We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Save Saved
You added Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 1,075 hotels in London
leeds, west yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a find in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

From the outside, the kingsley by thistle hotel does not look very big, but once you get inside it is so unlike the usual corporate hotels. Having had a recent refurb, it feels very welcoming and somehow homely. Check in was very efficient, and the staff were all very friendly.
We had room 602 which was a deluxe twin room, and were surprised at the quality and fittings ...the bathroom has a power shower and bath, with wood fttings, and the room has a proper kettle (not the usual plastic ones which takes ages to boil) and complimentary tea, coffee milk sugar and bicuits.
The beds were exceptionally comfortable, and the hotel offers a pillow menu .. in room were firm and soft, but if you wanted feather pillows, or anti allergy or any choice on the menu all you have to do is ring reception and ask for them to be sent to you're room.
The large LCD tv in the room has a wide choice of TV and radio channels avail at no charge, including most standard sky ones (dave, sky1, sky news etc...)
The room has its own heating / aircon unit, all you have to do is set the temperature and it is all set.
We decided to have an evening meal in the kingsley two restaurant, and took advantage of the 2 course set meal at £17.95 (3 course £23.95) and the quality of the food was outstanding. We would happily have paid the price of the 2 course for the main course, the food was simply some of the best we have ever had in a hotel (and paid much higher prices for...). The maitre d, guiseppe, was very helpful and knowledgble and made us feel like we were special friends, he quite made our evening. As we had said such good things about the food, he arranged for the chef to come to our table which was a really nice gesture on his part.
The following morning, after our visit to the Jersey Boys show in London (which was sensational) we went down to breakfast, and Guiseppe was there to greet us and he asked about our trip to the theatre and made sure we had tea and coffee before we went to serve ourselves from the breakfast, and what a breakfast choice!!.
There was (on hot food) cumberland sausages, back bacon, hash browns, baked beans, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, fried bread. If you wished you could have ordered kippers or eggs benedict as well.
There was fresh fruit salad, fresh fruit, croissants, danish pastries, cold meats, selection of cheeses.
Various cereals ....i.e muesli, cornflakes, weetabix etc etc.
Fresh orange juice, apple juice, cranberry juice.
quite the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel, and all nice and hot and fresh.
One tip...if you have booked room only, ask for breakfast ticket on check in as it only costs £10 , otherwise it is £16.95.
It may sound a lot, but you get a very good breakfast that will set you up for the day ahead, and is well worth the money
There are 2 tube stations within easy walking distance (about 10 mins away) and these are Holborn and Tottenham Court Road. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel.
To get to the hotel by taxi from Kings cross or st pancras will cost about £8 - £10. and takes about 15 - 20 minutes depending on london traffic.
We travelled a lot on the tube, and found that purchasing an oyster card at the ticket desk (cost £5 each) and topping up was by far the easiest way to get around ... you can top up at any station using the sel service machine, using cash or debit or credit card. Fares are quite a bit cheaper using the oyster card so should work out cheaper if you travelling around london.
We found the best free places to visit were the science museum, and the natural history museum, and the victoria and albert museum (all next to each other, use south kengsington tube station and they are all signposted from the station). Although they request a donation, you are not forced to pay if you cant afford to.
Our rating for this hotel is off the scale, we had a wonderful stay and feel we have now found our home away from home in London. Please try this hotel, you will not be disappointed.. .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    619
    377
    76
    22
    6
See reviews for
170
480
47
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I am happy to say that The Kingsley has provided an excellent service from beginning to departure. A well appointed hotel that is as good on the inside as out. The welcome at Reception was friendly and was able to book in without issue. My room was unavailable so I was able to leave my Luggage with the concierge who was polite, helpful and knowledgeable

I returned later with my friend who I met in London and who was staying with me, My welcome was as warm as when I arrived in the morning. My luggage was brought to my room and we were able to settle in. Our Junior Suite had a fantastic lounge, bed and bathroom. The décor was contemporary and to our taste.

After a night on the tiles in London, gaining access to the Hotel was not an issue either and with the air con on we had a cosy nights sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was very tasty and Buffet style, so we wear able to get a hearty meal before going our different ways after Checking out. Polite and helpful breakfast staff were not intrusive but always ready to re charge our Tea/Coffee and make sure there was an ample supply of toast.

Check out was quick, simple and easy. I am looking forward to staying with them again and enjoying the fantastic facilities, its great location and above all the excellent customer service that is provided here.

Room Tip: 117 :) its a Winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline,scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Last week we stayed for 3 nights at The Kingsley Hotel in London.We are regular visitors to London (lived there in the 'swinging 60's'!!) but this was our first stay at this particular hotel.We,and our 2 friends, were delighted with the quality,value and service provided by the Kingsley and will definitely return.Staff were very helpful and friendly and whole ambience of the hotel was very warm - despite the sub-zero temperatures outside!!!
We kook forward to our next stay at the Kingsley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking time to write about your stay, and for the positive comments. We are delighted that The Kingsley is now your preferred hotel in London and we are looking forward to getting to know you! Please contact us directly when you have your next trip in mind and we will take care of all the arrangements
Kind regards
Johan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I'll start on a positive note the staff couldn't be more helpful or friendlier, especially at breakfast

The hotel however has been made to look expensive and looks great until you decide to do anything,

First night need to work for the next day - Internet is BT-Openzone (£27 for 5 days) not included in hotel cost of (£160pppn) nor apparently is breakfast at a reduced rate of £10/day

So work in room, chair is uncomfortable and internet is painfully slow a check with a speedchecker says too slow to run.

Go to sleep bed is uncomfortable and air con sounds like someones old fridge freezer.
Door is badly designed so lets a lot of light in from underneath, and if like me you like to sleep in dark not ideal.

Shower in the morning and the temperature dial comes off in my hand, any attempt at fixing yielded no results, had to shower in another room, following day told fixed but actually just fixed at "a little too hot" - lose will to complain.

all toiletries of poor quality - if you have to stay here bring your own, towels had dirty marks down them - lose will to complain about anything else want sleep.

get woken up at 5am by I think the air con having a fit - turn off air con attempt to go back to sleep - not happening.

Room Tip: went for shower on 6th floor - shower worked best I can say
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detail review about your stay at The Kingsley. Your review head line posed a question I am hoping to answer in person and would be really grateful if you could contact me directly to discuss your experience in more detail. I am really sorry to hear that we did not deliver on this occasion and would appreciate an opportunity to restore your faith in us. Your comments about the team’s friendly and helpful approach is much appreciated and I look forward to sharing your recognition with them
Kind regards
Johan Scheepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have just returned from an overnight stay in the Kingsley as part of a group of 8 for my mums 60th and we were all very impressed. I had requested quiet rooms close together, and we were provided with both, in fact it felt like we had our own little wing as only our 4 rooms were on the corridor behind a glass fire door. All the soft furnishings are modern and have a luxurious feel to them, and everywhere was spotless. Also, the beds were very comfortable. All the staff were very professional, smart and helpful.
My mum was pleasantly surprised to have a hand written card and beautiful box of chocolates for her birthday waiting in the room.
What really made it for this hotel is it's location, we were able to walk everywhere we needed within 5/10mins - theatres, Oxford Street, Covent Gardens.
We all said we would return to the hotel, and considering friends stayed in a Travelodge only £10 cheaper but had to share beds, have cold showers and endure tired decor, I think we had a great deal.

Room Tip: We had rooms 510-13, which we're very quiet and would be requesting them on returning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

just returned from a wonderful weekend in london, i'd booked tickets to a show as a christmas present for my partner and wanted a nice hotel that was nearby. i got a great deal on line for the hotel and was amazed at what we got for the price - the hotel itself has been updated to a high standard, and was very clean and welcoming. even better was the fact that it was only a 5-10 min walk from all of the theatre's and leicester square etc.
our room was quite small but very well decorated and very comfortable, and we were pleased to find that we had a room at the back of the hotel as we had heard that rooms at the front of the building could be very noisy due to the traffic, a great nights sleep, which was great as we had been out all day in the cold and snow.
we didnt take advantage of the breakfast but wish we had of done as we ended up paying a lot to have breakfast outside of the hotel. overall our stay at this hotel helped to make the weekend even more special so a big thanks to the kingsley :)

Room Tip: well worth asking for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Kingsley hotel. I am really pleased that you thought we offered value for money and that the hotel standards met your expectations. Please contact us directly when you are planning your next visit to London
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsley Hotel in the near future
Regards
Johan and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here midweek for a 2 night theatre break. No 38 bus straight from Victoria to outside the hotel (museum street) - great start. Got a good internet price and expected a smaller, older room - not at all. Reception was very welcoming and smelled great. Staff friendly without being too intrusive. The room was large, modern and very clean. Big bath, rainfall shower - bliss. Comfy and massive bed (great linen) even with a pillow menu! We were right on the front on the 2nd floor and yes there was traffic but we were not disturbed at all and slept soundly.

It is worth buying £10 breakfast voucher in advance. There are cafes in the area but if like me you can't be bothered to get dressed and go out for breakfast, this is not expensive for a London hotel.

5-10 minute (slow) stroll from Covent Garden, a few minutes from Holborn tube means this is a very centrally located hotel. We didn't use the bar but it looked like a good place to relax.

Overall, I will definitely look at this hotel for future trips to London. Even if I couldn't get a reduced rate, I would be happy to pay full price for the location, the service and the overall feel. A nice 4 star hotel with high standards where I felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to London. I was delighted to read such generous comments about the Hotel and staff. At Kingsley by Thistle we are very proud of our contemporary look and we make sure that every little detail contributes to the overall experience of our valued guest’s. The “Pillow Talk” menu has been introduced to our guests to add extra comfort to their sleeping experience, we also choose our fragrance carefully every month and we are happy that you found it to be memorable.

I will take great pleasure in passing on your comments regarding the good service you experienced as making guest’s feel special is our main goal.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsley by Thistle.

Kind Regards
Fawad Saleem
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.