We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley to your Saves list
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Maitland Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very happy with our 4 night stay, great location at Covent Garden with bus stop out the front & Holborn Station a 5 minute walking distance so very convenient for sight seeing. Staff was very friendly & helpful.
Breakfast was great & had a large choice on their menu. British Museum is a 2 minute walk & many restaurant near by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    428
    91
    26
    6
See reviews for
196
557
52
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at The Kingsley July of this year. It was my first stay and certainly not my last. It is a beautiful hotel, in a fabulous location for touring round London.
The building itself is very inviting from the outside and even more so once inside.
The rooms are nice and clean with a simple, chique décor. My room had an extra room for luggage, which was excellent. Bed extremely comfortable, and nice bright bathroom.
The restaurant is bright and airy....the food excellent. Very nice lounge/bar to relax in.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. An excellent work force....contributing to an excellent stay. I am looking forward to staying at this hotel again in the near future and have recommended this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at The Kingsley on our first visit to London this September and had a great visit. The hotel itself is centrally located so it makes it very easy to get around to all of the major tourist sites, restaurants, etc., either by walking or using the tube.

The staff were very friendly and attentive, ensuring that all of our needs were met right from the very beginning.

We were upgraded to their Executive King Room and it to be slightly above average. The room was very bright and spacious, with loads of storage for all of our luggage. One can see immediately that they have tried to create a boutique hotel experience but the quality behind the craftsmanship is lacking. A few tiles (one or two) in the bathroom were loose and moved/squeaked when they were stepped on.

We would definitely recommend The Kingsley to anyone planning a trip to London and we will certainly stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Like a lot of reviewers, one of the main attractions is the location. Upon arrival, the lobby is simple and elegant. So are the rooms. Our double room was spacious enough with decent size bathroom. A limitless minibar would have been great. But not a big miss either. Even on the 5th floor some noise from the street. So for light sleepers this could be an issue. But an excellent bed makes up for it.
Reception a bit on the sales side when we arrived. A normal check in and warm welcome would have been nicer. We did not eat in the hotel. There are great venues around to go out. Not a cheap place, all considered. But a very decent hotel which is worth consideration for a stay in london.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in September for business. The staff was friendly upon check in and during the entire stay. They were excellent.

The room was nice and clean, it was a deluxe king. Small room with limited tv channels (no sports).
Free wifi, which was very good. Rooms could get a little noisy, but its London, what do you expect.

Close to many locations to eat and 2 subway stops with a 5 minute walk.

overall good stay, would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the Holborn station, this proved to be a great positive during my trip. The hotel is fairly clean (although I had to ask them to clean a portion of the tiles in my bathroom) and quiet. The staff is fairly nice. The manager/hostess of the breakfast area was particularly welcoming and friendly, which I did appreciate. In sum the location was great, but I was a bit underwhelmed by the hotel as a whole (felt more like a 3.5 star hotel). Also, my room was on the smaller side and I was given a room in the basement which infuriated me at first but I learned to live with it (way too busy during my trip to move to another room).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now, with business and leisure.

Location-great location, a couple of minutes walk from Holborn tube, short walk to Covent Garden and really great location for Theatre.

Rooms & Decor-clean and contemporary. Cannot complain at all. Rooms aren't huge but folks you are not going to get huge rooms anywhere in London without spending a lot more cash than this-be realistic in your expectations.

Cost-cannot complain at all, I have spent a lot more and been disappointed.

Breakfast-we purchased directly at the hotel (cheaper than through an intermediary) and was very nice, I have a thing about scrambled eggs, some people make it hard and pebble like, at this hotel it was creamy and moist as it should be. Fresh fruit and cereals also available.

Staff- saved the best bit until last, everytime be it for work or leisure the staff are very friendly and helpful. I was suffering a cold when we travelled and they really did look after me. Again I have paid a lot more to be treated as an inconvenience in London.

Keep up the great work and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the breakfast! Was pleased to read that the team looked after you during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
#120 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.