We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, London to your Saves list
The Langham, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Must experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay at the Langham and it was amazing.
The grandeur of the hotel itself was worth the money. Service throughout is wonderful, the room is clean and very comfortable. The hotel has thought of everything, the gym, sauna and spa are all fantastic. Breakfast was good as was the ambience and service at palm court.
I'd reccommend this hotel to anyone who feels like a treat!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    381
    109
    39
    20
See reviews for
368
780
79
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stopped at The Langham on the last leg of our Honeymoon and were not disappointed.

Truely a beautiful 5* hotel. From the moment we arrived, staff were friendly and helpful, from the bell boys, to the receptionist and cleaner.

Our room was constantly kept clean and the turn down service was always done at a suitable time.

The small touches such as the fresh roses in the lobby and the decorative mirrors in the lift all help to make this hotel.

Don't question whether you should book this hotel. Just book it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A great hotel for a special occasion or treat for someone, especially if the recipient likes pink! The hotel when you enter has fantastic flower displays and smells incredible, we saw the florists in the morning re-doing all the vases in incredible detail. We had an executive room which was great, very peaceful, big bathroom and one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in! Had lunch in the Roux which was amazing, it takes a lot to impress me now when dining out but they did, the food and the service was some of the best we have ever had, Albert and Michael should be proud! Breakfast in the Roux was brilliant as well. I was recommended the hotel which is why I booked it and I recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in London, close to everything, walking distance to the west end, liberty, shopping all around and the BBC building opposite where you will always spot someone you recognise from the TV or radio walking in and out. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Dropped into the Langham for a post work drink on a Friday evening and was not disappointed. The bar was very busy (to be expected) but managed to steal a seat at the bar. Unsure of what I fancied I asked the barman to recommend a cocktail, to which he asked what I fancied. He then mixed the most delicious gin based cocktail I have ever had, garnished with half a passion fruit and a glitter covered leaf. Olives and nuts were great also. The bar staff are undeniably professional and friendly - with one pouring a lit brandy into a glass from an unnerving height. The atmosphere is cosy yet vibrant, filled with media folks wearing Oliver Peoples glasses. A true pleasure.

The only downside was that one of my companions was asked to sign when paying with a card. (With one cloned card under her belt due to this happening in a very smart restaurant in London in the past, she was rather suspicious). On enquiring, the friendly red headed manageress(?) couldn't do enough to investigate - and with no unusual transactions on the card in question since, it proved to be legit!

Overall, the bar is a lovely and exciting place to go, but be aware you may not get a table! Will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Getting to hotel was quick and no messing about. Express train from Heathrow to Paddington, hop into a cab and 10pounds later you're at the amazing Langham London hotel. Staff very helpful, checks you in and gave us a map that made us realise we didn't make the wrong decision for staying here because the location is so central. Very close to Oxford Circus metro entrance, supermarkets, shopping and food. Room was the best out of all the 5star hotels we stayed in during our trip. Spacious, very clean, bathroom was fresh & functional. Please do keep offering your guests a kettle. Other 5star hotels don't seem to have this nowadays. Handy when you just need a cuppa. Best of all not even a whisper from the air conditioning when you sleep. The bed ohhhh.... the Best! I just wished we booked to stay longer.

Room Tip: Request level 4 and upwards. Outward facing. All rooms are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love the staff's personal touches and attention to detail at The Langham. Roux at the Landau restaurant served us magnificent food and we had fun people watching in the Artisan bar for a couple of hours - indulging in their delicious cocktails. However, on this stay we unfortunately got an old mattress with a very big dip in it. I didn't notice too much when I first got into bed as housekeeping had disguised it with a feather mattress topper, but during the night as the feathers flattened I got very uncomfortable and had to resort to placing a pillow under the bottom sheet to fill-in the dip in the mattress. I can see from other reviews that some people have been given recently refurbished rooms, and so I can only draw the conclusion that we were in a room that was desperately in need of this! My tip would be to ensure that when booking you specifically ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms, as I think sleep quality is important and it will help you to get the most out of your stay at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langham08, Manager at The Langham, London, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review The Langham, London and for contacting us directly with your feedback. I hope you have received my email and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jane Lyons – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this fabulous hotel for two nights (26/27th jan) for our anniversary. We were upgraded to a recently refurbished room which was just lovely, everything was there to make our stay very comfortable. The hotel had acknowledged our anniversary with lovely cakes and fruit waiting in our room on our arrival.
The hotel staff are so friendly and go out of their way to speak to you and help at any opportunity. We ate in Roux restaurant, had the taster menu with matching wines and the meal exceeded our expectations it was fantastic.
We will definitely be back again

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London located in the heart of London's West End, a short walk from Oxford circus, has been delighting guests with enchanting hospitality since opening as Europe’s first Grand Hotel in 1865. Following an £80m transformation the hotel will charm you from the moment you step inside her dazzling new lobby. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa Fitness Club featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.