We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL AT THE LANGHAM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, London

Save Saved
You added The Langham, London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for free WiFi
Ranked #35 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL AT THE LANGHAM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Langham for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary where we were staying in the grand suite. Parking was very conveniently located and secure (only one minute walk from the hotel.)

From immediately entering the hotel we were welcomed by the ever so attentive and professional staff. We felt very much welcomed wherever we strolled, from the very grand front entrance, the lobby, reception, restaurants etc. and wherever we saw a member of the staff we were always greeted with a welcoming smile which instantly put us at ease.

The room was immaculately presented with excellent quality of décor and furniture. The bed was splendidly comfortable and the best sleep I’d had since I can remember. The curtains completely shut out any light which makes for an amazingly peaceful sleep and we didn’t hear anything from the adjacent rooms. Bathroom was luxury with marble and excellent shower. Breakfast was delicious with very grand dining and first class waiters.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us as we wanted to be close to Oxford Street and Piccadilly which was only a two minute walk and there are good restaurants just a stone’s throw away from the hotel. In fact the staff at the reception even kindly booked us a table at the Turkish restaurant nearby which was very helpful.

We wish to finish this review about the staff at the Langham. We can say with confidence that they are the best that we have experienced and there is no question of the fact that this hotel is 5star plus, not only due to the quality of the hotel but equally if not moreso due to the quality of service by the staff at the Langham. Special thanks to Ihab, Faisel, Quentin (at concierge) and Eleanor all of whom contributed to a memorable and truly satisfying experience that we will cherish. We shall definitely be returning to the Langham.

Yassar and Tay from Nottingham

Room Tip: rooms close to the elavator and stairs is a certain benefit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langham08, Manager at The Langham, London, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Yassar and Tay,

We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your message to the personally mentioned staff members, I'm sure they will be thrilled.

We look forward to welcoming you back and have a wonderful festive season

Kind regards
The Langham, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    361
    107
    38
    18
See reviews for
346
736
75
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati, ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the langham in September. It was my favorite thing about London! The service was wonderful! Every need was met and everyone from the doorman to the concierge was friendly an accommodating. We stayed in one of the club rooms which have us access to the club lounge. I HIGHLY recommend this. Free drinks, sushi, and snacks- breakfast in the lounge was also great! It was such a lovely place to refresh after trekking around the city. The rooms were nice, although they felt a tad outdated. Other than that, I can't say enough nice things about this hotel- it smelled wonderf, beautiful flower arrangement, helpful staff, available for your every need! One work comes to mind when I think of the langham- charming. Also fun that this hotel has housed quite a few notable, historical guests! Loved the langham!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Cannot say enough nice things about this place. Stayed there for a night with my wife having booked a (comparatively) cheap room on a website. Owing to a misunderstanding the hotel thought it was our anniversary and upgraded us and left us cakes and fruit and a handwritten congratulation card. Place was spotless and friendly, though the pool is quite a confusing trek from some rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This beautiful hotel is well located and is served by very well trained, friendly and helpful staff, all of whom take pride in their work and seek to make The Langham London something special. They have succeeded and the result is our new favorite London hotel.

Room Tip: The concierge does an admirable job of finding difficult tickets and making hard-to-get dinner reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Arriving on the Langham is a pleasure that makes you feel like an English Lord in every step of your stay. The rooms and the whole hotel is COMPLETELY clean and neat, all areas are fancy and classy but still you can receive a warm treatment that makes you feel like at home. The rooms are comfortable, the common areas are beautiful, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is great for shopping and sightseeing. Just to steps from the hotel is Oxford Street tube station, and also Regent's Park... also you are walking distance from major attractions and "must-see" places like Oxford Street, the beautiful Regent's Street, Leicester Square and if you like to walk, Trafalgar Sq, Buckingham Palace, Covent Garden and London's Theatreland are not so far.

Room Tip: I think top floors are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the best hotels available and I simply cannot speak highly enough of The Langham, London. The quality of service, attentiveness of the staff, the presentation and preparation of the food, are all second to none.

It is always a pleasure and a joy to stay at The Langham, London, and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stay at this hotel every time I'm in London. I travel extensively around the world for business, and this hotel is my favorite by far. It's not just that it's a beautiful hotel, and it is. But there are many beautiful hotels around the world and one could argue the particulars of each. However, what makes this hotel special is the staff. They are welcoming, friendly, always remember me, and extremely responsive. My favorite thing is to arrive at the Langham after extensive travels and have the doorman recognize me when I pull up in the taxi and say, "Welcome back." It's like coming home or visiting good friends. The hotel can be a bit pricey, but most hotels in London are and none compare with the service here, so I'm willing to pay a bit more for the outstanding service.

The Artesian bar is exceptional! Don't order off the menu. Ask them to create something special for you. I promise, you won't be disappointed. I can also promise that it will not just be a cocktail...it will be an experience you will tell your friends about.

This is a luxury hotel, so don't expect bargain prices. But do expect the top-notch attention and service that so many hotels try to offer but so few pull off. If you take a moment to give a friendly word to the staff and say hello, they will return your kindness 100 fold. They will remember you, get to know you and you will find yourself feeling right at home in this beautiful place, just as I do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#29 Business Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London located in the heart of London's West End, a short walk from Oxford circus, has been delighting guests with enchanting hospitality since opening as Europe’s first Grand Hotel in 1865. Following an £80m transformation the hotel will charm you from the moment you step inside her dazzling new lobby. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa Fitness Club featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, WHM Global Ltd., Agoda, getaroom.com, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.