We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, London

Save Saved
You added The Langham, London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK HERE-MAX 15% OFF
Ranked #30 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I had afternoon tea on June 10th 2013, the actual tea room was beatiful , the service was not as prompt as the Ritz , however the waiter was very friendly and the pianist was excellent , cakes and sandwiches were very nice a good selections , hot scones added a nice touch we were both absolutely full after 2 hours off tea/ lunch

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,266
    358
    103
    36
    18
See reviews for
337
726
75
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Read previous reviews so decided to book and boy we were blown away by this hotel. It is amazing, not cheap but worth every penny. Staff excellent and so helpful. I was a bit worried that given the cliental we may not fit in as we are an ordinary couple, who work hard and like to treat ourselves now and again to something a bit special. We didn't feel out of place and found everyone very welcoming, which is something for London as we often find Londoner to be a bit stuck up.

Food and service first class and worth every hard earned penny. Highly recommended for that special treat or occasion. Thank you to everyone for making our stay so welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed there in between a trip to the Cotswolds, a night before, and two nights after. An expensive hotel, the Langham is well located close to Oxford Street and yet in a relatively quiet area. The overall experience was very good. The staff was friendly, the decor plush, the air conditioning quiet. The rooms are a bit small - we had a king bed and there was not a lot of space around it (at a later date, we obtained a much bigger room at the Strand Palace, though that is clearly not in the same class). But the fixings are good and everything is super clean. We slept well - the beds were more than comfortable and the pillows superb. The delivery and pick up of luggage to/from the room leaves something to be desired and requires a bit of patience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What an amazing hotel.

We have now stayed there on four occasions and never been disappointed. Sure, it doesn't come cheap but what does in the heart of London. Location wise is fantastic and convenient to everything (right near Oxford Circus and very short walk down Regent St to Piccadilly). Convenient to Covent Garden and all that London has to offer either by tube, bus or a quick cab ride.

The rooms are great and very comfortable and the club rooms really are special. Service is impeccable and the restaurants are great. The spa is something special and the gym facilities are what you would expect. The staff are (not surprisingly) very professional and nothing is any trouble for them.

Each time we have arrived it has a feel about it - a bit like coming home. For us, when we want a hotel in the heart of London, the choice is so simple.

The standard has never dropped. We will be back next time we get to London.

Room Tip: A club suite in the old section or one of the corner rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We love The Langham, London and have stayed there on numerous occasions.

The greeting at the door, the sweet smell in the public areas, the greeting at Reception and the ambience of the Hotel make it very special indeed. When it comes to branding, The Langham has got it right, everything from bottled water to staff uniforms has the unique Langham look.

On our second stay our room wasn't as expected so we made a comment to the Hotel, ever since then we have been given a larger room which is very much appreciated. The Langham will continue to be a regular place for us to stay in London, and we can't wait to get back there later this month.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband booked a suite for us for a one-night wedding anniversary stay away last night. Our room was unavailable until after 4pm despite check-in being at 3pm, due to 'maintenance issues', and nothing was done to ameliorate the situation. We went to the bar later that evening, and finding it packed, stood by the bar counter. We were moved away, being told this area was for staff only. We then stood by another wall (who wants to stand in the middle of an area filled with tables?) only to be shouted at minutes later by the bar manager: "Will you PLEASE respect my workstation?!" repeatedly. We asked gently if he might be minded to respect the paying customers who had bought drinks and had nowhere to sit OR stand without being shouted at by staff. Eventually, another very embarrassed waiter who had seen the treatment we were being given by his boss called the Duty Manager - who, when he pitched up, was as effective as a wet kipper fillet. When we tried to forget the situation in pursuit of a nice romantic evening after the Duty Manager left (having done nothing), my husband's offer of a handshake to the bar manager was literally smacked away by him! Gobsmacked, we then spotted a free table and my husband went to the bar to order another glass of wine of us- only to find himself being refused service on the grounds that we were 'drunk'. I wish, after one glass of wine!
We are a professional couple in our 50's. We aren't loud, brash or offensive and did absolutely nothing to deserve this treatment. So disgusted by this were we that we left not just the bar, but the hotel. The only nice thing about this place were the doormen who were charm personified. The rest? You can keep it. We will never be going back. They haven't even called today to apologise. But the reason why? I guess it's because their location means that whenever a room is vacated, it will be filled by yet another tourist, and they don't give a damn about repeat business or their reputation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langham08, Manager at The Langham, London, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mabel_Gripper,

Many thanks for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We were very dissapointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay and as you know have been investigating the matter further.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel.

Kind regards
The Langham, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Staying Period: Jan 2013 ( 4 nights) / Mar 2013 ( 8 nights)

The hotel is located within 5 minutes walking distance to the 2 cross roads of great shopping ( Regent & Oxford Street ). The staff we very attentive and the restaurant serving breakfast and dinner was excellent with fast and efficient service. The quality of the food was good and tasty.

The rooms are spacious with good quality furnishing and room service food was also timely delivered. The bell service was very attentive in getting us taxis to the airport and various locations during our stay despite the fact Mar 2013 was one of the coldest month of the season and it still snowed during that period and taxis were harder to get during that period.

The rooms are spacious in spite of London hotel's typical smaller rooms size compared to Asia.

Overall an excellent location with beautiful rooms. The corporate rate we have was very reasonable compared to the hotels (whom were charging excess of GBP 400) in Canary Wharf where my office is located and will definitely stay here again as I do not mind the tube ride into Canary Wharf for the good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#18 Family Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London located in the heart of London's West End, a short walk from Oxford circus, has been delighting guests with enchanting hospitality since opening as Europe’s first Grand Hotel in 1865. Following an £80m transformation the hotel will charm you from the moment you step inside her dazzling new lobby. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa Fitness Club featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , LHW, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, WHM Global Ltd., LondonMarketing.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.