We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley to your Saves list
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights a mix of business and vacation. The rooms are fairly small, but very clean and well kept. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is very convenient to dining (Soho) and shopping (Oxford Street)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. With regards to bedroom size due to the age of the building this does vary from room to room, however we do have 11 Junior Suites which are available at a premium. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    428
    91
    26
    6
See reviews for
196
557
52
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Kingsley because of the great Tripadvisor reviews, and we absolutely loved it. We booked through Orbitz and upgraded our room to include the king size bed (a must); therefore our room was spacious and even had a sitting area with a beautiful view of the church next door. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our flight arrived very early therefore we were unable to check in, but the concierge offered to hold our bags so that we could find some food and explore a little. (Tip: Definitely check out Museum Street around the corner. It's full of little cafes that serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.) They provided us with maps of the city and recommendations on where to eat; excellent service! The food at The Kingsley is also great. We ate downstairs at the Two Brasserie restaurant for breakfast one morning and ordered room service for dinner several nights. Everything was delicious. We loved everything about this hotel and highly recommend it. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and couldn't hear any road noise except for in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. We are very lucky to have eleven Junior Suites which are far larger than the bedrooms and as you mention these are available for a supplement at the Front Desk. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location for theatres and Soho/Covent Garden all walkable.Very helpful girls on reception (wish I could remeber their names) Good sized,clean,airy room.Good bathroom.Will use again for business and leisure.Booked through lastminute who wewre rubbish but the hotel staff made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and it is my favourite in London. The rooms I have stayed in are spacious - don't get one on the top floor as I think they are smaller - I;ve even had suites even though paid for standard rooms. The bathrooms are lovely and the staff are so accommodating - everyone from the concierge to the cleaners are so friendly and welcoming. I have always found the hotel spotlessly clean with big fluffy towels and in some rooms slippers and bathrobes. The location is second to none - near British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, and theatres. Lots of excellent restaurants of every type of cuisine within walking distance. If you like a quiet room ask for one at the back of the hotel as there is a bus stop right outside the hotel.

The only other down side is that the cooked buffet breakfast can sometimes have been out on the counter for a while. However, just ask the waiter/waitress for the chef to cook you something fresh such as omelette or soft boiled eggs and they will cook something to order.

You will feel really looked after at this hotel whether you are a business traveller on your own, or a family on vacation. The people at this hotel are really special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel has rooms of all different sizes due to the age of building and rooms at the back or middle of the hotel are far quieter. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I liked staying (for one night) in this hotel - very well located, in the heart of Bloomsbury, literally 10 minutes from Holborn tube station, just next to Museum street bus stop.
The twin bedroom is not huge, but was cosy and comfortable.
I had the chance to get a room with a view on St Georges Bloomsbury Church, no noise from the street.
I did not use the hotel's restaurant or bar and did not have breakfast there (as there are plenty of alternatives in the area), so cannot comment.
And the reception team try their best to help you - I was running very late for my flight departing for Heathrow - they managed it perfectly. And thanks to the great taxi driver I even made it on time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a nice (but not great) hotel in a good (but not great) location. The service is competent (but not excellent) and the physical features of the hotel well done (but a tad pedestrian). In other words, while I found that little at the hotel was truly faulty, I was underwhelmed.

Strengths: the renovation of the building, the design of the bathrooms, the layout of the rooms; good Wifi; the location - as easy walk to most attractions in Bloomsbury and the West End.

Weaknesses: the little things missing at breakfast (e.g., juice); slow service at busy times; humdrum nature of the decor.

Room Tip: If you like a view and light avoid Room 314: two small windows facing a wall! But it is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that overall you seemed to be happy your stay with us and that the team looked after you. We will of course take your feedback on board so that we can continue to develop the hotel into your first choice hotel when in London. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the kingsley by thistle for two nights, while on short visit to london.

Since we didn't have much time to visit the city we decided to stay in a central area, and avoid time commuting, that was the reason why we picked the kingsley. We couldn't have made a better choice, its near Oxford St and Covent garden two of my favorite areas.

Even though the room was not big compared to those new and modern hotel chains, is compensated the lack of size with immaculate cleaning, and cosiness.It was the perfect refuge for when every time we were tired from sightseeing and needed a break.

For me the breakfast is always of the deal breakers in hotels, and their buffet was full of very tasty food.

The Hotel staff were excellent, always very helpful, always giving great suggestion and they didn't let me down when they recommend the hotel restaurant. In the end they ended up being a part of my stay in london.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. Also pleased to read your comments about breakfast... a great way to start the day! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in London
#93 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
#120 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.