We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel for a birthday treat !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, London

Save Saved
You added The Langham, London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
The Langham, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK HERE-MAX 15% OFF
Ranked #31 of 1,075 hotels in London
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel for a birthday treat !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our first stay at this beautiful elegant hotel on Saturday night, as a birthday treat for my husband. I had booked a couple of months ago and got a good deal, but you do have to pay up front for this offer.

Although we had a room at the cheaper end of the scale, it was an elegant room, beautifully furnished and had gorgeous curtains. And the king-size bed was soooooo very comfortable, great pillows too ! Our room and the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean.

Had our evening meal and breakfast in the Roux at the Landau restaurant; both meals were really good, nice polite helpful restaurant staff.

Bit of a wait at the check-in desk when we arrived, but we were dealt with efficiently and politely.

Overall.... definitely a 10/10 hotel ! I don't mind paying a fair price when the standard of accommodation is this good !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,196
    347
    99
    36
    18
See reviews for
310
697
70
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I took our first trip to Europe in July 2011. Our first stop was London, and we stayed at the Langham. We arrived very early and the front desk was kind enough to accommodate us immediately. The room was beautifully decorated, and the bed linens and tapestries were sumptuous. The bed itself was THE most comfortable bed I've ever experienced. In fact, I have been trying to duplicate the same bed with the same linens at home ever since, but I still haven't been able to achieve the same level of comfort and divine luxuriousness! Ever since that trip, my boyfriend and I measure all beds against the Langham bed, and none have measured up (and we travel quite extensively for work and vacation). The service was top notch; everyone was helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our first stay at The Langham Hotel Portland place but certainly wont be our last.
this is now my favourite hotel in London.
we stayed in a Langham Club Room which was spacious, well set out and very clean.
The hotel staff were polite and very helpful.
The Artesian bar was very stylish and well stocked and served a wonderful lunch.
Palm Court served an excellent Afternoon Tea which apparently it is famous for.
All facilities in the hotel were first class and whilst staying at the hotel i would urge you to book a table for Dinner at Michel Rouxs restaraunt "Roux at the Landau" which is accessed from inside the Hotel.

Room Tip: The Langham Club rooms are located on a seperate floor in the Hotel and have their own Lounge and Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had a really good, comforatble and quiet stay at the Langham a couple of weeks ago. The breakfast in Palm Court was delicious although the seating arrangement of lots of low soft sofas and little tables is not ideal. The staff were really helpful on where to eat out locally and when I left a library book in my room, they found it and posted it back to em at no extra charge, really personal service. I missed off a star as it felt very generic and lacked personality in my view - a minor point perhaps but if you're looking for a wow factor, I'd suggest Browns.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Langham many times. Everything was always perfect. I never wanted to stay anywhere else. But we just came back and I was really disappointed. Or room was tiny and it was quite uncomfortable for two people. When I went to the reception and asked why they said that the hotel was full but we come every year and made our reservation far in advance and we should have been told. Other than that the service is fantastic as always.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Grand hotel, excellent service & very comfortable rooms since it was refitted 2 years ago. Rack rate is top end - but to get an excellent discount check the top secret hotel deals on lastminute website (the langham is the only 5star hotel on regents street).
Spa is excellent way to waste a day when the weather is poor.
Breakfast is amazing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Langham on Portland Road is a really lovely place. My wife and I stayed for a weekend and we both felt as if we had been treated like a royal couple. Great staff, clean rooms, a shower that one could actually get to function and a very nice (award winning) cocktail bar. Lovely, heated swimming pool (didn't try the spa but it looked great). However, the main feature was the bed - probably the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever tried...we almost didn't want to get up! The only gripe is the noise from a private party being held at the hotel. Nonetheless, the luxuriousness and not least the location made up for that glitch. So, for a short stay in London the extra cost is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London located in the heart of London's West End, a short walk from Oxford circus, has been delighting guests with enchanting hospitality since opening as Europe’s first Grand Hotel in 1865. Following an £80m transformation the hotel will charm you from the moment you step inside her dazzling new lobby. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa Fitness Club featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.