We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Theater Goers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley to your Saves list
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book HERE - save 15%
Ranked #116 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good location for Theater Goers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We very much enjoyed our week-long stay, although the rooms were tiny, we looked out to a wall, and we had to ask for face cloths every day. The hotel provides a generous buffet breakfast included in the price of the room. The staff was very friendly and courteous, but many were young and not well trained. We were not able to get accurate directions to restaurants, tourist sites, or metro transfers. The staff seemed to be new to the city and not well informed. We did take advantage of the full bar, which also provided late night light meals. We were on a London Theater Tour, so the location was excellent - within walking distance of many good theaters and restaurants. The British Museum housing antiquities is a block away, and Oxford, an extension of Bloomsbury Way, is a very good shopping street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. We have arranged for all our new team members to attend local walks to get improved knowledge of the local area. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Holborn The Kingsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    476
    98
    29
    6
See reviews for
220
633
57
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A good hotel well placed for London City and Covent Garden/Theatre land. The staff are more than helpful and very friendly. the basic pillows are poor, but you can request other pillows at no extra cost. The good news is that they now offer free wi-fi for hotel guests

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel does have a range of pillows, so if you would prefer a different type of pillow just let us know. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Excellent Service - staff could not do more for you!
Wonderful breakfast. Clean rooms with lovely beds. Busy London location but inside its lovely. Would stay again and recommend.

Lovely deco (very modern) and lift saving your legs from all the stairs!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel has a great location. Close to everything, the british museum is just a few blocks away and Oxford street is nearby as well. Breakfast was excellent and very good service buy the employees. Rooms are clean and tasteful, but a bit narrow. They charge you for late check out, which is not something I have experienced before. Overall this is a great place to stay when in London, a lot of good places to eat in the neighborhood. So if you can cope with small rooms. This is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here as part of a birthday gift I had received from family. We stayed for 1 night on the 27th May. We had tickets to see Stomp and this hotel is within perfect walking distance to a number of the theaters as well as Soho, Covent Garden and Oxford Street, plus 2 tube stations should you wish to see other parts of London.

The interior of the hotel is very modern and chic. It is very clean and shiny and looks of a very high standard. We were greeted and checked in by a really lovely and helpful member of staff called Sergio, when he found out it was my birthday he brought me out a complimentary box of birthday truffles from the hotel, then (amazingly!!) he upgraded our room from the Delux Double to a Junior Suite! We have never recieved such great friendly service before in any hotel, and we have stayed in a number of hotels in London over the years. He then looked up the theater we were going to and circled it on the map, as well as a number of other places we wanted to see, he was incredibly helpful and really was happy to go the extra mile to make our stay perfect. I find some front of house hotel staff just want to check you and ship you out to move onto the next customer - luckily there wasnt anyone else waiting so he was happy to chat to us for a while, making sure we had all the info we needed.

Our room was lovely, the suite was big, with a lareg kingsize bed, seating and dining in a separate room, walk in wardrobe and large clean bathroom - I just wish we had been staying longer. We had a great nights sleep as there was no road noise, granted our bedroom wasn't at the front of the building, the only thing the room lacked was a view, but that really wasn't important to us. The bed was super comfy and had plenty of pillows and blankets spare if needed.

My only tiny criticism was with the breakfast, for £10 a head I wasn't hugely impressed by it. It was a very basic cooked breakfast, the fried bread was more like french toast it was so hard and brittle, the scrabbled egg was undercooked for my liking and the hash browns had been overcooked so were very hard on the outside, nothing that interesting, almost the level you would expect of any regular hotel breakfast. But that didn't take away from the great service from Sergio or the lovely room and great location. Next time I just probably wouldn't bother with breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Sergio and the rest of the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Kingsley and had a wonderful stay. The room was really lovely, the staff couldn't have been friendlier and the location was perfect for so many places - we will be back! Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

First time in London, walking distance to Coven Garden, Soho, two tube stations, very nice rooms, we got there before check in and they gave us a nice room. The hotel is small but I think that's the way hotels are in London, the room was spacious enough and very modern and chic. The bed was very comfortable. I definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#97 Romantic Hotel in London
#121 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.