We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde World Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, London to your Saves list
The Langham, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Olde World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wonderful plush classic hotel, steeped in history. Breakfast is wonderful and we highly recommend the afternoon tea. My favourite piece of history was that Oscar Wilde signed the publishers agreement for a Picture of Dorian Gray whilst dining at the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,382
    381
    109
    39
    20
See reviews for
367
780
79
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have been staying at the Langham for several years and think that it is one of the best located and highest quality hotels in London. Moreover, it seems to be a bit cheaper than other hotels in its class. My stay there is always next to perfect

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is a true 5 star experience with spacious immaculate rooms, a full-service gym/fitness center, and several very good restaurant. It also hosts "the best bar in the world" which is quite good, but more of a younger and hipper scene than one might expect. The staff was polite and the breakfasts were terrific. The standard set by the hotel was extremely high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Got an exceptional deal here by booking on the British Airways website. Rate included breakfast and was very reasonable.

Room was spacious and well furnished (for what must have been the cheapest room category). The bed was amazing. Really comfortable and quiet room ensured a great sleep.

Breakfast was top-notch served in the main restaurant by very professional and friendly staff. Excellent choice and quality.

Public rooms were nicely decorated and stylish.

On checking out, the receptionist asked me if I had taken anything from the mini-bar. I had consumed a coke and a bottle of mineral water. Kindly, he said "let's not worry about that, they are a gift from the Langham". A very nice touch and one that would encourage me to go back.

If you need to be in this part of London, I can't think of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at The Langham for one night between Christmas and NYE.

Great location at the top of Regent Street, a few minutes walk only from Oxford Street tube station, yet in a quiet area.

Very friendly staff by international 5* standards from concierge and bell boy to lobby staff. I stayed in various 5* hotels in London for business and The Langham's staff was one notch above.

The Grand Room was very large by London standards with a huge marble bathroom with Penhaligon's amenities (Isn't luxury about small details..) as well as all facilities including tea and coffee. Such a large 28sqm room is definitely an exception for London.

Amazing gym facility (weights, machines, cardio) together with spacious changing rooms and a nice jacuzzi / rest area.

Having lived in London for over three years before, we decided to have breakfast at the nearby Riding House Cafe instead.

Room Tip: Classic Room and Grand Room haze the same size and layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Everything about this hotel was of a high standard. Very traditional and in an excellent location for shops and theatres etc.
Bed was very comfortable. Slept well..
We arrived quite early so the very helpful chap on the reception desk took care of our luggage and then rang us when the room was ready (only approx. half hour later). Case had been dropped off in the room, which was a nice little touch.
We also had afternoon tea in the Palm Court which was a lovely setting. Very pleasant to sit and listen to the pianist whilst indulging in some delicious sandwiches and scones :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel experience was fantastic,from the moment I arrived in the hotel their warm welcome made me feel at home.
The friendliness of all members of staff especially (Rodrigo receptionist ),and the quality of the hotel was so good that we had to extend our stay for some extra nights.Excelent location,very good food and an amazing spa facility.
I certainly recommend to any one wishing to have a genuine 5* service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London located in the heart of London's West End, a short walk from Oxford circus, has been delighting guests with enchanting hospitality since opening as Europe’s first Grand Hotel in 1865. Following an £80m transformation the hotel will charm you from the moment you step inside her dazzling new lobby. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa Fitness Club featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.