We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dissappointed...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, London to your Saves list
The Langham, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Free WiFi
Ranked #42 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Dissappointed...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We booked a summer special package with the Langham that included complimentary breakfast, high speed internet and a complimentary room upgrade. So we were quite looking forward to staying here.

We came from Toronto, and it was a long overnight flight. We got there around 12pm and asked the front desk whether our room was ready. She said the room was vacant, but they were still cleaning the room. Knowing that we just got off an overnight flight she told us gruffly that check in time was 3pm. I asked about the room upgrade. She informed me that they had available upgrade rooms, but it doesn't show up on their computer that i was eligible. I didn't print out my receipt and she said without "proof", she wouldn't do anything for me.

It was a long wait till 3pm (because of the flight), but when we returned to the front desk, 3 other couples came and got their rooms while we just sat there till 4pm. at this point i was a little annoyed, so i found another attendant, and told him the entire story. He escorted me to the business lounge where there was internet access to print out my receipt. He was very helpful and we finally got our upgraded room just past 4pm! (even without the upgraded room, i don't know why other people got their rooms first and why it took over 4 hours to clean the room...)

The next morning, we went down for our complimentary breakfast, where we found out that again we were not eligible... back to the business lounge... after talking to different hotel staff and providing 'proof', they finally approved our complimentary breakfast (conveniently with 10 mins left before the kitchen closes)

I don't know if it's a surprise to you yet, but i didn't get my high speed internet. I didn't even bother talking to them this time. i knew i wasn't eligible without proof...

We called the concierge to help us book 2 restaurants. One for lunch and the other for dinner. It was 9pm, and the concierge said they would call tomorrow. i didn't really know why, because i thought those restaurants would still be open and taking reservations. But i assumed they knew what they were doing and didn't want to insist.

They didn't call us back, didn't message us or anything. I called the concierge, he seemed confused and didn't know what i was talking about. But hastily told me the lunch had been confirmed but wasn't able to make the reservation for dinner. When i repeated the restaurant name, he replied "huh? oh... ya... no, we weren't able to make reservations there". To me it really felt as if he didn't even know which restaurant i was talking about. But i thought it was just me and one out of two ain't too bad!

We arrive at the lunch place, and the hostess tries my first name, my last name, phone number, hotel name, hotel phone number.... nothing... no reservations for us :(

All in all, the location was pretty good, the rooms were pretty nice, but to sum it up the staff seemed a little incompetent and didn't even try to help.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langham08, Manager at The Langham, London, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings of your experience. Should you wish to contact me directly, please do so at Jane.lyons@langhamhotels.com or [--].

Jane Lyons
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,508
    420
    112
    43
    22
See reviews for
409
846
84
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I took my Mum to The Langham for her birthday after we experienced an afternoon tea that knocked spots off The Ritz a couple of Christmases ago. We always said that we would go back so what better occasion than a birthday. I got a good deal on the internet for a Grand Twin, although still expensive. From the moment we arrived every member of staff made our experience magical. Our room was v.luxurious & super comfy. I went for a swim & had the changing room to myself - heaven & a selection of fluffy towels & robes. We had a fantastic breakfast in the Roux. I had full English; Mum had a gorgeous ham & cheese omelette. You have the option of buffet or waiter service, continental, English, Chinese, Japanese or Lebanese. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the coffee - it was weak & bitter.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The signature Langham fragrance welcomes you back the moment you arrive, as do the smiling staff throughout the hotel. Smallish rooms but very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The Landau restaurant is second to none as is the signature afternoon tea experience. All in all a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed 30th July for one night in a club room. The room was very spacious as was the bathroom, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The service was very attentive and the club lounge was wonderful with a wide range of magazines and newspapers. The breakfast and afternoon tea in the lounge were both excellent. The pool and spa was top notch. The gym was one of the best equipped hotel gyms I have ever used. Overall our stay was fantastic, would highly recommend for a weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is a a lovely, modern luxury hotel with all the conveniences. I would have given it 5-stars but it seemed to lack the service standard of other 5-star hotels I've stayed in. (The concierge was only semi-helpful, the staff was friendly but didn't seem to go out of their way -- it was perfectly adequate just not amazing.) But room and amenity-wise it was a 5-star hotel or very nearly one. It's a in a great location, right off of a main street, but quiet, a block or two from a major tube station that will get you almost anywhere. I would stay here again without a doubt, however we also stayed at the Draycott on this trip and I would prefer to return there even though it's not as luxurious a hotel. (I liked the fusty charm of it better and adored the neighborhood.)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dormansland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was our second stay at The Langham. We initially stayed for our honeymoon in January 2010. We had a lovely couple of days but there were a couple of things that we felt didn't justify the price. This included a cold room service breakfast and the wrong bed linen. We just felt that considering the room rate and price of breakfast, this was slightly below par. Having left our these details on the comment card we were surprised that to receive an e-mail from The Langham offering us a free night in the same room to make up for our slight disappointment.
We were very impressed by The Langhams customer service as we knew many other hotels would not have bothered. So we had another night in a Executive Grand room with breakfast also provided. We had another lovely stay. The building itself is beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous. I particularly fell in love with the bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family and I have stayed here several times and it is our preferred hotel in London mainly due to its location near Oxford Circus. Fantastic for shopping and within easy reach of a lot of the main London attractions.

The hotel itself is very good. Not quite up to the standard of the good 5 star Asian hotels (I am based in Asia) but that is fairly typical for the older London hotels. However, no complaints - the room and bathroom were still very good and the cleaning service excellent. There is also a decent bar and cafe to have afternoon tea etc in. The staff were also very helpful. One whinge (and it is a whinge against most hotels) - stop charging (high) fees for WiFi (20 pounds per day). It's free for you and should be part of the room price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#25 Family Hotel in London
#31 Romantic Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London located in the heart of London's West End, a short walk from Oxford circus, has been delighting guests with enchanting hospitality since opening as Europe’s first Grand Hotel in 1865. Following an £80m transformation the hotel will charm you from the moment you step inside her dazzling new lobby. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa Fitness Club featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.