We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location at an affordable rate! Junior Suite has Double bed, Not King bed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley to your Saves list
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location at an affordable rate! Junior Suite has Double bed, Not King bed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We got a free upgrade and were upgraded to the Junior Suite on a Saturday night.

1) Price: Very good rate with the hotel being in such a good location.

2) Location:
Very good location. 5 mins walk to British Museum, 10 mins walk to Covent Garden / Leicester Square.

3) Hotel:
In a lovely historical building, it has a bar and a restaurant. Other than these they don't have any other facilities which are not essential as if you are visiting London, you wouldn't spend time in a gym or swimming pool anyway!

4) Room:
We stayed in the Junior Suite (Room 616), it is the largest room in the hotel and the room we stayed was on the top floor. The suite has 1 living room area and 1 bedroom, note there is no door between them, including two sofas, two television and 1 double room.

Decoration inside the room has no thrills, it looks like someone's house (especially the bedroom is very basic). There are ironing board with iron etc, but there is no minibar!

One thing that people should take note is, this junior suite only has a DOUBLE bed, not a King bed. As far as I know there are King bedrooms in the hotel, we would have preferred a king bed rather than a double bed suite. There were only two of us, we spent most of the time outside enjoying London, we didn't really need a bigger room but rather we would prefer a bigger bed! But since it was a free upgrade, we didn't want to be 'downgraded' to a smaller room. -- Also a note to The Kinglsey, why not putting a king bed in the junior suite where you do have the space?

5) Service:
Service was good, we were so glad to be upgraded. Room was nicely decorated with petals and balloons, also they gave us a box of chocolate. However, we were promised a turn-down service but they didn't do it at the end. That was not a big deal but we had to remove the petals and balloons off the bed ourselves after a long night out in London at 1 a.m.

6) Breakfast:
Breakfast was fine, it was buffet style, food was average. Nothing special. There are lots of restaurants around so if you want some good food you could go somewhere else. For us we just prefer the fact that we could just go down for breakfast. The only weird thing was most guests were seated in the same area when there were lots of empty tables in other area. I could understand that it was easier for them to wait on everyone but no one dared to say much as you felt like everyone would be listening in around you!

7) Membership:
Register with them and you can have a free Sunday night stay and a free lunch with them. Worth doing it!

8) Conclusion: We would definitely stay with them again if we are to visit Central London. Location is the main factor. Visiting London means we are not going to spend much time in the room, so even though the room is not exciting enough, that doesn't really matter! However, we might not be bothered with the breakfast next time, as we found some little cafes nearby and we would be happy to have nice breakfast somewhere else.

Thanks and Well done to the Thistle team! We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Hotel in a busy area just don't expect you will have a good view. Junior Suite only offers a dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear guest,
It’s so nice to read your thorough review. I am sure it’ll be helpful to lot of visitors. Thank you for the same and for staying at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall.
I look forward to welcome you soon.
Sincerely
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    428
    91
    26
    6
See reviews for
196
557
52
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We choose the Kingsley because it was close to Drury Lane and the theatres. There are also a large number of decent restaurants nearby. The hotel was welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The bar prices are just too high though so use one of the many pubs nearby. The staff were helpful and cheery. We were there on "Crunchy Friday" when anyone who spotted the plates of crunchy bars at reception got one for nothing. A nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmow, Essex
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed for my birthday, and were upgraded to a mini suite on arrival, which was lovely. The room was spacious, with tasteful decoration and furnishing. Everything we needed was on hand, from robes and slippers, ironing board and iron, lights in the wardrobe and lit shelves in the bathroom. Everything was very plush, the bed very comfortable, the AC effective and quiet. Breakfast was great, the usual buffet, but everything looked and tasted fresh, despite us going down only 30 mins before the end of service. The staff were charming, and didn't seem at all put out when we stayed half an hour after breakfast service finished, eating muffins and drinking our second pot of tea. i loved the decor in the public areas, especially the slightly gothic style metal staircase.

Room Tip: we stayed in 416.... around the back courtyard, so i guess quieter than being on the front road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Visited Thistle while in London with 5 friends.

Hotel was charming, Staff were welcoming, Rooms were clean & neat.

Im a huge fan of smaller boutique hotels so this was right up my Alley.

The neighborhood is lively with several bars & restaurants just in walking distance.

We sat down & chatted with the bartender for about an hour as we sipped on beer & wine. Lovely time. If I go back to London, I can see myself staying here again!

CHEERS TO THISTLE!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Glad we decided on this hotel for our four nights in London. Location was the best yet. We arrived at Euston Station and it was a 15 minute walk to the hotel. We also walked to Camden the next day which took around 20 minutes. There is also a bus station outside the front door and the nearest tube station is around the corner.

The room was fairly small but was sufficient for our short stay. Staff were friendly too. Did not have breakfast here so couldn't comment on the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing to say at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and for your review. I am pleased to read you found our location ideal to your requirement. Sorry to learn the room provided was smaller than your expectations, we do have spacious Executive room (approx 30sqm) and Junior Suites (approx. 40sqm) available at small supplement.
I am glad you found the team friendly.
I look forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have stayed here for trips to London on 4 occasions and have never been disappointed. The staff are attentive and very helpful. The rooms are clean and have everything you need for a comfy night. The breakfasts have everything you could imagine for breakfast. The hotel is in a great position 10ins walk from Covent garden 5 mins walk from British museum 5 mins from Oxford Street. It was the 1st time we had a room at the front of the hotel, but the road noise was not intrusive and did not keep us awake. I have stayed in other hotels in London, but having never found this hotel lacking this will be the only hotel I stay in when visiting London

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Clean, quiet ( at least on the 6th floor). Nice bar, friendly staff. Nice old Victorian building but fairly small. Good location for Theatreland. Quite expensive however for what it is? Towels in wardrobe were slightly musty.

Room Tip: As high as possible - it goes up to 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley; named after Victorian novelist Charles Kingsley, Built 1898, Opened as a hotel in 1900 This Edwardian building was graciously refurbished with £10m investment in 2009.
Although the hotel is quite popular our prices are quite competitive compare to similar level hotels in the area. Rates do vary based on lots of factors. You get the best rates on our website, alternatively feel free to contact us directly and we shall ensure you receive the best rates. Thank you for your feedback about the towels and sincere apologies for the same, we shall look into it right away.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in London
#95 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
#118 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.