We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 18 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, London to your Saves list
The Langham, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Elegant traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Langham is a true 5-star hotel, but does not have much personality. The location is good, but not great. It is only worth the price if you are wealthy and do not find the price expensive. If not, you may be disappointed. Comfortable rooms, good room service, nice bar, lovely spa (complimentary entrance for hotel guests) but with a noisy swimmingpool.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,377
    380
    108
    39
    20
See reviews for
366
778
79
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was our third stay in a Langham hotel (having previously enjoyed two wonderful experiences at their sister hotels in Hong Kong) and as far as the room goes, found it every bit as good.
Location
Perfectly located at the quiet end of Regent Street The Langham exudes quality and an obvious attention to detail throughout. Of worthy note is the peaceful nature – sheer bliss, there was no external noise and no loud guests heard traipsing up the corridors.
The Room
We stayed in one of the lower end category rooms, a Grand Room a shade under £300 for the night. The room was a reasonable size (neither large nor small) benefitting from one of the biggest and most comfortable beds we have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in - think the Westin Hotels’ Heavenly Bed+. All fittings were of the expected high quality and were in perfect harmony with the design of the room i.e. classic contemporary style. The bathroom albeit on the smallish side was also finished to an exemplary standard. Equipped with extremely high quality fittings, a marble sink unit and most important to me – a professionally (mastic) sealed bath and sink. Sounds sad but I can honestly say I have not encountered a bathroom which has been better sealed! Not a single sign of the dreaded black grime associated with so many establishments.
Only minor gripe was the room could have been fitted with a better TV than the rather average wall mounted Phillips Flat screen LCD – however, the wide choice of channels was impressive.
Facilities
Due to a busy itinerary, we were not able to visit the bars, restaurant and spa areas so cannot comment on service or quality. However having tried (and failed) to book the Landau in advance of our stay I would imagine the dining experience to be equally special.
Staff
All were superbly dressed, smart and polite. Perhaps not as super efficient as their Hong Kong colleagues, all were pleasant and polite.
Summary
A superbly luxurious hotel, immaculately decorated and well maintained. If you are looking for a special hotel to treat yourselves, which has oodles of style, history and a wonderful ambience, do give this hotel serious consideration - worth staying just for the bed!
Tip
If you are looking for a more affordable breakfast try the Garfunkels Restaurant (2 for £10!) on the same side of the road towards Oxford Circus. I don’t doubt it will be the same quality but it sure isn’t bad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Total renovation completed in 2009 at luxury level, but room prices still reasonable for the quality. Great location just two blocks north of major shopping street, Oxford. Selfridges five blocks away. We booked the "Family Room" which was spacious, and most unusual for a major European city hotel at this cost. Tastefully decorated in bedroom and in public spaces.

Room Tip: Always try and book a room that includes breakfast; there is a marked trend to make big profit at br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed recently overnight at The Langham basically because of its location and fitness room. Both are really good. Got an upgrade and stayed in a very well appointed room, with large marble bathroom, huge tub, shower, very comfy bed and no noise at all.
The hotel is very large and offers an outstanding experience in terms of service, attention to guests, cleanliness and room comfort.
If you're a fitness enthusiast, this is the place to stay. Treadmills, weights, bikes, everything you need, even bigger than some fitness clubs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great welcome to the hotel. Room good. Spa excellent. Location good for Oxford street and Mayfair. Excellent service

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
668 helpful votes 668 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stay here regularly and at over £300 a night and up to £1000 for a suite it has to be good.
We have stayed in all types of rooms from classic to club and suite, the classic rooms are not massive but are ok , club rooms are better with the use of an all incusive drink and snack area but you are paying through the nose for it so I would not bother again. We are members of their 1865 club as we are regular guests which can help with room choices etc but a discounted rate would be favourable.

The breakfasts are fantastic especially if it included in your room rate as at over £50 for 2 it can hit you in the pocket over a few days stay. We have had breakfast in the Artisan but mostly have room service as thats what your there for in our opinion.

The Landau no longer has Andrew Turner as Head chef and has instead gone down the Roux family route, we are in the Supper club so I will update in due course.

Room Tip: There really is not much of a view from any of the rooms but the higher the better for distant views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We enjoyed a New Year's stay at the charming quintessentially English Langham.
It was so refreshing to stay at a hotel that has got it so right on every level. The service in particular is second to none. All the staff are so pleasant and accommodating. They actually appear to enjoy and take a real pride in their work. We were made to feel really welome by everyone. Nothing is too much trouble to them.
The bed in our room was the most comfortable we've ever slept in - like a huge snuggly marchmallow with silky crisp cool cotton sheets.
Breakfast is fabulous and always starts the day off really well. We both loved every minute of our stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#23 Business Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London located in the heart of London's West End, a short walk from Oxford circus, has been delighting guests with enchanting hospitality since opening as Europe’s first Grand Hotel in 1865. Following an £80m transformation the hotel will charm you from the moment you step inside her dazzling new lobby. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa Fitness Club featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, LHW, Venere, Orbitz, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.