the middle - very annoying. Will come back though.

Room Tip: Club rooms or suites are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Gorgeous hotel in a superb location. Had a lovely surprise on checking in to discover we had been upgraded to one of their top suites ! This suite was just spectacular and it was a real treat. We had drinks in the bar which was popular and very busy. The cocktails were very expensive but I guess that is normal for Central London. Breakfast was delicious, we ate breakfast in the restaurant rather than the serve yourself buffet and it was very good. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. A lovely, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed for a weekend for my birthday and found this historic hotel to be quite exceptional: the service is second to none; the room although small was quiet and very well appointed, although the lights were slightly confusing. There was a well stocked mini bar but I think they could have provided free water and biscuits! - but those are small points.
The health club was very impressive with a 16metre pool, salt sauna, ladies sauna and stem room, Jacuzzi and heat beds, plus free gowns. It was a little crowded on the Saturday afternoon but children are restricted to certain times.
The quality of the breakfast in the Palm Court restaurant plus the service could not be faulted in any way. It was pricey but worth it and puts most hotel breakfasts to shame. Even the seating was superb.
The staff address the guests by name and that is a nice touch!
Certainly the best 5 star I've ever stayed at anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Fabulous hotel in the heart of London. We splashed out on a suite for our anniversary and it was fantastic with free champagne, strawberries and cupcakes waiting in our room!

The bar was also a great experience although a little crowded but nevertheless still very impressive.

Lovely place, lovely staff and definitely worth a stay!

The Landau restaurant was also exceptional - but that's another review!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

This is an very nice hotel with nice service and convenient location. Just 5mins walk to Oxford Circus tube station and various shops and restaurants! There is swimming pool, perfessional gym equipments, two different sauna rooms, steam room and a fantastic Jacuzzi. Food and drinks and services in the club lounge were so great that I wish I could stay longer. The staffs are so nice and professional that always greet me with warm smile. The room was very comfortable and clean, it absolutely got everything we need. My boyfriend and i were having our anniversary celebration here and The Langham made it so perfect and unforgettable for us.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, North Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We go to to London on a regular basis and have tried many hotels and enjoyed the variety over the years. However we have now found the perfect hotel for us, and will be returning here on future trips to London. Service probably the best ever received in a hotel from the welcome by the doormen, reception, bar and restaurant staff and housekeeping, exceptional. We had heard a lot about the bar and were not disappointed, the drinks were amazing and the entertainment from the mixologists and waiting staff was brilliant. If you have the chance visit the bar even if you are not staying in the hotel. Accommodation well appointed, everything we needed and we were only in a Classic room. Only ate breakfast in the hotel, beautiful surroundings and excellent food and service. All in all a superb stay, it is expensive but worth it for a special treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Family Hotel in London
#27 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London located in the heart of London's West End, a short walk from Oxford circus, has been delighting guests with enchanting hospitality since opening as Europe’s first Grand Hotel in 1865. Following an £80m transformation the hotel will charm you from the moment you step inside her dazzling new lobby. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa Fitness Club featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.