We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there (yet?)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley to your Saves list
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book HERE - save 15%
Ranked #116 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not quite there (yet?)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a nice (but not great) hotel in a good (but not great) location. The service is competent (but not excellent) and the physical features of the hotel well done (but a tad pedestrian). In other words, while I found that little at the hotel was truly faulty, I was underwhelmed.

Strengths: the renovation of the building, the design of the bathrooms, the layout of the rooms; good Wifi; the location - as easy walk to most attractions in Bloomsbury and the West End.

Weaknesses: the little things missing at breakfast (e.g., juice); slow service at busy times; humdrum nature of the decor.

Room Tip: If you like a view and light avoid Room 314: two small windows facing a wall! But it is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that overall you seemed to be happy your stay with us and that the team looked after you. We will of course take your feedback on board so that we can continue to develop the hotel into your first choice hotel when in London. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    474
    98
    29
    6
See reviews for
220
629
57
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the kingsley by thistle for two nights, while on short visit to london.

Since we didn't have much time to visit the city we decided to stay in a central area, and avoid time commuting, that was the reason why we picked the kingsley. We couldn't have made a better choice, its near Oxford St and Covent garden two of my favorite areas.

Even though the room was not big compared to those new and modern hotel chains, is compensated the lack of size with immaculate cleaning, and cosiness.It was the perfect refuge for when every time we were tired from sightseeing and needed a break.

For me the breakfast is always of the deal breakers in hotels, and their buffet was full of very tasty food.

The Hotel staff were excellent, always very helpful, always giving great suggestion and they didn't let me down when they recommend the hotel restaurant. In the end they ended up being a part of my stay in london.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. Also pleased to read your comments about breakfast... a great way to start the day! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were travelling through London on our way to Italy. I have always found London hotels to be a bit unpredictable - you can pay a fortune and get something pretty ordinary. I was hoping for somewhere nice as was having a special trip away with my daughter and we wanted a good location to run around London like mad things for 48 hours but didn't want to go completely overboard with price. What a find! We had a great stay. The hotel is really lovely and is in the best location. The staff couldn't do enough for us. We had come from the US where we generally find the service is fantastic (obviously the service needs to be good as the wages are so bad and they rely so heavily on tips) but The Kingsley was every bit as good. Our room was exceptionally quiet and comfortable. We walked everywhere. Although only there for one night, we did manage to get to the theatre and it was an easy walk back to the hotel afterwards. One of the great advantages of this hotel is the ease of getting there from Heathrow. We caught the tube in as it seemed more straightforward than the quicker ways. It was terrific - we went straight from Heathrow to Holborn and a few minutes walk to the hotel. We will be back - the staff were really impressive and couldn't do enough - management should be exceptionally pleased - every one of them went that bit extra and breakfast was great !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night as part of an overnight work trip. The staff are very friendly and make sure your stay is happy and comfortable. The hotel is nicely designed and a good price for the area, however it is in serious need of soundproofing from outside noise - the sash windows just don't hold out the noise of the busy road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. We have just completed the upgrading of the secondary glazing in a number of bedrooms to help with the sound proofing. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As London hotels are expensive the Thistle offers good value for this area. Good location and service. The food was very good and the area had plenty to do, situated near the museum, shopping and theatres.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After getting over the initial sticker shock of most hotels in London I found this hotel to be in the perfect location for me. I was able to take the picadilly line straight from LHR to Holborn station. Holborn station also intersects the central line making this an easy way to get to many areas of London.
The room was clean and adequate for my needs. The bathroom was a very good size with a full bath/shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Warm,prompt and friendly welcome. Excellent bedroom - super king bed.
We had come to see War Horse. Theatre a couple of hundred yards away and excellent eating pubs. Good choice at breakfast but ... Hot food had been sitting there for a long time and was unappetising.
Easy and quick checkout. Taxi easily hailed

Room Tip: Go early to breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. Can I assure you I have addressed your comment about breakfast with the Head Chef so that smaller amounts of food are put out more often to keep the food fresher. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#97 Romantic Hotel in London
#123 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.